We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Hotel - I won't be back!”
Review of St. Lawrence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Lawrence Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel - I won't be back!”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I booked an over night stay at this 'hotel', admittedly I wasn't expecting much due to it's 2 star rating but at 39 pounds a night you would expect at least a clean room. I arrived and was shown to my room which was situated on the 1st floor. It would be easier to list the problems as there are so many: My door was difficult to lock, the furniture was old and most of the drawers did not have handles so you couldn't open them, the wardrobe smelt damp so I couldn't use it, tired decoration with wallpaper peeling off the wall, dirty stained carpet, un-washed and stained bed cover, a horse blanket and one sheet on the bed, window wouldn't stay open, toilet seat was broken with the fittments left on the back of the cistern, shower was so small I could just fit in it, water pressure was non-existant .........OK onto breakfast. Range of self service cereals, a toaster and a type of un-identified juice in a jug plus a coffee/tea machine which my fellow guests struggled to work. I made a cup of tea and it was like syrup. I was then offered a cooked breakfast which was tasteless ..... finally when I checked-out I was made to struggle with my bags and case to my car as the proprietor waved goodbye at the door! The only positives I can think of is that I have a clean towel and a nice wide-screen TV in my room.... that's it.

Room Tip: PLease lower all expectations and take slippers as you won't want to walk barefooted in your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel40Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    22
    32
    16
    20
See reviews for
7
43
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We arrived at the hotel and when we had paid we were handed a key and told our room number and left to find it. When we got to the room it was spacious but needed a good clean and a refurb. The bed was ok and the sheets were clean. We could only get 4 channels on the ancient tv in the room. The bathroom had carpet on the floor and had towels in front of the toilet and shower. This room also needed a good clean and the sink had a crack in it, the shower head was hanging loose and the shower was quite small.
The dining room and lounge area were nicely furnished but yet again a good dust and vaccing would have helped.
Our breakfast was self service eg:- cereals, fruit, toast but the cooked meal was available if required.
The hotel is in a nice spot and we did not get any traffic noise and there was free parking. A short walk took us directly into Worcester centre.
All in all with a good clean and updating this hotel could be really good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveleasy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We were pleasantly surprised after reading older reviews that the Hotel was very nice. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast arrived very quickly and we all enjoyed it. The location is great for access to the city center. Overall it is excellent value. We would definitely recommend it and return again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMW18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales , united kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2010

the room was big but the window did'nt open unless you put a wedge there.
the place looks so tired, it needs a total refurb, all old furniture and decor/carpets etc
location good only 5 mins walk into city
breakfast very good, only thing going for it though
the place is used by contractors most of the time

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizriley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Worcester hotels

Wiltshire
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2009

We stayed in room 10. The room was sparsely furnished but sheets on the bed were clean. Ensuite was clean with clean towels left on the beds. There was tea and coffee and 2 small bottles of wine provided in the room. The room was adequately heated although cold on arrival as the window was wide open (cold day). To our horror we woke up in the morning to find bed bugs in our beds and blood speckled and smeared over the sheets. We hastily leap from our beds and into the shower! The management did refund our money without hesistation and did not seem surprised and did not even come up to check our room and beds for themselves.We will report incident to environmental health.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BilboWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We stayed in room 15 which we discovered in the morning was infested with bedbugs and we had been eaten alive, we are now in quite a bad way with the bites and have reported them to environmental health. The hotel owners didn’t seem surprised when we told them about the bedbugs and showed them the blood on the bed sheets so I don’t believe that they will be getting this room fumigated anytime soon.
Even without the bedbugs this hotel is pretty dirty, there was hair around the sink and the toilet wasn’t flushed from the previous occupants. I would just recommend giving this hotel a wide birth.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeanaMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2009

Because there were 4 couples in our party, we were given the top floor, this was not a problem for us. We never saw any of the staff once we'd checked in, then again at breakfast (which was good) and again at check out.

The rooms were adequate, dated furniture but clean.

We are going back this year, as it is cheap and ideal for the horse racing.

  • Liked — The fact that you were left to your own devices
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Worcester City Centre Hotel
4.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worcester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worcester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lawrence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lawrence Hotel

Property: St. Lawrence Hotel
Address: Bath Road, Worcester WR5 2JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Lawrence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Lawrence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Lawrence Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing