We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great staff , great venue - have already rebooked”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Randomly browsing the net I came across this Inn at a bargain price of £39 a night for 2 people. Never one to let a bargain pass me by 1 decided to book it. It was a choice well made. A large Inn with lots of character and beautiful grounds. After checking in we meandered down to the bar area. Lovely large leather sofas, stained glass windows and very friendly helpful bar staff -spot on. Since it was a beautiful  sunny day in April we decided it was a bit of a waste to stay indoors so ventured outside to the garden area, again very nice with a cute little wishing well. After finishing our drinks we took a stroll around the lakes behind the hotel, a smashing little area.

Our room was a decent size, I like a firm mattress however my hubby thought it was too firm 'like sleeping on a concrete block with a sheet thrown over it' , but everyone has their own preferences. I was pleasantly surprised with the shower. The shower head was quite old and tired looking so was expecting a pathetic drizzle but to be fair it was better than some expensive looking power showers we've experienced in other hotels. We enjoyed a very nice evening meal, good value too. Both hubby and I had scallops, cockles and bacon for starter (£7.95 and a good sized portion too). For mains we had lamb shank (£14. 95) and a  panache of veg (£3.50)

We didn't stop for breakfast as we decided to try somewhere in Worcester instead, so cannot comment on the quantity/quality of that. (but did think that at £12 a person it was a tad expensive compared to the cost of the room and the evening meal ) Having said that we enjoyed our stay so much I have already booked us another night there in August and this time we will sample brekkie so I'll review that next time

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at The Pear Tree Hotel and for writing on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your 5 star rating and are looking forward to welcoming you back in August.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

I needed somewhere to stay locally before a business presentation, and this was the perfect option. it is tucked a little out of the way and not easy to find in the dark (thank god for Satnav!) but on arrival was greeted warmly, ordered really excellent room service food, and got a great night's sleep in a lovely room. We had a conference room the following morning, and service was attentive then too, including the early lunch we ordered.

Overall, a very pleasant stay, very friendly staff, will use again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveRRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at The Pear Tree Hotel.
I appreciate that you took the time to write on here and thank you for your positive comments.
I hope your business meeting went well.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is our second time at this hotel and both experiences have been the same. Excellent.
The staff at this hotel, be it reception, bar, housekeeping or where are friendly and attentive. My partner was unwell during our stay and they were extremely responsive to our needs and made the experience as well as could be expected.
The food is always beautifully prepared, plentiful and very tasty with excellent service from the staff.
The rooms are clean and well prepared a good sized double bed. We found the mattress to be a little on the firm side but they seem to have put a memory foam matress topper on it since our last visit which was a definite improvement.

Room Tip: The room is in a quiet location so you are pretty much OK where you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robster59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for visiting us again and for your lovely comments on here which I have passed on to the team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

What a beautiful country hotel. The staff were extremely friendly, courteous & helpful. Even the parrot in the bar said hello, however he did wolf-whistle at my wife so he may be a little on the blind side (joking of course). The room was spacious , clean and tidy. The evening meal was wonderful, a special offer of two steaks and a bottle of wine for £25.00, unbelievable value and very tasty. The prices in the bar were reasonable. All in all a brilliant experience and when next in the area will look no further and will re-book without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Takajo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely comments on here which I have passed on to the team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have just returned from our Mother's Day meal which was very disappointing. If we had not paid in advance we would have walked out before our meal started.

We are assuming the hotel were under staffed with good reason to give the benefit of the doubt.

We arrived ten minutes before our booking at 3pm and after waiting a few minutes i was able to tell passing staff we were here and ready to be seated. We were told we could wait in the bar and someone would fetch us. At 3.20 we were still waiting in the bar area. I waited to catch a passing staff member to ask about our table and was told it was ready and to go straight through, so why had we been waiting 20min? When we got to our table we had booked for 12 (11 adults and a 3yr old) but the table was set for 10. After going back and waiting again I was told there was a mix up and we were at the wrong table. I suggested we just changed table but instead the seats were shuffled around and two seats added with cutlery. No glasses or napkins. We were then left for approx 15 mins before we were given menus. We finally had our orders taken and had to wait. After booking our table for 3pm we eventually got our starters at 4pm. We had to ask twice about the main course. Two of us had pre-ordered fish and asked for one plain which we were not informed how we could collect the fish and again had to ask. When we were served, both fish had sauce so we were not all eating our mains together properly. Not once were we asked about drinks and there were not enough staff available to enquire. We finally finished our meal at 5.50pm.

The staff were few and in a rush, not the atmosphere you wish to experience when enjoying a family meal, having travelled some distance to get together. The whole experience was disappointing. The only plus sides were the food, when it arrived, was lovely and the young waitress who tried her best for us.

I would gladly recommend the food but only as a take away or on a very quiet evening so the staff/ guest ratio is more appropriate

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank TGee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor and my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectation. I can assure you this is not the way we normally operate and after a full investigation it appears that the day has not been managed properly. I have conducted a meeting with the team to ensure that such disappointment will not occur again.
Please contact me directly to organise a sort of compensation in a view to restore your faith at The Pear Tree Hotel.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The restaurant and bar area are relaxing and modern, the room was clean and basic. Breakfast was made fun by he charming Parrot, Joey who wolf whistled, cuckooed and quacked in the background. Lovely friendly and helpful staff, very reasonably priced. Nice and quiet, had a lovely sleep!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Drumaqueen_MW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comments on Tripadvisor which I have passed on to the team.
Joey and the team are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a two night stay here ,room clean and tidy.we eat here on the first nite best steak we have had in a long time.we were going to eat out the second nite but as the food was so good and service we decided to eat there a second nite .the puddings are to die for.Overall food and staff were excellent.Credit to all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wing1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your rating and for taking the time to write on here.
I am delighted to read that you really enjoyed our service and food and decided to eat with us on both nights.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
3.9 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
476 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 12 in Worcester
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 12 in Worcester
536 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 12 in Worcester
743 reviews
4.3 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#4 of 12 in Worcester
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel

Address: Smite Hill, Worcester WR3 8SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range: £48 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pear Tree Inn And Country Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing