We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldn't go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brynowen Holiday Park
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wouldn't go back”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I'm not really a leaving reviews kind of person but this holiday park has inspired me to leave one!
We booked a bronze caravan because at high season thats all we could afford (£550!!) so i wasn't expecting much from the caravan so it didn't really suprise me that it was a bit tatty with lumpy matresses, but what did suprise me was that it wasn't very clean and the sofa and chairs fabric was absolutely filthy!
The thing that really got me about this place was the pool. The water was warm, thats the only good thing i can say about it. It was dirty, both the poolside area and the water itself. I took out plasters on two of my three swims and on the third swim there was a big pile of hair that must have been pulled out of a filter just left on the side of the pool. The changing cubicles smelt of wee (by 10 am? obviously not cleaned from previous day)and had rubbish and food left on the floor. There was an awful stagnant water smell drifting around the pool and the slide was only open once for 10 mins out of the three visists we had.
The other areas of the park were also run down and grubby but we didn't use them much.
We spent most of the day out of the park so we actually had a fantastic holiday despite the let down of the park. Who wouldn't like Wales?? It is true that ther eisn't much to do in Borth but we drove to some lovely places such as New Quay in the south and Barmouth in the North.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freyaholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    375
    209
    155
    168
See reviews for
831
228
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

we had such a good holiday in 2010 with park resorts on the isle of wight we thought this year we'd stay with park resorts but go some where else,that was a big mistake, we arrived on the friday and straight away when we got in the park it looked old and run down, we headed into the patio bar to kill some time before we could pick up our keys, that was horrible dingy shed very dirty and dated, the kids wanted a slush drink but it wasnt switched on, so we had to pay for there over priced cokes, we paid for silver caravan which should of been ok, we got the keys and went to the van, opened the door and straight away we noticed a very stained carpet in the living room,also the sofa was all stained and worn, the tv didnt receive any channels it kept freezing and stalling , a total waste of time, also the toilet was so small i couldnt even fit in it to sit down, im big but im not that big, the park was full of rude kids causing fights with new kids so my son and daughter would not even go in the park without me or mum, and the kids evening entertainment which involved a couple of good nights when they did a sparky the rabbit play but when the rabbit wasnt on it involved loads of adults just screaming and shouting, we had dinner in the patio bar once and never again, the food was awful,terrible food, the whole parks built on a very steep mountain, so if your not good at walking it can hurts you walking up and down the hill, def back to the isle of wight next year!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leachy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberystwyth hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2011

After reading the reviews about this holiday park, i have to admit i was worried! But to be fair the pace isn't as bad as some reviews make out. Yes, it needs a good coat of paint and tyding up, but as for the park itself, it is quite pleasant.The caravans are situated a bit close together and could be a little bit more well kept ( we had broken latches on the windows which got sorted out on the very next day) but overall we had a really good holiday. the pool isn't up to much but the entertainment is ok for kids ( we have a 6 ,8 & 10 year old) and they seem to really enjoy it. If your kids are into arcade games, the arcade is reasonably priced 30 pence a go for a video game and £1.00 a game of bowling. I have found at Haven parks that video games are £1.00 and bowling £2.00) The village of Borth is quite quaint and there a a few pubs within walking distance of the site which i would recommend. Everone seems friendly enough (staff & locals). The one thing you need fo this place is good weather as if its bad you do not want to be stuck in your caravan all day bored. we were lucky as such as the weather was sunny and on our last day the Borth carnival was on with houses decorated, Floats and bands passing through the village. Overall a very decent holiday and yes, we would go back.
Tips : 1. get a caravan at the bottom of the park ( steep hill otherwise)
2.the showbar is not massive so if you require a table, get in there either for Bingo ( about 6.30) or when Bingo is finishing (7.30) alot of people leave after bingo.
3. the on site shop is reasonably priced but for better value, use the NISA on the corner.
4. The beach in mainly pebbles so take something soft to lie on.

and finally. ENJOY YOUR HOLIDAY< IT IS WHAT YOU MAKE IT !

Room Tip: Go for a wide berth caraven 12' ...we wish we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidjstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The caravan - missing lamp shades, blown bulbs, missing clothes hooks, doors that were hard to close due to loose hinges, carpet was very worn and stained throughout, cutting knives with broken handle that was filthy, non of the rooms had been cleaned properly, only one key for door, not even reception had a spare, they had to use our key to fix electricity when it blew the fuses,

The Pool - slide rarely open, due to the outside steps being wet apparently...funny that being outside steps and people wet from pool going up them!! however, when i asked to see the risk assesment it stated a member of staff had to supervise the slide, which they did by hanging around the door to the outside. They didn't operate the slide because they didn't have enough staff! When they did two of the "lifeguards" had one each of their hands in a splint and bandage, so they would be unable to rescue anyone! They played loud music as and when it suited them, and one of them spent a considerable amount of time filing her nails. The toddlers pool was permanntly closed, the water quality looked very suspect, the pool side was strewn with various pieces of debris at every visit, the showers and changing booths were filthy...........generally it is run down and needs a refurb or replacement....there appears to be no ongoing maintenance, even the pool window frames were falling apart due to rot!

The staff...reception staff eat at the desk and are very surley if you disturb them....again lack of staff cover...staff uniform is a mish mosh of items, some don't even have one so its difficult to tell who is who and what they do.....there is supposed to be a speed limit on site, but watch out for the kibota, the tractor, and the red BMW....all driven by staff.....and most of of the time way to fast........

Didn't use the rest of the facilities one view was enough.....

The golden sands...not....very pebbley except for low tide...and while we were there they had 6 large excavators and several large dumper lorries constucting a huge groin out to sea every afternoon and early morning, shifting huge boulders.. the noise echoed across the shore and can be heard at the top of the park..they never mentioned that was happening even though the locals have been campaigning for months...

best advice is dont go here...go to Aberystwyth or Aberdovey

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sushisan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2011

After reading alot of bad reviews about this caravan park we was abit worried about our break. When we arrived the park looked fine, alittle old fashioned in places, but clean and tidy. The staff were friendly and helpful when we checked in and we were close to the amenities. There is a huge hill but luckily we were situated at the bottom. The view at the top of the hill is amazing though if you decide to take a walk up!
Caravan was clean and spacious and there was enough room for my 2 and a half toddler to play. Didn't like the carpark next to our caravan though as it was busy outside and had to always keep an eye on my little one while she was playing outside because of he cars.
Everything we needed was in the caravan and nothing was broke. No smell of damp which was good.
The entertainment of a night was great for the kids. My daughter enjoyed sparky and his crew and the discos. Adults entertainment was good to and me and my mother had a boogie on the dance floor.
Location is very quiet and its very close to the beach. But when you get to the beach there is only 1 shop and 1 cafe so you can't really walk anywhere to look around because there is nothing to see. We did however drive to aberystwyth which took about 10 minutes and that was a lovely walk along the promenade. We sat and ate fish and chips on the front which was nice. There are lots of shops to look around aswell.
Overall really enjoyed our holiday and the caravan park was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask to be at the bottom of the hill to be close to amenties. For an amazing view be at the top but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimoneGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Caravan was filthy, carpets stained, crockery filthy... bathroom stank and was dirty.
Checked out after one night. Very dissappointed even tho it was a cheap break away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toy8046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Brynowen wales what a awful place the camp is dirty unable to use the showers and tolets as for the pool would not let the kids go in the water was so dirty never go back

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabella37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
4.6 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
311 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
302 reviews
4.6 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
495 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Starling Cloud
The Starling Cloud
#17 of 36 in Aberystwyth
282 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cardigan Bay Guest House
Cardigan Bay Guest House
#13 of 36 in Aberystwyth
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynowen Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynowen Holiday Park

Property: Brynowen Holiday Park
Address: Brynowen Lane | Borth, Aberystwyth SY24 5LS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Brynowen Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynowen Holiday Park - Park Hotel Aberystwyth
Brynowen Holiday Park Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing