We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food nice owner.”
Review of Casablanca

Casablanca
Ranked #2 of 155 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Le Casablanca has great, homemade fresh mediterranean cuisine which has never disappointed us in the years we have had meals there. We have have lovely, tasty, and unfussy North African couscous there, as well as Tagines, lovely vegetarian meals as well. You can bring your own wine, so this also makes the evening quite reasonably priced. Jo, the owner and chef, is always attentive to details and makes sure you are happy and having a good time. This personal touch adds to the homely, relaxed atmosphere which has made us go back again and again over the years.You'll eat very well, you'll be welcome, and you will feel that you've had a relaxing time with friendly people around you! Highly recommended.
Reviewed 11 June 2014

After travelling for some time we were sick of the same old pub food. Found this place from Tripadviser and it proved to be just what all the reviews said. Really good food and boy as we'll.

1  Thank bruce_mac_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Many thanks, glad you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 415 of 694 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ate here recently with my wife daughter and her friend. There is no licence so bring your own. Staff are very attentive and easy going the chef also came out and chatted with us checking on food etc. we all had starters main and sweet. The mains we all have a different Terrine and all four were very good. The atmosphere is just right. I would have gone for excellent but the overall cost was just a little too high for me if you are a student don't let that put you off just get your parents to take you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Went there as two couples for a early evening meal, enjoyed the food which was extremely fresh and tasty, i was a little disappointed with the Borak starter (small portion) but my main and afters were excellent. I tasted my wifes Tiger Prawn starter and it wa beautiful. The owner is a very pleasant and helpful gentleman and the staff were pleasent.
My only criticism is that the food in my opinion is a little over priced, the starters and afters in particular, cost per head for a 3 course meal would be £25. However it would be unfair to mention that you can take your own drink, soft or alcoholic, for no charge. I would say it is an ideal setting for a small group and had a very homely personal feel. If your making a bit of a night of it, opening a couple of bottles of wine or a beer or two before moving on, then the value is then excellent and i would give it the extra star.

Make sure you have money, they don't take cards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Geraint E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Having read my cousin's review (Delma) and not having been here before, we took 2 friends, who were visiting, for dinner on a Sunday night. The restaurant was very quiet, but it has a fabulous atmosphere. The owner was chef and waiter for the night, and he was very friendly and attentive. The food was superb - especially the humous! We all had tagines for our main course and the meat was 'melt in your mouth'. We left feeling very full, but had a great meal.
Remember to bring your own wine.
Our friends loved it too!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gary-coedfryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Whilst other restaurants have come and gone, or changed hands and reinvented themselves, Casablanca is reassuringly familiar for its great food, friendly service and intimate atmosphere. The best place to eat out in Aber!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Casablanca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casablanca also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing