We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location - Better Than Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Convenient Location - Better Than Expected”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Booked at the last minute for an overnight stay and were pleasantly surprised to be offered an upgraded room on arrival at no extra charge, the hotel being quite busy.
All the staff were welcoming and friendly, the food in the bar was good value, cleanliness was excellent, very comfortable bed, good breakfast.
On leaving the hotel we were on the M5 within 5 minutes.
Even with a visiting group returning to their rooms late at night noise levels internally were good and there was no noise from outside with windows closed. As with most modern hotels slammed doors could disturb but this was due to the thoughtlessness of guests, not the fault of management.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay at The Pear Tree Hotel.
I am delighted to read that we exceed your expectations.
We are hoping to see you back soon.
Please contact us direct on your next visit to get the best deal.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    161
    86
    58
    38
See reviews for
82
210
14
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
harrogate
Level Contributor
216 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

after finding the hotel on lat minute website rang hotel and booked ...got a good rate... met with a welcome ...lovely room which was very clean and could not be faulted ....ate in the bar and the food was excellent....will come back and 5mins of the M5 EXCELLENT value compared with the Premier Inn chain... staff all friendly and helpful

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your positive review on TripAdvisor.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Pear Tree Inn was the ideal venue for me and my new wife's wedding! We got married on 10/08/13 and the staff went out of their way to make our day a perfect one.
The food was excellent, the service was outstanding (especially the young lad)! Nick was a great host for the day and made sure that everything went to plan! The rooms were very clean and a great size and the place as a whole was just very friendly!
My wife and I will make sure to visit at least once a year because we have never been disappointed with the place.
I highly recommend the Pear Tree, not just as a wedding venue but as a hotel, restaurant or even somewhere to sit in the sun with a quiet drink. I can honestly say that none of our 100+ guests had a bad word to say about the place. :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Bride and Groom,
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that we made 'the best day of your life' happened.
I wish you all the best and a long and happy life together.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was a bargain, just £49 B&B, with extremely comfortable room and excellent food. The room was well above the specification expected for an 'inn' type accommodation. The evening meal was very good and again the quality was high, with choices such as scallops as a starter and an excellent slow cooked beef. The breakfast choice was very good with smoked salmon and poached Haddock among the choices, well above what I had expected. The total bill was just £72 for B&B, dinner and a beer. I will certainly be booking again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tachyporus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for staying with us at The Pear Tree Hotel. I am really appreciated on your positive feedback on here.
Please contact us directly to check our special deals.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Firstly, I am writing this from the context of someone that spent many years working in this style of establishment so are well aware of the challenges and problems employees face with large groups. I am therefore sympathetic to the situation they find themselves in but this place should, without a doubt in my mind, be avoided. Hopefully the below review conveys the cumulative negative experiences witnessed.

I was part of a group of about 50 people that had booked in for Sunday lunch following a local Wedding the day before.

The requirement to pay a deposit of £5 was known before the event (a little strange, but fair enough you think for a large party like this), but to my surprise a full payment was then enforced several days ahead of the lunch taking place. This sort of approach, whilst very rare, really does not set the right tone and perhaps we should have considered this a warning. It leaves the consumer with no recourse should they have a bad experience and no incentive for the establishment to deliver a reasonable service.

On the actual day, we arrived promptly and went through to the dining area. From here we got seated and had to order drinks from the bar because there were no waiting staff to take drinks orders from the table. This behaviour seemed to attract outrage ("get back to your tables" was heard from the manager on duty [no - I have not selectively dropped any pleasantries from this recital of events]). My round of 8 soft drinks were all prepared without ice and slice, and overflowing by default. Brilliant, I thought, I looked forward to carrying them back to the table. Of course, I had to ask for a tray (the only one rationed to the bar I later realise) because the Barman who I had come fond of at this point (especially the untucked shirt and tie combo) didn't offer one.

Back to the restaurant we settled into the Carvery which to be fair was of an acceptable standard and just what was needed and expected. The one caveat to this was, despite identifying one plate to be for a child, the fattiest chunks of meat were selected for the child's plate.

In the restaurant the rude manager from before, was still in fine fettle complaining about the fact that we hadn't joined the Carvery queue at the right time. Anyone would have thought that 50 people under the excellent guidance of one rude, impatient and seldom seen member of staff would have not fallen foul of the restaurant rules, alas 50 people got fed (albeit in the wrong order apparently) and most were entertained by this joker.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eaysejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.

I feel, after reading your comments, rating us one star is unfair and unreasonable.

We did take a deposit of £5.00 to secure the booking. Regarding the full payment, we required this as per our policy for group bookings. It was a reasonable request which you will find that most establishments would require for 50 guests (we also on that occasion allowed the organiser extra time for payment to allow collecting money from guests)

On the day we refunded 3 meals (when all 50 seats were taken !) as a gesture of goodwill.

Your party booked at 12:00 noon and arrived at around 12:15.

We do provide waiting on staff, however for large parties; payments and table service of drinks can prove to be difficult. Again, no pre-orders or tabs were requested.

Our ‘joker’ has actually been named numerous times (on here and elsewhere) for his excellent service and polite manner: so I do not understand your comments on this occasion.

Nothing was mentioned by any member of the party on the day to rectify your concerns raised which is unfortunate as I was on duty that day (wedding) and recall your party leaving saying ‘thank you very much’ to the ‘joker’. That indicated there were no issues on the day.

Regards,

Michael Pique
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Worcester hotels

Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Our daughter Ellie and her new husband held their wedding at the Pear Tree on 8 Sept. We would like to express our sincere thanks to all of the staff, especially Michael the Manager who was attentive at all times and also special mention should be made of Stuart the Master of Ceremonies who was professional throughout and ensured the day went to plan. From the wedding ceremony in the Gallery Suite to the Garden Room for the Wedding Breakfast, where our compliments go to the Chef as the food was outstanding, our Guests were all complimentary. Moving on to the Bartlett Suite for the evening everything was perfect in every way. Leading up to the Wedding Malvin also deserves a mention who ensured that all of our pre-wedding apprehensions were allayed,
We and the wedding party stayed at the Hotel overnight where we were extremely comfortable and enjoyed a lovely breakfast the next morning with very good service.
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a wedding venue as we enjoyed every minute and our guest all complimented the choice of venue and service. Thank you to all of the other staff , from the receptionist's, waiting staff and everyone who all helped to make it a perfect day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Bride's mother,
I am very grateful that you took the time to write such lovely comments on TripAdvisor.
I wish Ellie and Clive a long and happy life together.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Very friendly staff, particularly the young man who served in the bar. We booked for an overnight stay, and had intended to go for a meal in Worcester, not realising that the hotel is a good 10 -15 minutes drive away, so decided to eat in the hotel restaurant. Good choice of dishes, and all well cooked. Although they were busy we were promptly served, and the meal was not expensive. Breakfast was excellent, in particular the full English breakfast, which was very substantial. Rooms were spacious, quiet and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank red_velvet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for trying our Restaurant. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our food especially our Breakfast.
Again, thank you for taking the time to write on here and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worcester
3.9 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
473 reviews
4.3 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worcester
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
696 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
573 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel

Property: Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Address: Smite Hill, Worcester WR3 8SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pear Tree Inn And Country Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing