We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ye Olde Talbot(Worcester)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fownes Hotel(Worcester)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel(Worcester)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Crown(Worcester)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveller rating
194
176
94
66
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
194
176
94
66
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbridal suitecountry lanewedding breakfastwedding venuewedding receptionsized roomnice bathroombooked a tablesunday lunchsalmonone night staybit datedan evening mealgood nights sleepfull englishyogurtparrots
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 580 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have just returned from our Mother's Day meal which was very disappointing. If we had not paid in advance we would have walked out before our meal started.

We are assuming the hotel were under staffed with good reason to give the benefit of the doubt.

We arrived ten minutes before our booking at 3pm and after waiting a few minutes i was able to tell passing staff we were here and ready to be seated. We were told we could wait in the bar and someone would fetch us. At 3.20 we were still waiting in the bar area. I waited to catch a passing staff member to ask about our table and was told it was ready and to go straight through, so why had we been waiting 20min? When we got to our table we had booked for 12 (11 adults and a 3yr old) but the table was set for 10. After going back and waiting again I was told there was a mix up and we were at the wrong table. I suggested we just changed table but instead the seats were shuffled around and two seats added with cutlery. No glasses or napkins. We were then left for approx 15 mins before we were given menus. We finally had our orders taken and had to wait. After booking our table for 3pm we eventually got our starters at 4pm. We had to ask twice about the main course. Two of us had pre-ordered fish and asked for one plain which we were not informed how we could collect the fish and again had to ask. When we were served, both fish had sauce so we were not all eating our mains together properly. Not once were we asked about drinks and there were not enough staff available to enquire. We finally finished our meal at 5.50pm.

The staff were few and in a rush, not the atmosphere you wish to experience when enjoying a family meal, having travelled some distance to get together. The whole experience was disappointing. The only plus sides were the food, when it arrived, was lovely and the young waitress who tried her best for us.

I would gladly recommend the food but only as a take away or on a very quiet evening so the staff/ guest ratio is more appropriate

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank TGee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor and my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectation. I can assure you this is not the way we normally operate and after a full investigation it appears that the day has not been managed properly. I have conducted a meeting with the team to ensure that such disappointment will not occur again.
Please contact me directly to organise a sort of compensation in a view to restore your faith at The Pear Tree Hotel.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The restaurant and bar area are relaxing and modern, the room was clean and basic. Breakfast was made fun by he charming Parrot, Joey who wolf whistled, cuckooed and quacked in the background. Lovely friendly and helpful staff, very reasonably priced. Nice and quiet, had a lovely sleep!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Drumaqueen_MW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comments on Tripadvisor which I have passed on to the team.
Joey and the team are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a two night stay here ,room clean and tidy.we eat here on the first nite best steak we have had in a long time.we were going to eat out the second nite but as the food was so good and service we decided to eat there a second nite .the puddings are to die for.Overall food and staff were excellent.Credit to all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wing1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your rating and for taking the time to write on here.
I am delighted to read that you really enjoyed our service and food and decided to eat with us on both nights.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just a single overnight stop to break a cross country journey and we chose this hotel after reading reviews on TripAdvisor.

Conveniently easy to reach from the motorway, but far enough away not to be disturbed, we found on arrival that our room, already discounted for the half term holiday period, had been upgraded to a two room suite - and decided we could cope with this unexpected change!

Decor may not be cutting edge but it was certainly OK in all the public areas we saw as well as in our room which was adequately equipped, clean and comfortable.

Evening menu in the restaurant gave us enough scope for choice and when our meals arrived they were well cooked and attractively presented. The standard breakfast deal offered just about everything we might want and was similarly well prepared.

The members of staff we came into contact with were helpful and friendly.

On the basis of this visit I would certainly go again if only I could manufacture a reason to be in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write on here and for staying with us.
I have passed on your comments to the Team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just stayed here for two nights with my husband and adult son in two rooms. Both rooms were clean and of a good size and tea, coffee and biscuits were provided which always goes down well with me! We enjoyed a lovely good quality full English breakfast both mornings and also had dinner one of the evenings which, while slow to arrive, was well worth the wait as the food was delicious. The hotel also stocks two real ales which went down well with my husband and son as both are real ale enthusiasts. The hotel is a little out of the way so a car is a necessity but it is in lovely surroundings as long as you don't mind the hum of the motorway in the distance. I would rate this hotel a good 3 star rather than a 4 but overall we were very pleased and would definitely stay again when next we are in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write on here. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed our Food and Ales.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews