We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory but should be better for what they are charging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Llwynygog Guest House
Ranked #17 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Adelaide Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Satisfactory but should be better for what they are charging”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I did stay in high season in August, but paid a hotel price for the stay. The room was musty and quite dated, and really the mattress was not all that comfortable. However it was all clean and there was a view from one of the windows of tennis courts and a hill. Breakfast was fairly ordinary, some fruit would have been nice. Friendly reception especially considering that their children were home on holidays, so they had plenty on their plate. The position of the house is excellent, a quick walk to the Railway Station, shops and beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    22
    19
    11
    7
See reviews for
12
35
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

2 minutes walk from the centre shopping street. 1 minute from the beach. 15 minutes from the university and 5-10 minutes from the hospital. Lovely family run guest house. Had everything we needed at an affordable price! Thanks Llwynygog.

Room Tip: Room 4. Biggest room in the house with nice big open windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

absolutely lovely! Llwynygog is always our first choice to stay, as we're always welcomed so warmly, theirs always somebody to greet us on arrival! Very clean, and very inviting from the gates!
The breakfast in the morning is always delicious, always catered to suit us!
Never had a bad experience, always consistently great!
Thank you Louise and Matt for always making us so welcome!

Room Tip: I advise to book In advance! such a lovely place it can fill up quickly so I advise to book nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xangelic_ayshx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Arrived earlier than expected,we were greeted by a differant lady as the proprietors were away for a week.
She was very helpful ,told where to park and recommended some nice places to eat in the town centre.
The room was clean and tidy ,we were walking distance from the beach,shops and restaurants.
We will return in September when we bring our son back to university.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We arrived at midday on Sunday, room wasn't ready, but we were offered the chance to leave our bags. When I declined saying we'd come back with our luggage, the lady seemed dismayed we were in a car, and even more so when I asked where we could park. Anyway, it turned out we could use the Health Centre car park for free though it was 100 yards away.
We returned after lunch, and was asked to pay immediately. I then found out breakfast was not included - at a guest house? The price of £60 for the room was now seeming rather excessive; out of the centre of town, small room, stuffy as the window would not open beyond 3". It was clean, and quite recently decorated, and the shower was good, but the "free bottles" were old and the writing had worn off. leaving us uncertain what we were using; shower gel or shampoo? It would have been better to have none at all. The towels were rather old and faded, and the bed was rather uncomfortable as the springs could be felt through the mattress. No hair-dryer either!
Next day, on leaving, there was no-one around and all the doors were shut, so we left the keys and departed .I am not sure if the lady I spoke to was the manager, and maybe I caught her on a bad day I did not receive a receipt, as the "roll" had run out. To be fair, there was a number to ring on the back of our room door, but as we were only there for one night, we did not complain at the time. A more personalised service would improve this place no end.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stayed at Llwynygog guest house last week. I have to say that in my opinion it is by far the BEST place to stay in Aberystwyth. The owners were very friendly and the atmosphere was very welcoming. My room was extremely clean, as were the bathrooms and hallways. The bed was very comfortable and it was by far the best nights sleep i have had in a long time. The breakfast was perfect and i would highly recommend Llwynygog Guest House to anyone visiting Aberystwyth.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We visit wales atleast twice a year and always book in for our next visit before we leave!!!its clean and comfortable and also very reasonable considering it is so close to the beach,shops and resturants the owners are lovely friendly peopleand make you feel very welcome

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeme68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
1.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cardigan Bay Guest House
Cardigan Bay Guest House
#12 of 36 in Aberystwyth
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maes-Y-Mor
Maes-Y-Mor
#6 of 36 in Aberystwyth
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glyn Garth Guest House
Glyn Garth Guest House
#3 of 36 in Aberystwyth
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llwynygog Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llwynygog Guest House

Property: Llwynygog Guest House
Address: 33 Queens Road, Aberystwyth SY23 2HN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Llwynygog Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llwynygog is a pet friendly 3-star guest house in a lovely part of Aberystwyth, just 2 minutes' walk from the beach and the many amenities of the town centre. The railway and coach stations are just a 5-minute walk away. Shops, clubs, supermarkets, pubs and a cinema are all within walking distance All rooms have central heating, Freeview, tea/coffee facilities and wi fi access. En suite and standard rooms are available. Llwynygog welcome families, singles, couples, pets and group bookings. It is set over 2 buildings opposit each other the annex has family rooms available on request , there is parking close by . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Llwynygog Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llwynygog Guest House Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing