We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant budget break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brynowen Holiday Park
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“brilliant budget break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed her for 4 nights end of April. Had to have a bronze caravan because of our dogs. After reading some of the reviews I was very worried but was pleasantly surprised. We stayed in Dyfed 5 up on the Sports Field. It was very clean and in a lovely quiet spot with a woodland walk just behind the caravan which was perfect for walking the dogs. There is a steep hill up to this area of the park but i didnt mind that because of the lovely quiet spacious location. The lower field looked quite cramped but its only 5 min stroll to the beach from there. We visited the arcade on site which the kids enjoyed. Drinks in the bar are very expensive. The kids loved pool but the slide was hardly ever open!! Lifeguards looked very bored and apparently the lad didnt like sitting over by the slide which is why they hardly opened it. All in all we had a great time and for £70 for 4 nights for 6 people and 2 dogs we can hardly complain. If it had not been for grumpy pool staff it would have been 5 stars. Keep your eyes peeled for dolphins as we spotted some while rock pooling on Borth beach.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ParkAvenue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Brynowen Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your break with us, I am glad to read you had a brilliant time. We have put a lot of time and money into our caravans recently, especially the bronze grade units.

The lower sites generally have units closer together and are very popular with families, they are also closer to the beach. Our higher sites having slightly more space, but are further from the beach and our facilities.

With regards to the closing of the slide, this was not open due to the weather conditions. As the slide is outside, the pool staff have to ensure health and safety regulations are considered at all times.
You are right there are indeed dolphins up and down Cardigan Bay, as we move closer to summer we’re hoping they will play at Borth beach.

We do hope to see you again soon, please don’t hesitate to call us.

Brynowen Holiday Park
01970 871 366
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    365
    204
    154
    165
See reviews for
813
220
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Booked with groupon paid extra to upgrade to silver caravan and was very good caravan clean had no frying pan but once at reception we're given a new one straight away. Entertainment great for kids pool was warm when we went and slide good for older kids. Our three year old granddaughter had a lovely time. Beach very near and children's meal served in bucket and spade made a nice touch from the chip shop on the sea front went on Aberystwyth cliff railway and was expensive at £72 for four of us (3 year old free) but had lovely views and granddaughter loved seeing the horses cows and sheep. An enjoyable family weekend away :)

Room Tip: Upgrading to silver was a good choice we were near arcade and pool which was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Brynowen Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, I’m glad to hear you had a great time!

We are very fortunate to have such a lovely countryside setting that I know a lot of people really appreciate.

I will pass this message on to the pool manager, so she can read the great feedback regarding the pool, just today we’ve had several people come into the reception saying it was lovely too!

We hope to see you again soon, please don’t hesitate to call us.
Brynowen Holiday Park
01970 871 366
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We have just finished our stay at the park. Mainly used as a base but can not fault the park, it is set in a beautiful location so exploring is a must.
Staff are very friendly, big thanks to Damian and Richard in sales for helping us out also to Kerryanne for serving us a much needed pint after climbing mountains all day!
Hopefully be back again soon :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClaireIbiza78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Brynowen Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, I am glad to hear you were able to take full advantage of the facilities, as well as visiting the local area, we are definitely in a beautiful location!

I will pass your kinds words on to Damien and Richard in the sales office, as well as Kerryanne in the bar, I’m sure they were all more than happy to help.

We hope to see you again soon, please don’t hesitate to call us.

Brynowen Holiday Park
01970 871 366
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had a wonderful week away at Brynowen! We were in a platinum caravan which was well worth paying the extra for! Stunning views, we were at the top end of the site which was very quiet - although don't climb the hill right to the top!! A suggestion: maybe look into a shuttle for the site would be a MASSIVE bonus to this site as we would have used the amusements/evening entertainment more if we didn't have to bring the car down. We didn't use the swimming pool so cannot comment, although went to Bingo a few times and visited the amusements as well. All the staff we came across were friendly and helpful. Food was lovely in the patio bar, reasonably priced for a commercial site as well.

The maintenance team could do with being improved. We had no bedroom lights, or light shades in the bedrooms. Reported it on the Monday we got there (including the TV being broken!). Bloke came straight away, said someone would return... after visiting reception to remind them every day noone replaced the bulbs all week. Although the TV did get fixed but by someone I believe they recruit externally. Only complaint from the whole week!

Been to Borth a lot, so knew it well and knew what Brynowen was like although first time staying on the site.
Overall, we had a fab week away for Easter. Looking at returning in August for another week and cannot wait!!

Room Tip: Pay the extra - platinum caravans are stunning and definitely worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ep17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Brynowen Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Unfortunately I don’t think we will be able to organise a shuttle bus system however, in future if you give us a call a few weeks before arrival and request to be closer to the amenities we will try our best to honour this request, though we can never guarantee it.

The issues you faced with the television and the bulbs should have been rectified by housekeeping. Please accept my apologies that this was not the case.

We look forward to seeing you in August, please don’t hesitate to call us.

Brynowen Holiday Park
01970 871 366
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We booked through the sun holidays and was really worried about the accommodation after reading reviews but there was nothing to complain about. The caravan was bronze rated and was spotlessly clean, we loved it. Entertainment in the evening was great for the kids aged 5 and 20 months. Swimming pool does need a bit of a revamp but was clean and great fun.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kateken81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Brynowen Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I’m glad to read you had a fab weekend!
I will pass on your message to the accommodation team for maintaining excellent cleaning standards and the entertainment staff for keeping the children (and adults) dancing around in the evening.
We do hope to see you again, don’t hesitate to give us a call.

Brynowen Holiday Park
01970 871 366
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had a lovely 3 night break at brynowen. We stayed in Powys 18 which was close to the beach and the handy nisa store and boulders cafe (nice lattes) outside the park. The park it self was a good size not too big, but with a good pool and flume slide which you enter from outside. We spent lots of time in there with our 2 boys:)There are amusement arcades and lots of entertainment if needed. We took the dog so enjoyed time on the beach. The location and views from the top of the park are beautiful. We would holiday here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Brynowen Holiday Park, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at Brynowen, I am glad to hear that you found us to be a lovely park!
I will pass your kind words regarding the pool onto the Sports and Leisure Manager who will be happy to know you and your boys spent your time there.
Overall I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and if you want to come back soon or next year don’t hesitate to call us on 01970 871 366.
Brynowen Holiday Park
01970 871 366
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

On the positive side the staff are mostly very friendly and try to be helpful and the camp is convenient for a very nice beach at Borth, which is a pleasant but quiet resort.
There were many minor negatives we found
We mainly go to these sites for the pool and this one was not very good. It is very cold, small, tired and has been poorly relined with some kind of butylvinyl which is ruckled at the shallow end, making it uncomfortable to walk on and dangerous as it is a trip hazard, especially on the hidden step which is easy to bash your shins or head on. My daughter lost a tooth in one accident - but luckily only a milk tooth. The young and old lifeguards/staff were mostly disinterested in bathers except for teenage girls in bikinis and applied rules inconsistently. They allowed their mates to play quite aggressive ball games in the water when there were small children about in the shallow end, but wouldn't let accompanied children with arm bands go more than half way down the pool to get away from these activities. Some days they stopped people wearing shoes walk round the pool, other days not.
The caravans onsite are quite close together, worse than one Park Holidays site we have been to and sadly you can't park very close to the caravan in some cases, where others you can park on the road virtually outside.
We had been upgraded to a gold standard caravan because of problems with the one we booked but to be honest it wasn't great for a family of 5. It was one of the neglected owners ones with 3 piece suite and table and chairs which took up too much space. There were several problems we reported, broken lights, doors and shelves, which were attended quickly but had been ongoing for a while we were told. They were still not fixed by the time we left.
The site itself is quite hilly, dark and spread out. The small amusement area could do with expanding and it needs a refurb of the play area, especially the indoor one, the younger kids clubs are poorly organised and the staff do not seem interested in children or supervising the areas where kids may be. They kept cancelling events without notification.
We found out by accident that there was an event one afternoon, but by the time we arrived the kids only got 10 minutes on a bouncy castle - but it was free. We couldn't find the playing field and no one else seemed to know where it was either - perhaps they had put more caravans on it.
The reception staff were very helpful but didn't produce the local area/facilities guide leaflet that other sites do, so you had to go back and ask for absolutely everything as long as reception is open. By the way the website says there is an ASDA close by - there isn't. And Aberystwryth beach is not as good as they say it is.
The bar and cafe areas are ok but limited in their range, but they do have wifi!
The weather was good when we were there, if a little windy.
On balance if we got a bargain and wanted a quiet break, we may go again, but would not pay full price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veganomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Brynowen Holiday Park, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Brynowen and, starting with the positives, I’m glad that you found the staff to be helpful and for your issues to be quickly attended to.
I will be passing your review on to the Sports and Leisure Manager so she can raise your issues with her staff, this is far from indicative of their or our usual standards and the matters of inconsistency will be investigated.
Unfortunately events held by entertainment team can be cancelled if interest isn’t shown, so be sure to register interest with the team the day - or hour or so - before the event so they know to run it.
Unfortunately we do not have an ASDA nearby, though we do have a Morrisons, Co-Op, Lidl, 24hr Spar and various other independent food retailers, and I shall be investigating what marketing information is advertising that we do.
Again, many thanks for your feedback, it is invaluable in striving to reach the highest standards possible and to create amazing memories for our guests.
Brynowen Holiday Park
01970 871 366
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.6 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
11.1 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynowen Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynowen Holiday Park

Property: Brynowen Holiday Park
Address: Brynowen Lane | Borth, Aberystwyth SY24 5LS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Brynowen Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynowen Holiday Park - Park Hotel Aberystwyth
Brynowen Holiday Park Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing