We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hot day and walked into a lovely air conditioned room - it actually got too cold. Staff really helpful. Room spotless and all in good order. Lovely views. Did not eat at hotel so cannot comment on that. Would recommend. Wifi good as well and easy to connect to.

Room Tip: For disabled need to as about accessibility as no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your lovely posting and rating on Tripadvisor which I have passed on to the team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and hopefully you will be able to try our food.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    157
    83
    53
    31
See reviews for
74
202
14
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night whilst travelling on business.
Firstly the staff were brilliant. The lady on reception couldn't do enough for you and the restaurant staff were also very attentive.
The room was large and spacious. The shower was incredible, great water pressure. The air con was out of action but these things happen.
I ate dinner and breakfast and both were scrummy. The breakfast is the best I've ever had in a hotel.
Best value for money.
Parking is excellent and the surroundings are just lovely.
Would highly recommend this hotel and plan on coming back with my partner for a quiet retreat soon.
Thanks Pear Tree Inn for making my stay so enjoyable.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your lovely feedback on Tripadvisor.
I really appreciate your understanding regarding our air con system which is now fixed and my apologies for it not working during your stay.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were attending a wedding near by, so at the last minute decided to book one night stay.
I booked this hotel due to having air conditioning. Had a very prompt response from manager, got it working for 5 minutes then stopped, so went to reception to explain, one room left and air con not working in there! engineer not available! out of town... Was given a small fan
Evening meal there was a delay due to a large party in other room, my husbands meal was not quite what he ordered. Mine little flavour...reasturant manager did what he could, poor guy seemed rushed of his feet. Bed very uncomfortable. Room good size, bathroom attention to detail missed.
Breakfast was nice if we had got it all together, toast came after eaten breakfeast, no refill tea or coffee once we actually got it, again slow not enough staff about, manager rushing around trying to see to everyone.
On check out was asked if we enjoyed stay, I had to say we didnt and receptionist very defensive "never had anyone complain about bed before" well it was very hot, enginer very busy... Meal did you tell them!
50% off... That was £5.00, 50% of meal!
Lovely grounds, just more staff could make a lot of difference.
Disappointed stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 192solihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor and my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations.
I can not deny the issue with our air con system which we fixed the following day when the engineers were available (the system did not cope with the heat wave).
I am very disappointed to read about the service issues you have received and have spoken to the relevant Managesr and Staff to ensure such issues do not occurred again in the future.
As you can read on here we are taking our service standard very seriously and I appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Large comfortable quiet room on first floor. Excellent comfortable beds. Good choice of food for dinner. Large portions. Friendly helpful staff. Breakfast-no choice of fruit (fresh) and limited choice of cereal. Cold plate for cooked breakfast and limited amount of food available. Too few tables available for number of people staying. Too few staff available at breakfast.

Room Tip: Ou first fllor room was excellent. Overlooking the overflow car park and open countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragon207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on here which I have passed on to the Team.
We appreciate your feedback for Breakfast and will action accordingly.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were travelling from Scotland en route to the south coast and chose this hotel as an overnight stay as it was set in lots of ground (allowing our kids space to let off steam after a day in the car). As a family of four, I wasn't sure how we'd fit in a room so called in advance, the nice lady on reception offered us the bridal suite which they changed so the kids would be next door too as they had no interconnecting rooms left. Got there, hotel was fab, bed comfy and service good. Parrot in the dining room a quirky but interesting touch that the kids loved, staff v helpful and couldn't do enough. In fact, we left our sons sun hat at the breakfast table and the staff sent it on to us at our Dorset cottage. Fab service and great staff - will be booking again when we are next on our hols!

Room Tip: Call the staff and ask for advice - they are v helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at The Pear Tree Hotel and for taking the time to write such a lovely review on here which I have passed on to the Team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in room 225 which we found large and comfortable. The noise from the M5 with the window open was not intrusive, just a hum. The bathroom was well equipped and spotlessly clean. Yes, the bed base was frayed but it was still a nice room. Reception and bar/dining staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the food was plentiful and tasty.

Only downside was the parrot. If, like my husband, one has ever had psittacosis seeing a parrot in a bar is a living nightmare and I really did not like to hear its screeching and high pitched rambling during my meal.

We would definitely return again when in the area but not with the parrot.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onlyjasper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your posting on Tripadvisor and for choosing to stay at The Pear Tree Hotel.
I appreciate your comments regarding your room.
Unfortunately, the parrot has been here for a decade and she is part of The Pear Tree. As you can read on here she does get some very good comments and removing her would affect our originality.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codicote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We booked 3 rooms here, on arrival was told our room has been upgraded to executive suite which was stunning. Staff lovely and value for money outstanding. Beautiful well kept grounds.would def recommend. Didn't eat here so can't comment on the food. Check out time is midday which was nice, did not have breakfast here either but next time we stay would like to try. Overall thought the hotel was fantastic, bar lovely and room service swift. Many thanks

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karenjordan1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael P, General Manager at Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor and for your rating.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Michael Pique
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worcester
4.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
4.0 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#3 of 12 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester (M5,Jct6) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#4 of 12 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel

Property: Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Address: Smite Hill, Worcester WR3 8SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pear Tree Inn And Country Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing