We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful mediterranean taste and atmosphere”
Review of Casablanca

Casablanca
Ranked #3 of 150 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Le Casablanca has great, homemade fresh mediterranean cuisine which has never disappointed us in the years we have had meals there. We have have lovely, tasty, and unfussy North African couscous there, as well as Tagines, lovely vegetarian meals as well. You can bring your own wine, so this also makes the evening quite reasonably priced. Jo, the owner and chef, is always attentive to details and makes sure you are happy and having a good time. This personal touch adds to the homely, relaxed atmosphere which has made us go back again and again over the years.You'll eat very well, you'll be welcome, and you will feel that you've had a relaxing time with friendly people around you! Highly recommended.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A beautiful mediterranean taste and atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Having read my cousin's review (Delma) and not having been here before, we took 2 friends, who were visiting, for dinner on a Sunday night. The restaurant was very quiet, but it has a fabulous atmosphere. The owner was chef and waiter for the night, and he was very friendly and attentive. The food was superb - especially the humous! We all had tagines for our main course and the meat was 'melt in your mouth'. We left feeling very full, but had a great meal.
Remember to bring your own wine.
Our friends loved it too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gary-coedfryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    87
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Aberystwyth Institution”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Whilst other restaurants have come and gone, or changed hands and reinvented themselves, Casablanca is reassuringly familiar for its great food, friendly service and intimate atmosphere. The best place to eat out in Aber!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to review the Casablanca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We ate at Casablanca on 25 May 2014 during a short break in Aberystwyth, having discovered it during another break in August 2013. The quality of the food is outstanding, yet it is very reasonably priced. Joe, who seems to be both owner and chef, is very friendly and extremely conscientious towards his customers, for example regularly checking that they're happy with their meals, which of course they always are. Service is friendly and prompt. The eating area is cosy and pleasant, and despite being almost full when we were there it was easy to hold a conversation, which is not the case with other restaurants nearby. The restaurant doesn't have an alcohol licence, so if you wish to drink you have to bring your own supply, which is fine. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this restaurant to others.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank A_Wild_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, Tasty, Great for Special Occasion”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Been here a couple of times, and time and time again really enjoyed the night. Situated on one of Aber's backstreets it could easily be missed, but inside is a cozy and welcoming restaurant with a great simple menu with something for everyone. I would recommend the Kofta Meatballs and make sure you try each of the three sauces that come with the food, they compliment everything extremely well. BYOB makes for a cheap experience overall, as the prices are not over the top!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luckins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Still the best!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

It must be going on 20 years that we have been eating at Joe's - sorry 'Casablanca. So many restaurants try very hard at the beginning and get a good rep and reviews, then the standards slip and the main chef leaves or cuts his hours... That is not how Joe works. His menu hasn't changed a lot over the years but he what has changed is not whimsical or fancy additions but new dishes that Joe knows he can cook every evening to his own exacting standards. Tonight I had the Lamb shank with prunes tagine for the first time (I am normally addicted to his superb steaks), it was fantastic, the sweetness of the prunes complementing the 'drop from the bone' slow cooked lamb, and as always served with his trademark; great rice and a crisp salad. Thanks Joe.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dunecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casablanca also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing