We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms need updating, an average, but expensive 2 star hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rooms need updating, an average, but expensive 2 star hotel.”
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Stayed here following a civil wedding ceremony and reception held at the hotel.

Firstly, it's not cheap at £120 a night and is officially classed as 3 star.

The rooms were disapointing and desperately need refurbishment, the seals around the bath were stained with mildew, the bath panel was broken and generally it felt like it had seen better days. The in room TV only received 4 channels and there was no facility for TV subtitles. I am partially deaf so this meant it was useless to me. (There are probably disability discrimination issues there).

The staff when we arrived on Friday were a bit weird, including the duty manager who seemed to like staring at people, however the Saturday staff were very freindly.

The Breakfast is very good, plenty to eat, good selction and hot. Breakfast room is very nice with Large TV and news feed.

Dissapointed in no free wifi access, it is available to pay for with TMobile but modern hotels should be providing this gratis nowadays

The grounds are lovely, bar and restaurant prices a bit steep although the bar areas are very nice.
However there is no night porter service and you cannot get room service or anything after midnight.

Overall I think the rooms let it down along with the lack of 24/7 porterage and some facilities. It really should be regraded as a 2 star due to this.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    165
    89
    61
    40
See reviews for
85
218
14
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South East England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

Stayed for one night on a business trip this month.

Hotel in nice grounds with an old Inn style restaurant and bar.

Room was very average, TV and bathroom a bit dated, restaurant was closed but the bar was very nice decor with great food and nice breakfast the following morning.

Could do with something to keep people in the bar, maybe some daily newspapers or a TV.

  • Liked — The Bar and the Food
  • Disliked — The Bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank moveonup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, UK
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2008

I have to start by saying that, for one night, the place was tolerable, but I really would not want to stay there for longer. It is like one of those places awaiting the visit of The Hotel Inspector (TV programme). Shabby, old-fashioned and not customer focussed. The hairs in the bath and the general decor were particularly disappointing. A poor breakfast with "eggs over easy" seemingly meaning that the cook needs to get the yolks rock hard, and delivered when your toast is already cold.
This place just needs a make-over and a reminder of the basics of good hotel management. Perhaps they should watch the TV programme and learn.

  • Liked — Biscuits on a sparse tea tray
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firtreecott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Worcester hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2008

I stayed here with my partner in November after a wedding reception which was being held at the Pear Tree.

Well, it was all rather lovely. The staff were courteous, friendly, polite and the wedding reception went smoothly due to their professional manner.

The hotel itself is very sweet and warm, with a resident macaw who loves to have a chat with you in the bar! The rooms are clean, large and have everything you need (trouser press, hairdryer..)

If I'm in Worcester again, which I doubt very much but hey, I will definitely return to the Pear Tree.

  • Liked — The cleanliness, the staff and the location.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleAppleRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix,az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2007

As a native of Worcester I took my wife there with our 5 month old son. We booked direct 3 or 4 months in advance. Our stay was from 26th Dec - 1st Jan. After a long day traveling from Phoenix USA we arrived at the hotel late evening to find that the the on duty manager had no idea we were coming and said the only reason they were open that night is because he was staying there. well he checked us in and sent us to our room which was freezing cold. I had to take a fuse out of the trouser press and put it in the heater and one out of the heated towel rail to put it in the heater in the bedroom. One of the mornings room service knocked on the door and wanted to clean the room immediatley as they would soon be going home. We were the only guests by the way. We were asked what time we would be down for breakfast, even though it was supposed to be betwen 7.30-9.30.
We could not get what we wanted to eat on new years eve because they had a party going on and were catering for that and there was no breakfast on new years day because I guess they all had hang overs. They did leave a continental break fast out side our room before they went to bed though. At a hundred and twenty pounds a night we were expexting a bit more. The room was ok but the bed was horrible and there was no clock of any kind. Very very disappointing and we will not be going back.

  • Liked — checking out
  • Disliked — checking in
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away !!!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank timsidtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worcester
3.9 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
4.0 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#10 of 11 in Worcester
500 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
584 reviews
2.4 mi away
St Andrews Town Hotel
St Andrews Town Hotel
#2 of 4 in Droitwich
490 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel

Property: Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
Address: Smite Hill, Worcester WR3 8SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HRS, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pear Tree Inn And Country Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing