We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Croeso cynnes iawn a bwyd gwych / a very warm welcome and lovely food”
Review of Gannets Bistro

Gannets Bistro
Ranked #31 of 148 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Cuisines: British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Croeso cynnes iawn a bwyd gwych / a very warm welcome and lovely food”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We felt very welcome and we were given water and bread and butter without asking. The mackerel was very tasty as was the steak. Also, meals are very cheap at lunch time so a bonus. Will definetely be returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aled W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    26
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect home cooked food in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Looking for somewhere to eat and everywhere in the town was either empty or very quiet. We came across gannets and it was busy so decided to give it a try and glad we did. Genuine family run restaurant in original surroundings offering good honest home cooked food. I would recommend the lamb shank. Both the proprietors made you feel very welcome and relaxed. The price was also more than reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank moofymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food with phenomenal charm, service and value.”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I've been coming to this place for lunch every week now since last January (excusing the odd week here and there and the holidays of course). One might call that excessive but Gannet's really is that great! If you're looking for michelin star quality food then this probably isn't your place, Gannet's does good wholesome food, the sort of food you get at your grandparent's, with the same doting service. I'm a student at the university here and I do feel like the owners sort of look after me when I come, it's a great service that you'll be hard pressed to find anywhere else. I've gone for dinner a few times but being on a budget, I find the lunchtime menu to be much more reasonably priced. The decor is great as well, it's almost like going back in time when you eat here. I couldn't recommend it more!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

The food here was very good, quite old fashioned british restaurant food. You get a jug of water straight away without having to ask. It was very busy but the service was very friendly and we werent rushed. Would go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An Aberystwyth Gem”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Dilys, Gwen and Dave never fail to offer the warmest welcome and tastiest home cooked dinner in town. Long standing family run business offering quality meals prepared from the finest Cardiganshire ingredients, always with a smile. Da iawn. A little gem near the markrt.
You certainly will never leave feeling hungry.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NormWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gannets Bistro also viewed

 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Gannets Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing