We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic country pub”
Review of Anchor Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Worcester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchor Inn
Ranked #21 of 27 Worcester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2013

As a newbie to the village I was a little worried about finding a new local to drink in. On a walk of the village I happened to come across the anchor. The interior was traditional and gave off a warm and welcoming feeling. The landlady was lovely and made me feel very welcome to the pub and to the village. The owner of the pub who was also the chef made us a lovely meal from a large range of choices which was thoroughly enjoyed. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

Pre paid for this stay which was a big mistake. Booked in and was shown to the room. There was an unpleasant smell as you entered the building and the staircase creaked on every tread. The room was very tired, the pillow cases hadn't been ironed. The big turn off was the bathroom where the shower was shabby and covered in mold. Couldn't stay there in those conditions so sourced alternative accommodation in the village which was different again. Cannot comment on the food as didn't stay to eat. The whole place had seen better days and I cannot recommend it to anyone as a place to stay even on a budget as even one of the budget hotels offers far higher standards both of cleanliness and comfort.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend any kind of stay in this establishment. It needs a huge amount of TLC to bring it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Average pub. On side street in village. Not always open at lunch times. Have been past many lunch times and not open!!! When open a fair crowd can get in. Pensioners day on wednesday and sunday lunches are their busy days.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oleJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I wish there were ratings for negative ratings. If there were I would rate it as negative ten. The place is a dump. The rooms are not just tired but smelly with mold around the windows and in the bath room. The room also stank of stale cigarette smoke and mold. When you enter, the pub is also smelly and tired. The owner was also rude and unhelpful when I was booking the room and getting directions. Any guests were treated like we were doing him a favour by booking to stay in his awful horrid establishment. It was so awful that I could not remain and checked out and found another BB offering lovely clean rooms and a friendly face for the same price in the village. What can I say but DONT stay here. Rather sleep in your car!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randik, Owner at Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

This malicious review was posted by a customer who did not check out as she claimed but left the premises without notice. When reprimanded by email the customer demonstrated the same disregard for the loss to our business of potenial sales revenue of some £150.00. The customer was impolite in manner almost to the point of being rude to me personally. Other guests who stopped for a wedding party nearby made no complaints whatsoever. I think that in the circumstances this review should be judged for what it is and removed from the website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I stayed here for 1 night in June 2011. I booked The Anchor Inn & Restaurant because I wanted to stay in a quiet village away from the motorways, have dinner and a pint on the premises and get a good nights sleep before heading off to Bath for business. I got a very friendly welcome from the young man who is the chef and enjoyed a chat with the owner over a pint of ale in the bar and had one of the best bar meals, both for the standard of the food and value, that I've had in years.
However, the room was really grim. It's not 3 star accommodaton. The paint and paper was shabby and the furniture old fashioned (not in a good way) but worst of all was the bathroom. It was dirty, dimly lit, a terrible shower with only a trickle of water and was that chipped paint on the loo seat? Definately keep your shoes on - don't walk barefoot on that bathroon carpet!
The bed was clean and comfortable though and the village is quiet so I expected to get a good sleep and I would have if I hadn't been able to hear the man in the next room snoring all night through the paper thin walls. Every floor board in the whole place creaks and you can hear all the plumbing too.
The nice young man appeared just long enough to take the order for breakfast, but did not stay long enough to inquire if everything was ok. The breakfast was good but he didn't come back to see if I wanted more tea or anything else and I couldn't find anyone when I was leaving when I would have mentioned the horrible room so, having paid in advance, I left the keys on the bar and went on my way.
I wasn't expecting luxury for £40 but I do expect the room to be clean. And a loo seat you're not afraid to sit on. And a shower with enough water to get washed properly. And carpet in the bathroom? What were they thinking?
So I'd highly recommend The Anchor for food and ale, but if you want to stop for the night I'd would advise you to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellygreen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This is pub first and accommodation a very distant second. The wallpaper was faded and torn, the bed was lumpy. The bathroom was showing the uncleanness that comes with poor maintenance. Breakfast was good but served by cook who was rushing to go shopping and left after he delivered the hot breakfast not to be seen again. Disappointing for such perfect location

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellinghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worcester hotels
9.8 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
9.4 mi away
Ye Olde Talbot
Ye Olde Talbot
#6 of 11 in Worcester
600 reviews
9.3 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worcester
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 11 in Worcester
459 reviews
10.1 mi away
Osborne House
Osborne House
#12 of 27 in Worcester
34 reviews
9.4 mi away
Pitmaston House
Pitmaston House
#8 of 15 in Worcester
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn

Address: Cotheridge Lane | Eckington, Worcester WR10 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Worcester
Price Range: £30 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional English village inn set in the heart of the Worcestershire countryside. Our beautiful property dates back to the 17th century featuring original exposed beams and a large open fireplace. We offer the very best in locally produced traditional English pub fayre, including fine wines & real ales. For those wishing to stay a little longer, we provide a self catering apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn Worcester, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing