We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

I had a one night stay to break up a trip to a conference. The hotel was very good value at £49 for b&b. The room was spacious, a little dated but the bathroom had been modernised and it was clean. There is no lift which could be an issue for some people. Breakfast was good, you help yourself to a cold buffet then order your hot breakfast. It was very quiet though, everyone sat in silence, felt very self conscious on my own!! Free parking and I would come again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank PenelopeElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your posting and for choosing to stay with us.
I am sure we will be able to score 5 star on your next visit.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We live fairly locally but had never been to the Pear Tree before. We went for lunch on a Friday. The restaurant was very quiet with only one other table occupied, and by the time we left we had only Joey the parrot for company. The food was very reasonably priced bar food. They do a lunchtime 2 courses for £10, which the waiter assured us were smaller portions than the a la carte. If these were smaller then the a la carte must be gargantuan. The three of us had respectively gammon, fish and chips and a burger, and it was all excellent and beautifully cooked. Not exceptional cuisine but very well cooked, well priced bar food. We shall return and try dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank dianaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for visiting us for lunch on Friday @ The Pear Tree Hotel and for posting on here.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to try a Dinner.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were just staying the one night to break the trip to Cornwall up, what a lovely suprise. we had a very nice meal on the evening and the breakfast was first class. All the staff were very helpfull. Free wi fi that worked 100 per cent, and a room that was 4star as was the hotel in our opinion. We woiuld love to stay again for more than one night and explore the area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MiddlesbroughDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for rating us 5 star and for taking the time to write on here.
I have passed on your comments to the team.
Please contact us directly on 01905 756565 to arrange your next visit for a longer stay and we will give you a very good deal.
We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here last Friday night. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the meals and service in the restaurant/bar were outstanding. Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write on here and for your top rating which I have passed on to the team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A Sunday evening 'LateRooms' rate in combination with the Bar menu's 'special' (steak dinner for 2 + a proper bottle of wine) - perfectly cooked and presented, and delivered by attentive and interested staff resulted in what was probably the best value stay that we have enjoyed anywhere in recent years.

Room was 100% comfortable and adequately furnished. Everything worked... hot water, WiFi, TV, no issues at all.

Also, grounds looked after, tidy and pleasant to walk around.

If we can get a similar deal the next time we need to stay in the Worcester area, it will be back to the Pear Tree Inn - a winner all round.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SennenCoveUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely comments on here.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we will for sure give you a special rate.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The Pear Tree has again hosted our reunion, it has changed over the past year and not for the better. The staff were great in the main, Joey the parrot is still learning to 'bleep' like a trooper, this is ongoing until we are evicted from the bar. The negative side first: the price of the bar meals is extortionist yes I know all the arguments but there is hardly anyone coming for lunch or evening meal from the local area. I will email the manager with my views as I consider myself an 'expert' after watching all the 'FOUR IN A BED' series. The set meal on the saturday night was ok but turned into a farce after the vegetarian option was a veg bake with salad..!!. in this day and age is that all the so called chef could come up with. At £20 a head for Tom soup / boiled beef & veg / Lemon tart from the supermarket. On the Friday arrival we asked for a curry and rice, £10 a head what we should have asked for was chicken curry because curry sauce only goes well with chips. Our room was excellent but needs more choice of beverages like decaf and a couple biccies wouldn't go amiss, they are not that expensive Grr...Tv ok but lacking extra channels i.e. Sport & bleep..just saying like... The 3 guys and girls (sorry can't remember your names) who were tasked for keeping us standing up and in good order are worth their weight in gold and cannot fault them. If / when we return we will bring our own Gurkha chef, mess with him at your peril...LOL.. The swimming pool was cold and full of ducks & fish, and a short walk from hotel. Been a while since I'd been outdoor pool.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor near exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your posting on Tripadvisor.
I do not understand your comment regarding the bar meals as prices are the same as last year and as you can see on previous guests comments we are very reasonable on price.
Unfortunately, you did not mention anything during your stay with us, where we would do our best to solve any issues you had at the time. I still await your email to me directly.
No pre-orders for vegetarian options were given to us, therefore we gave choices on the evening and made sure these guests were happy with their meal.
Regarding the room facilities, we replenish the tea/coffee/milk and biscuits daily.
For your stay next year, please let us know if you require more or an alternative e.g. decaf coffee and we will be happy to provide this for you.
I appreciate and thank you for your excellent comments regarding the team, I have passed these on to those who served you.
Your comments about our lakes being an outdoor swimming pool raised a smile!!
Also, thank you for removing your fake bedroom picture!!
I will forward your comments to your organiser who was very happy with your reunion weekend and has booked already with us for next year.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We found this hotel/inn Though its a bit deep in the country which adds to the charm. But on reaching the inn we were charmed about the reception and then the rooms and then the room service, The food was lovely though the portions were a bit too much but ABSOLUTELY TASTY. BUT above all was the service with a smile and the parrot was a riot!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Essteeaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your lovely comments on here which I have passed on to the team.
We are hoping to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
3.9 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
4.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
459 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
524 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#7 of 11 in Worcester
735 reviews
4.3 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worcester
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel

Address: Smite Hill, Worcester WR3 8SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range: £50 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pear Tree Inn And Country Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing