We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but quality has declined since 2010” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shilam Indian Restaurant

Shilam Indian Restaurant
Ranked #73 of 148 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Good but quality has declined since 2010”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

It was interesting to compare this Indian restaurant from our last visit in August 2010. The portions are smaller, the rice portion very small, the dining area is now more dirty than before - our seats were so stained from food I needed to put a serviette on the seat before sitting down! The service was rushed and a bit ragged. However, despite all this, the food itself is still of good quality, but to counter this the price is a bit steep. Overall, just about acceptable. Compared to most other Indian restaurants no, but for Aberystwyth it'll probably do, as the venues for eating any food in Aber are not great. Since it's located in the train station, it may be best to jump on the train and try elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank golfingmad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    44
    33
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rip-Off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Do not even think of ordering a take away from the Shilam in Aberystwyth. £30.00 later and we were still hungry!

We ordered our meal and were told to collect in 30 minutes. When we arrived the bag was on the counter awaiting collection. At the time we were pleased as it did not entail having to wait.

When we arrived home which is no more than a two minute walk from the restaurant we immediately proceeded to serve the contents. The chips were missing (not the first time - last visit it was one of the main meals), two of the main meal cartons were only half full and the other three quarters filled, meal was only just warm (chicken was cold in the meal and must have been added at the end) and meals required microwaving (they had obviously been standing on the counter for quite some time. ?The meat content in each of the three dishes was the least I have ever seen (four half inch pieces of chicken for each carton!) a onion bhaji starter which consisted of four bhaji's which were only slightly larger than a large marble, chutney's which are usually three decently filled pots, which this time were two half filled pots and finally no complimentary salad which is usually supplied.

In my opinion £30.00 is a rip-off for basically rice and sauce and we certainly will not be using the Shilam again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We took my daughter hereto celebrate her 21st, she chose the place and the food was lovely, well cooked and extremely tasty would definitely go there again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very fresh and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Ordered a takeaway for a party of 7 and collected on time.
Everyone was very happy with the dishes they ordered and we all felt it was good value at about £10pp including half a nann each.
This place serves food that is very fresh and clean compared to some indian restaurants and the flavour was good.
My only negative is that I ordered a Jalfrezi but I've had it much hotter in other places,more hot spice required!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank josephcave86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious although not quite as hot as I would like”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have been here a few times and each time the food has been delicious. Service was good and friendly and prices reasonable. I do like a hot curry and asked for mine to be made extra hot, however it was fairly mild. This did not however detract from a delicious meal, I just know to let them know I'm serious next time when I ask for a hot curry.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mattdale77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shilam Indian Restaurant also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Shilam Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing