We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service and standard of accommodation outdated and run-down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Llwynygog Guest House
Ranked #14 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor Service and standard of accommodation outdated and run-down”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed here for one night and was given a room in annexe - single non en-suite. Room was very drab to say the least. Nothing matched - green pillow cases, lumpy pillows stained, orange flower duver cover and I lifted up sheet and mattress was very old and worn and springs were quite clearly visable. No colour scheme in room and very basic. No table lamp, chest of drawers, glass, chair. Room contained a bed, bedside table - no use as no lamp! glass table with kettle, tea making stuff.

Check in was joke!!! owners not present - kids give me wrong room and were swearing as one could not find the keys. It does look like a student house and the shower and toilet were in dire need of an update.

Breakfast was appalling and quality and quantity was lacking if not absent to say the least. No service as such and a hot water urm to make yourself tea or coffee. Breakfast arrived on a side plate and consisted of 1 slice of bacon, spoon full of beans, 1 mushroom chopped into pieces, 1 well done egg, quarter of a tomatoe and fried bread, plus 2 small toast. Left to my own devices after owners dissappeared upstairs for a cuppa and chat in living room.

The best moment was CHECKING OUT but not parting with £34.00 over priced and everything lacking. Hotel Inspector would have a whole series devoted to sorting out this place. Very poor in terms ofcustomer service. Was none.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank debsfarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    20
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
10
34
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The owners were very pleasant and accommodating and the location was great.

Just a couple of minor things brought a smile to our faces :) We stayed in Room 1 - the toilet door had glass panels in it. Now that's fine for the couple who are quite comfortable with each other (luckily, we are) but if it was your first trip away with someone, could potentially be a tad awkward! The only mirror was in the bathroom which made drying your hair a tad tricky. Aside from that, it was great for a couple of days in Aberystwyth.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missy_Lady2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

it didn't start off too well. The owners phoned us the night before to check what time we were arriving. We said that we were using public transport and so it would be either 3 pm or 5 pm and were told that would be fine. But at 3 pm there's no one there and it was after 3.30 before anyone arrived.
We were shown to the annexe in the next street and were rather taken aback by the sheer shabbiness of the room. It looked like it had been a student house and that re-decoration had still got a long way to go. These are only minor points, but they all add up to a lack of care for the paying guest: no glasses in the room for water, tea and coffee provided, but no biscuits, thin old mattress, pillows that were as thin as welsh slate, an old sock left on the outside window sill. The website says tennis courts and bowling green to the rear of the house. We had an unkempt garden that hadn't been touched for years. We stayed 2 days. Our rubbish bin wasn't emptied, our cups weren't washed. The breakfast was adequate, but breakfast was laid with only one knife, with no spares available to put jam on your toast (perhaps to save on jam?). I don't mind places like this as long as the price reflects the standard of the accommodation, but this was the most expensive stay in our 12 days in Wales. In mitigation, i will say that they are a friendly family.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

As we are travelling around the UK, we have the chance to see and stay in many guesthouses and B&Bs all around. There is always: "you can get very big different level of service for just 50 pounds".
Here we stayed in the side house just across the street, was twin non en-suite, with water taps where you cant properly wash your hands, the light over the mirror didnt work, there were no bedside lights at all, coffee and tea is part of the facilities no need to talk about! Breakfast is in the main house, down in the basement. Walls are dirty(mouldy), selection of cheapest yogurths, cereals and jams, poor instant coffee, and cooked Welsh breakfast served on small plates doesnt look too great either - everything on the cheap. Place is a little bit run down, needs some refurbishment. Looks like money is not being put back into facilities. Or they just dont want. We payed 56,- which is too much for what we got.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyKa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

It was easy to find Llwynygog Guest House. Nice location, very near to the seaside and walking distance to the train station where we took the Vale of Rheidol steam train to Devil's Bridge (very scenic views). Our room was at the Annex building, not en-suite. It's a short walk from the main house - that wasn't a problem. The spacious room however, smelled musty. Cleanliness was just so so. The lady owner is friendly and was really kind to help keep our luggage till 3pm while we went for the return train ride. Breakfast was served at the main house - we had the full Welsh breakfast fare plus yoghurt and toast... not bad, kept us full till teatime. Except for the musty room, quite OK and value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lunarJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We booked in here without knowing anything about it as we had travelled down to Aberystwyth for a family emergency. The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming. There are en-suite rooms which cost slightly more and rooms with shared facilities although these have their own washbasins in the room. We were about 3 feet from the shower room and toilet so no worries about wandering great distances to use the facilities.
The rooms were clean and come with towels, tea and coffee making facilities, alarm clock and freeview tv. The hotel also has wifi. The location is quiet and our room looked onto the tennis courts. Parking is a bit of a problem as cars have to be moved by 9am otherwise you'll probably get a ticket! We managed to find a space just around the corner and the owner actually asked us if we were okay where we'd parked as he had spotted one across the road if we needed it.
Breakfast was laid out in the basement room which is actaully very bright and spacious. There was a selection of cereals, juice, croissants, jams, tea and coffee. There was also a full Welsh breakfast included in the price which consisted of bacon, sausage, beans, tomatoes, mushrooms, fried bread and fried egg. Vegetarians could have veggie sausages etc. It came with a round of toast too.
Altogether good value for money and very attentive staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kittymix666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maes-Y-Mor
Maes-Y-Mor
#6 of 36 in Aberystwyth
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llwynygog Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llwynygog Guest House

Property: Llwynygog Guest House
Address: 33 Queens Road, Aberystwyth SY23 2HN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Llwynygog Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llwynygog is a pet friendly 3-star guest house in a lovely part of Aberystwyth, just 2 minutes' walk from the beach and the many amenities of the town centre. The railway and coach stations are just a 5-minute walk away. Shops, clubs, supermarkets, pubs and a cinema are all within walking distance All rooms have central heating, Freeview, tea/coffee facilities and wi fi access. En suite and standard rooms are available. Llwynygog welcome families, singles, couples, pets and group bookings. It is set over 2 buildings opposit each other the annex has family rooms available on request , there is parking close by . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Llwynygog Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llwynygog Guest House Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing