We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I booked this hotel due to its location (approx 1mile to Sixways Stadium) as we were attending a rugby match on the night. It looked very nice from the outside and we were greeted by a very friendly and professional receptionist.
Check in was effortless ( we even got upgraded free of charge when we mentioned our stay being a birthday surprise) this was a very nice gesture. Our room was clean, very spacious, and had all the amenities you would expect. The decor will not be to everybody's taste as it is not modern and I suppose could do with a little updating but we were very happy with it. It is after all a country inn and hotel.
We had a few drinks in the bar and found the service excellent and the atmosphere cosy and welcoming. Prices were very reasonable too. No noise could be heard from any other guests or the function that was being held.
Breakfast was part self service and, the usual cereals, fruit, croissants, juices etc. Waitress service for the cooked breakfast and all served promptly and with a smile despite the waitress being rushed off her feet due to staff sickness. The breakfast itself was delicious and made even more entertaining by the "resident " parrot.
Check out was effortless too, we would not hesitate to stay there again, thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBenets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us for your 'Birthday Surprise' and for taking the time to write on here.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

I booked The Pear Tree Hotel as a stop over to Dorset. It was easy to get to off the M5 (about 1 mile), friendly reception on arrival. We had a bar meal, homemade chicken kiev, which was very good, bar staff very pleasant. Room was very good, clean and spacious but our bed was very hard. Breakfast was good, cooked to order and good choice, friendly waitress. We would stay there again if stop over needed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra18956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.
I have passed on your compliments to the relevant team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked The Pear Tree Hotel as a stop over after a concert at The NEC Birmingham. We weren't expecting much as it was only £65 for a double room including breakfast. We arrived early at about 12:45 and were greeted by a friendly receptionist, our room was ready so we could book in early. The room was lovely, a huge double bed, tv and table a chairs also ensure bath shower and toilet all very clean. We had lunch in the inn, it was £10 for 3 courses of exceptionally tasty food great value for money. All staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was plentiful and good quality.
We enjoyed our stay so much we are looking for another excuse to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write on here.
I will pass on you compliments to the team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We booked in for two nights, myself and my husband for a getaway night followed by a conference and dinner at the Six Ways Staium. The location is perfect just about 5 mins drive away but...........having looked it up on the internet and seen the pics all seamed fine. The reception area smells of an old peoples home and the "Pear Treee Carpet" is sooo dated. The room we stayed in was a basic double.
Situated on the ground floor, the single glazed window was full of mildew and the net curtains dirty, the decor tired, old and sad. The bathroom was also dated but had what I call a face-cloth clean. Not dirty, ie. loo, sink bath, floor had had a mop and cloth but mould-dew in many of the tiles and crevasies. The shower head and screen - discusting (also floor aroung the loo) and plug hole in the bath - ugh.
Dining/bar area has an African Grey parrot which screeches most of the time - not to my taste, Also very dirty curtains/ doors etc. There is also another "Gothic/dark panelled bar" meeting area which is so out of date its almost citch if there was any atmosphere!
In my opinion the Pear tree is in an ideal location for the Six Ways Stadium but book somewhere else to stay.
On the plus side food was fairly good, if not the setting.

Room Tip: Wait till they have re-vamped the whole place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TraceyLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.
My sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations.
I have shared with the housekeeping team your points raised, to ensure we are maintaining our high cleanliness standards.
As you can read on Tripadvisor, we generally get excellent feedback and we want to make sure we keep it that way. That is the reason why I would like you to contact me directly (michael.pique@thepeartree.co.uk) to arrange another visit and restore your faith in the Hotel.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

A friend and I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel last night and I thought that it was absolutely great. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and very tidy. Pillows and bed were a bit hard but thats just being picky. Breakfast was superb as were the amaretto sours as a night cap. Thank you so much for a great evening.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write on tripadvisor.
I am very grateful for your lovely comments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Commercial (I guess) by new owners some years ago to switch emphasis to corporate events and hotel side (expense account spenders and no problem with that).You won't find the 'pie and a pint' locals dropping in as in days of yore, sad
Y. It will be interesting to see how the new hotel in Worcester, nearby, will affect the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Hermes186424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.
The Pub you refer to was around 20 years ago and the hotel has had two previous owners (current owners for the last past 8 years).
We proud our self to be unique, high quality of food and giving a very good, professional and friendly service as mentioned on here.
Your rating of 2 is unfair only because you wish we were still a Pub.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Locatedin the hamlet of Smite just outside Worcester, the Pear Tree Inn & Country Hotel proved to be an ideal location when travelling the nearby M5 motorway and needing somewhere to rest my head for the night. Service at reception was friendly and efficient. Same in the restaurant. The restaurant had an interesting menu with plenty of choice. My room was spacious, well decorated and equipped and all the plumbing hardware functioned flawlessly. Bed was comfortable. Booked online, the weekend rate for the room that I had was very reasonable. If I'm in Worcester again, I'd certainly consider staying at the Pear Tree Inn & Country Club again.

Room Tip: One can hear the drone of traffic in rooms on one side of the hotel. Ask for a room facing away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenMarkCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for booking with us and for your comments posted on Tripadvisor.
We will be delighted to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
3.9 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
4 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
501 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 12 in Worcester
622 reviews
4.3 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#4 of 12 in Worcester
587 reviews
4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel

Address: Smite Hill, Worcester WR3 8SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range: £48 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pear Tree Inn And Country Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing