We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent beer”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Cardinal's Hat Inn
Ranked #47 of 349 Restaurants in Worcester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Description: Situated in the ancient heart of the city, the Cardinal's Hat is Worcester's oldest inn and thus has plenty of experience when it comes to pleasing hungry and thirsty visitors over the years. Long-considered a local landmark, this historic watering hole is now a labour of love of local food, drink, live music and traditional pub culture where fine wines, well-kept craft & cask ales and Continental beers are served with pride and satisfaction. With its imposing red brick facade and stunning location in Friar Street, the Cardinal's hat is a handsome example of an English city pub. Three storey's high and oozing with charm this independent free house - which originally hails back to the fourteenth century - is the perfect place to meet family, friends and colleagues.With over 30 years in the pub trade Nigel, Sadie and the team will make sure you feel welcome. In December 2015 the Cardinal's Hat opened the doors to its newly refurbished Georgian City Rooms, the four boutique rooms have been luxuriously finished and offer a stunning place to stay in the city center. Whether passing by for a coffee, settling in for a leisurely platter of the region's finest fare, or stopping to sup a cool draught Wye Valley HPA, the Cardinal's Hat has something for everyone. Opening hours Monday 4pm -11pm Tuesday to Thursday 12pm -11pm Friday and Saturday 12 - 11.30Pm Sundays 12 - 10.30Pm
worcester
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Magnificent beer”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Friendly traditional pub serving a large selection of traditional local ales and very tasty food. Really friendly atmosphere. Marek behind the bar is full of knowledge, friendly and helpful. Loyalty card too!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickworcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie H, Manager at The Cardinal's Hat Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to the Cardinals Hat. We value all of our customer feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Sadie Hughes
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    45
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“small and dark”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

very old pub dark and small but just as welcoming as any other pub a lot of locals in the bar at the time of visit good ales but limited food on offer but still good

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie H, Manager at The Cardinal's Hat Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to the Cardinals Hat. We value all of our customer feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Sadie Hughes
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Too clean ?”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I love this pub and sooooo pleased it's re-opened. Only problem is the last 3 times I've been in there it has a strong smell of Bleach - you need to change your cleaning regime :/

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris_0972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie H, Manager at The Cardinal's Hat Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to the Cardinals Hat. We value all of our customer feedback and take your comments on board. Efforts will be made to improve upon the issues you have pointed out.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Sadie Hughes
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pub for local ales”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Have been coming to this pub for a few months now, and am never disappointed. I've not tried the food yet, but I have been informed by others that it's top quality. I can, however, comment on the ale.
Not only are you treated to a brilliant selection of ales, with new ones coming on every few days, but the quality you get can't be beaten. My absolute number one favourite place to enjoy a pint or two.
The atmosphere is always very nice, day or night. The bar staff are friendly and welcoming, and as the oldest pub in Worcester, there's a great feel to the place with wood panelled walls and log burners in the back room and front room.
The beer garden has now been updated, and i'm looking forward to the summer to make the most of it.

You won't be disappointed with this one.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gormo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie H, Manager at The Cardinal's Hat Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to the Cardinals Hat. We value all of our customer feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Sadie Hughes
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely old pub”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I've frequented the Cardinal's Hat a lot over the years, so I was curious to see what the new owners had done with the place. Not disappointed - nice atmosphere, friendly and knowledgeable staff and some great beers available. It could well become my 'local' once again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Lewis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sadie H, Manager at The Cardinal's Hat Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit to the Cardinals Hat. We value all of our customer feedback and are pleased you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Sadie Hughes
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cardinal's Hat Inn also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Cardinal's Hat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing