We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brynowen Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
US$86
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$88
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Harry's Hotel(Aberystwyth)
US$88
US$83
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$117
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conrah Hotel(Aberystwyth)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel(Aberystwyth)(Great Value!)
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Richmond Hotel(Aberystwyth)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gwesty Cymru(Aberystwyth)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,402)
Filter reviews
1,403 results
Traveller rating
433
400
226
166
178
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
433
400
226
166
178
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold caravannisa shopvictoria innentertainment teamentertainment complexsteep hillclean caravanevening entertainmentsecurity staffsand dunescentral heatinglovely beachshort breakgreat holidayfamily holidaygreat entertainmentplay area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,323 - 1,328 of 1,403 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The caravan - missing lamp shades, blown bulbs, missing clothes hooks, doors that were hard to close due to loose hinges, carpet was very worn and stained throughout, cutting knives with broken handle that was filthy, non of the rooms had been cleaned properly, only one key for door, not even reception had a spare, they had to use our key to fix electricity when it blew the fuses,

The Pool - slide rarely open, due to the outside steps being wet apparently...funny that being outside steps and people wet from pool going up them!! however, when i asked to see the risk assesment it stated a member of staff had to supervise the slide, which they did by hanging around the door to the outside. They didn't operate the slide because they didn't have enough staff! When they did two of the "lifeguards" had one each of their hands in a splint and bandage, so they would be unable to rescue anyone! They played loud music as and when it suited them, and one of them spent a considerable amount of time filing her nails. The toddlers pool was permanntly closed, the water quality looked very suspect, the pool side was strewn with various pieces of debris at every visit, the showers and changing booths were filthy...........generally it is run down and needs a refurb or replacement....there appears to be no ongoing maintenance, even the pool window frames were falling apart due to rot!

The staff...reception staff eat at the desk and are very surley if you disturb them....again lack of staff cover...staff uniform is a mish mosh of items, some don't even have one so its difficult to tell who is who and what they do.....there is supposed to be a speed limit on site, but watch out for the kibota, the tractor, and the red BMW....all driven by staff.....and most of of the time way to fast........

Didn't use the rest of the facilities one view was enough.....

The golden sands...not....very pebbley except for low tide...and while we were there they had 6 large excavators and several large dumper lorries constucting a huge groin out to sea every afternoon and early morning, shifting huge boulders.. the noise echoed across the shore and can be heard at the top of the park..they never mentioned that was happening even though the locals have been campaigning for months...

best advice is dont go here...go to Aberystwyth or Aberdovey

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sushisan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

After reading alot of bad reviews about this caravan park we was abit worried about our break. When we arrived the park looked fine, alittle old fashioned in places, but clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and helpful when we checked in and we were close to the amenities. There is a huge hill but luckily we were situated at the bottom. The view at the top of the hill is amazing though if you decide to take a walk up!
Caravan was clean and spacious and there was enough room for my 2 and a half toddler to play. Didn't like the carpark next to our caravan though as it was busy outside and had to always keep an eye on my little one while she was playing outside because of he cars.
Everything we needed was in the caravan and nothing was broke. No smell of damp which was good.
The entertainment of a night was great for the kids. My daughter enjoyed sparky and his crew and the discos. Adults entertainment was good to and me and my mother had a boogie on the dance floor.
Location is very quiet and its very close to the beach. But when you get to the beach there is only 1 shop and 1 cafe so you can't really walk anywhere to look around because there is nothing to see. We did however drive to aberystwyth which took about 10 minutes and that was a lovely walk along the promenade. We sat and ate fish and chips on the front which was nice. There are lots of shops to look around aswell.
Overall really enjoyed our holiday and the caravan park was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask to be at the bottom of the hill to be close to amenties. For an amazing view be at the top but its a hard walk up!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimoneGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Caravan was filthy, carpets stained, crockery filthy... bathroom stank and was dirty.
Checked out after one night. Very dissappointed even tho it was a cheap break away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toy8046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Brynowen wales what a awful place the camp is dirty unable to use the showers and tolets as for the pool would not let the kids go in the water was so dirty never go back

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabella37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed here for the week, and we were not expecting much, due to previous comments left by other people. The place itself does look tired, and the pool is only small and quite deep for the most part for young children. There is one big slide that you have to go outside to have a go on and queue! (a little cold!), and it is not always open, this may be different at peak times (school holidays) We did have a lovely caravan up the hill, which is very hard work, the carvans up there have lovely views and space around them, unlike some of the bronze at the bottom, but the steep paths/roads to them are hard working and we a re not unfit! We didnt eat on site we went to Morrisons in Aberystwyth and used our caravan but the food lokked very nice. Younger children were entertained at night, not sure about older children. It is expensive to drink at night!!! £4.95 for a bottle of Bulmers Cider, go for the pichers! Borth itself is very quiet, the beach is currently have sea defences etc done up. We did go to the little zoo at Borth which we really enjoyed. It was nice to get a little more up close to the animals, and you could feed them, 50p for a tub of food, which our daugher loved! There's a park inside the zoo, where you can relax and children can play. The zoo itself is only small, but passed a couple of hours. There is also a park area around the corner from Park Resort, the sign points to the community centre from the seafront and it's just a few meters down a lane. Aberystwyth is where we went for a couple of days and really liked it. We were very lucky with the weather and had a lovely holiday but if it was raining, it could have been a different story!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghnfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews