We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious healthy food and warm friendly welcome at Casablanca” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casablanca

Casablanca
Ranked #3 of 148 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Le Casablanca has great, homemade fresh mediterranean cuisine which has never disappointed us in the years we have had meals there. We have have lovely, tasty, and unfussy North African couscous there, as well as Tagines, lovely vegetarian meals as well. You can bring your own wine, so this also makes the evening quite reasonably priced. Jo, the owner and chef, is always attentive to details and makes sure you are happy and having a good time. This personal touch adds to the homely, relaxed atmosphere which has made us go back again and again over the years.You'll eat very well, you'll be welcome, and you will feel that you've had a relaxing time with friendly people around you! Highly recommended.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious healthy food and warm friendly welcome at Casablanca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We hadn't found this wonderful Aberystwyth restaurant tucked away just behind the seafront area until recently and can't believe we missed it! Delicious wholesome Mediterranean style food freshly prepared in the kitchen by the owner. Never seen it advertised - he relies on personal recommendation. Book ahead, bring your own wine and be prepared to pay cash. So good - not to be missed. We'll be regulars.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glynandtonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    85
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Basic, but acceptable food and reasonably priced. Waiter / Owner seems to have a problem with women enjoying themselves, kept asking us to be quiet when we weren't being that loud.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MasterMister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Would have loved to hear from you then and there i.e March not five months later !!! I never ask people to be quiet but do remind some of their obligations towards other clients, especially when they drank and have no table manners. Thank you again. Joe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Alright for what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I dined at Le Casablanca for a friend's birthday and the decor of the room was a good display and appeared very clean.

The food was above average, but not as good as some Moroccan restaurants that I have been to. The owner who was in the kitchen was very attentive, but the waitresses could have been more clued up on the menu.

I was glad to see the stewed meals were served properly (in tajines, that is) and the rice was well cooked.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BallroomBlitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Many thanks for your review . We take all points of view seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taliesin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Me and my husband had our first date here and the food and service is as good now as it was then ... Love this place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat_yfoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Many thanks for your review .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent food, lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We came here for a family meal out. We received a warm welcome from both the lovely waitresses and the very friendly chef. The menu is quite small, but everything on it is delicious and beautifully done. We all ordered tagines, they came with a lovely salad and rice and then individual tagines in traditional pots. The food was delicious and very tasty. Because it is a bring your own alcohol restaurant, it brings the price of the meal down to a very reasonable one. We also had lovely home-made traditional baklava with ice-cream for pudding. Overall a wonderful experience and such lovely friendly staff! Would definitely go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 123AliceK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodofthesun, Owner at Casablanca, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Many thanks for your review .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casablanca also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing