We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect pub and b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Druid Inn

The Druid Inn
Ranked #9 of 147 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect pub and b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I cannot praise the pub or the next door b&b enough. The Druid is the friendliest pub I have been to, no tv,no juke box and no gaming machines, just people enjoying good beer, eating brill food and TALKING TO EACH OTHER. Very very friendly. The b&b next door run by the admirable John, is so homely, his breakfast is ledgenary,it is a case of if you want it, I have it for you. Having had the 'full english or should that be full Welsh?) we did not need any other food all day, walked around like Mr and Mrs Blobby. Would I recommend them both? Yes very highly, the b&b is not 5* but then neither is the price,if you want good food, good beer and friendly acc' you will not go wrong.

Helpful?
1 Thank Fred R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    31
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pershore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Can't knock the food, would recommend the steak pie. The pub is homely, service is friendly. Reasonably priced food, worth the trip out of Aberystwyth to go to it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank stockspinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We chose this restaurant for a special family occasion because of it's very good rating in Tripadvisor (2nd best in Aberystwyth) so went there with great expectations.

First of all when we arrived our table wasn't ready even we had reserved in beforehand and did not come too early. The service was slow. They brought us menus but didn't bother to ask if we wanted to drink something so we went and got drinks from the bar ourselves.

The starters we ok but nothing to remember of. The shrimp coctail was just a pile of shrimps drowned in coctail sauce (basically mayonese) and splashed onto a toast. Chili and garlic prawns were quite nice.

Most of us had lamb for the main course and the meat was burned so one couldn't taste anything else - big minus. Those who had cod were quite ok with their portions.

Desserts: brownie seemed to be ok but lemon cheese cake had never seen a glimpse of lemon in it's life - instead it was pink and the taste was undescribable so no idea what it was supposed to taste. The texture was like glue. Two of us had the cheesecake and neither of us could have more than couple of bites - it was inedible...

Cannot understand why it has all these good reviews. Of course, we might have been just terribly unlucky...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank n1nn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Evening meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Have been past the druid many times,the place was recommended to us ,as being quality food at a reasonable price with good portion sizes,which didn't disappoint , would go there again for sure ,you just have to take care crossing the road to the druid ,well worth a visit,excellent staff to .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trevor j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Sunday Lunch that never was”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We rang to check that they were doing food all afternoon and arrived 15 minutes latter to be told that they had sold out.
The pub is set on a very fast road outside of Aberystwyth with a little car park on the other side of the road. The countryside around the area is stunning, unfortunately the Druids Inn cannot say the same, the inside of the pub is well passed its time for a revamp and is looking very tired and shabby.
The staff were quite friendly, if a bit disorganised. The beer is well kept with several real ales on draught.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Druid Inn also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to The Druid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing