We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and cheerful”
Review of St. Lawrence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Lawrence Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Reviewed 1 September 2013

booked for 2 nights for wedding. rooms were clean but very tired and need freshening up. our bed was fine but our family in another room found the bed had sunk in the middle and their tv did not work. breakfast was standard with hot or continental choice available. great for location. 5 minute walk into town centre with free parking at the hotel. for £55 per night, you cant really moan for what you get. great for overnight stay could charge a lot more if the interior was freshened up a lot.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

First of all, the Great. I slept extremely well, which is the most important thing to me, in a hotel (Room 1). I do use earplugs generally, but it was quiet there anyhow. The Good, the bathroom and the bed were clean, and the food was good also. Not spectacular, but very good English breakfast type food. I can't speak about the TV because I never turned it on. I noticed some reviewers spoke to that. The downside is that the rugs and floor area are not very clean, so take slippers or flip flops for when you get out of the shower.
The very, very Great part was the location. I could walk everywhere in Worcester from this hotel. I'm a runner too, and morning runs were glorious!

Room Tip: I know that Room 1 is good, but may be too small for a couple. Just right for a single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I visited this hotel with a group of friends; staff were friendly enough but the beds on my room were very uncomfortable, we could feel the springs through the top of the mattress and the bed was wooden and creaked loudly at the slightest movement.The bedding comprised of the normal sheets but also a blanket and throw over, I ma used to having a duvet when I have stayed in hotels before.
Our friends room had a carpet that did not look as if it had been vacuumed.The shower was small and considering the size of the bathroom it could have been bigger.
Breakfast was greasy and some of the cereals were out of date. Tea/coffee were out of a machine, juice was warm. The table was well set but if you wanted to have juice you had to drink out of large wine glasses! Not a hotel I would stay in again or recommend..
Room key was same as front door key- which I believe meant it was pointless locking your room because everyone had the same key.
The saving grace of this hotel is the location; only a short walk to the centre

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorrainef67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This hotel had everything we needed.
Our room (no 10) was clean,quiet and of good size.
We slept well and enjoyed the flat screen tv, complimentary tea and coffee and the excellent shower.
The breakfast choice was fresh and varied.
We would stay here again

Room Tip: Choose room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed here and would not return again. Hotel in desperate need of renovation and upgrading. I can normally overlook these issues if the rooms themselves are ok.
In this case it definitely is not.

The room I stayed in was very dirty. Carpet not vacuumed with dirt on floor. Teacups dirty with obvious stains and dried bits on side. Teaspoon with bits on it. Old dirty kettle. Bed covers old and look as if never been washed. Cobwebs everywhere and spiders in bathroom. Could not sleep in the room and felt itchy all night. Horrible!

On a positive note the hotel is in a good location and relatively cheap. Breakfast is very oily but fine for a one off only.
You get what you pay for.

Summary:
Dirty disgusting rooms. Hotel in desperate need of renovation.
Good location and relatively cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbyj758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Lovely period house in good location, but in dire need of repair, upgrading and refurbishment. (who has carpet in the bathroom these days?) A good project for TVs Hotel Inspector. The breakfast was fine, served in a pleasant dining room, but although the bedrooms are of a good size, they leave much to be desired in this day and age.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bulavinaka_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

There was an awkwardness when we arrived. We had booked a twin room but staff showed us to a double room first as it 'was a better room'. A double bed was inappropriate for us so took room 15, a twin room. The carpet was so old and dirty it disgusting. The wallpaper was patched and peeling and the curtains broken. The electrics were one extension lead under the window, on the floor, for all things in the room, TV, light, kettle. Didn't use kettle and mugs as they didn't look clean enough. The wardrobe was just an old bookcase with the shelves removed and a rail put inside. Dust, cobwebs and mould. Shower worked well but damp problems around it. The beds were so uncomfortable we hardly slept. Everything smelled dusty and the vacuum cleaner hadn't been onto the second floor for a while. the decor was shabby and peeling off the walls and the furniture didn't match in any way, which made the reception room look cluttered and cheap. Two 7 foot vases dominated the lounge area, just a weird concoction of second-hand furnishings, and decor from the 80's. No light on the top landing. Couldn't wait to leave. The breakfast was poor; very oily and bland, left most of it. NEVER go there again. It may be well located but that's about all it had going for it. The staff weren't exactly friendly either (if you could find anyone to talk to)

Room Tip: Not room 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melat104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
0.8 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 12 in Worcester
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fownes Hotel
Fownes Hotel
#7 of 12 in Worcester
767 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Worcester
Travelodge Worcester
#11 of 12 in Worcester
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Lawrence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Lawrence Hotel

Address: 29 Bolston Road, Worcester WR5 2JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Worcester
Price Range: £44 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Lawrence Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Ebookers so you can book your St. Lawrence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Lawrence Hotel Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing