We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“maintenance man”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brynowen Holiday Park
Conwy County, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“maintenance man”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Would like to say how helpful and brilliant BEN THOMPSON was and told us other things we asked about. We would stay there again anytime. I will also be recommending this park to family and friends to come and stay as was very impressed with the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peskybrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    376
    209
    155
    169
See reviews for
834
230
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Have just returned from a 4 night break here that was booked by my parents through a newspaper deal. We didn't spend a lot of time on site as there isn't really much there. And we like to go out and explore :)

We did go to the arcade, where the staff were very friendly. We also tried the food at the on site patio bar on the first night. Definitely not the best food I've ever eaten, and definitely not worth the money. But again, the staff were very nice.

The swimming pool has very limited hours, which is a shame as we were out and about everyday whilst it was open (10am - 5pm i think), so didn't get a chance to visit. Would be great if it could open either a bit earlier or a bit later. I can't comment on the on-site entertainment as we didn't go to any of this either, but the programme looked like it had something for everyone!


The shop is very small, but is fine for first night essentials. There is a larger Nisa shop just round the corner from the site and larger supermarkets in Aberystwyth if you have a larger family to shop for.

The caravan itself was clean and tidy, the boiler did develop a fault on night two, which we left until the next morning to report as we didn't want to bother the security guys. sadly, it hadn't been fixed by the time we got back in the evening, so obviously hadn't been logged by reception. But as soon as i rang the on site security they came in to fix it immediately.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkxpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from a Sun holiday here. I must admit trepidation after reading some of the reviews here, but we had a pleasant and comfortable stay. Our caravan was at basic level, but it was spotlessly clean and comfortable and served us well. We were uphill which was much more spacious and scenic - but up a very steep hill, those not willing or able to have a bracing walk from the complex might want to request a caravan at the bottom. However, the vans there aren't in as nice a setting. We didn't use the facilities but they did look quite basic compared to other parks we've stayed at. Staff were attentive and friendly, no wait to check in, and a minor maintenance issue was dealt with immediately. Borth is a tiny one horse kind of place, although the park is right on the beach and there's a good chippy about ten minutes walk north. I wouldn't pick this park if I wanted to stay the whole time on site. However it's a brilliant base in a stunning area close to Snowdonia and Cardigan Bay. I'd particularly recommend not missing the beautiful Ynyslas sands and the Dyfi estuary just a couple of miles up the road. I think it's very likely we'll stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Treliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Me my partner and our dog have just returned from a trip here in Borth, the caravan site itself is in a quiet location nothing really there apart from the beach, a gift shop and a couple of take aways.
We stayed in a bronze and I found it to be of a good standard, was very clean and was happy to find it had radiators in the bedrooms. My only complaint was the bed, extremely uncomfortable and dipped in the middle so we spent the night rolling into each other. During our stay we only visited the arcade and shop on site. Arcade was ok, dated but ok. The shop had the essentials but if you can't find what you need there is a nisa shop just outside the site. There is a nice little nature walk around the edge if the site to walk dogs, but to get to it you have to go up the very steep hill to the top of the site (if you have mobility issues state this before booking to ensure a caravan at the bottom of the site)
We had fish and chips from the chippy in Borth called the acorn, a little over priced but quite nice.
Aberystwyth is around a 10min drive away, small town with a beach and an arcade. Not a whole lot to do there either unless weather is nice. Overall I wouldn't stay again due to there not being a lot to do for us, nothing against brynowen though as the site itself is good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadeoakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Have just returned from a 3 night break- did a newspaper trip. Was a bronze caravan and good for what we paid - but would have liked the quilts a bit better - but cant say anything because we never mentioned it to those on site - we were only there for a few nights didn't think was worth it! Its in a great spot - near to the sea and to the local pubs - which we like to do!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank failteCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Brynowen Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Have just returned from a 3 night break- did a newspaper trip. Was a bronze caravan and good for what we paid - but would have liked the quilts a bit better - but cant say anything because we never mentioned it to those on site - we were only there for a few nights didn't think was worth it! Its in a great spot - near to the sea and to the local pubs - which we like to do!
Many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us.

I’m sorry to hear you had an issue with your quilts, but as you rightly commented if it had been brought to our attention, we would have happily resolved this for you.

We are in a fantastic location and we all appreciate the natural beauty and tranquillity of our surroundings.

We do hope to see you again soon in the future, please don’t hesitate to call us.

Brynowen Holiday Park
01970 871 366
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a 'premier booking' (not sure if this would be gold or platinum but we had a lovely new caravan, with en suite and heating) and for the price we paid have had basic standard of accomodation in other holiday parks.
The pool area could do with updating but is no worse than some other parks we have stayed at, the kids enjoyed an hour there.
The playground was great for my boys aged 5&7 and they enjoyed playing up there.
An ideal base for exploring that area of Wales.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reynoldsa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Brynowen Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Brynowen and I’m glad that you found your premier accommodation to be of a good standard.

We consider ourselves a fantastic base for exploring the wonderful local area. We do also have a lot to offer on site, which I’m delighted to read you made the most of.

We hope to see you again soon, please don’t hesitate to call.

Brynowen Holiday Park
01970 871 366
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST MIDLANDS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed here for three nights over May bank hol, paid £184 so not cheap cheap but not expensive. Caravan was one for limited mobility so was extra large and lovely and in great nick, in fact it's one of the best I have seen. if I am going to be picky it was clean but the cleaners hadn't bothered too look in the cupboards and there were possessions from previous visitors so anything could have been in there, also bizarrely there was no bin bag. They also hadn't bothered to remove a bed for the travel cot as we requested. The morning we left they also chucked the new sheets in the black bag on the ramp which would have been a real pain if u are wheelchair bound. This caravan was at the bottom of the hill near the arcade so was very noisy on the weekend nights but they can't expect people with limited mobility too walk up the hill. The bar was ok and food and staff were nice enough but the staff bar one of them weren't there Sunday morning when it opened so a lot of people got fed up and left. Site seemed nice enough, didn't use much if the entertainment but the arcade was fine. I have heard that people where in tears at the state of the bronze caravans though so be careful what you book. Parking isn't great here though - most of it is on a thin road so that could be improved. The caravans seem to be packed a bit like sardines so it can be noisy depending on who is next too you, overall the caravan won us but the noise will put us off visiting here again. Some nice things to do nearby if you drive, fantasy farm park is good for youngish kids and the animalarium is good for a few hours and Aberystwyth is a nice town. If you want too come here I suggest you come out of the peek weeks if you can as I'm sure it's quieter then and really check out your accommodation first, other than that it was a nice few days.

Room Tip: Check out your accommodation first, I've heard the cheaper caravans are awful but gold was lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDUNMORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park R, General Manager at Brynowen Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall you had a nice time.
I will be passing your message on to the accommodation team, so they can be reminded to check areas such as cupboards. I will also request that the cleaners do not block entrances with their bags.
Our bronze units have benefitted from a lot of investment recently. We have ensured a lot of time and money has been spent to get them to a good standard.
We are quieter during the off peak season dates but over the busier periods the park is bustling with activity. We do make sure that the entertainment schedule is always full of activities, regardless.
Thank you again for your review and we do hope to see you again!

Brynowen Holiday Park
01970 871 366
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
4.6 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
312 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
304 reviews
4.6 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Starling Cloud
The Starling Cloud
#17 of 36 in Aberystwyth
282 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Garden Cottage Guest House
The Garden Cottage Guest House
#27 of 36 in Aberystwyth
19 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cardigan Bay Guest House
Cardigan Bay Guest House
#13 of 36 in Aberystwyth
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brynowen Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brynowen Holiday Park

Property: Brynowen Holiday Park
Address: Brynowen Lane | Borth, Aberystwyth SY24 5LS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Brynowen Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brynowen Holiday Park - Park Hotel Aberystwyth
Brynowen Holiday Park Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing