We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice take away on our first night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Borth Tandoori

Borth Tandoori
Ranked #55 of 147 Restaurants in Aberystwyth
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice take away on our first night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

The food was freshly made and tasted good. Although the food was take away it came from the main menu restaurant so it was a liitle more expensive than ordering from your typical indian take away place. We never ate in however each night we walked by it was busy.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank babscj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    48
    15
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Slowest service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Myself & two friends booked a table for 8.45pm one night over the August Bank Holiday weekend. We were about 5 minutes late, but needn't have worried as our reserved table was still occupied due to the previous party's meal overunning. It was some time before we were seated at our own table and taking our order took even longer. Then came the long wait. Having had our hopes built up when the waiter brought us some plates and then took them away again, because they were meant for a table of six who arrived after us, we eventually received our meal one and a half hours after entering the establishment (and we only ordered main courses). Curries were acceptable (nothing special). The lady in our party was not impressed with the loos, especially lack of toilet paper. Don't think we'll be going back there.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible, dirty, poor/rude service, chipped plates, cold food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Please think twice before visiting here. There is one shared male/female toilet, no soap or hot water to wash. Five of us were placed in the window table (designed for 4) so cramped up with no room for your legs, or your food. I asked to move to a bigger table, all i got was a sour face and rolling eyes from the owner (disgruntled). The food then arrived and my plate and my daughters plate were cracked/chipped. I asked for them to please chang them, I go no apology, again just rolling eyes and made clearly to feel that I was a nuisance complaining. The food was cold. TheI Rogan josh tasted watery and sugary. We left the restaurant leaving no tip for service. All my family spent the following day with S&D. This place is a health hazard. Also they do not accept credit or debit card.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Appearances deceptive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

Better than you'd expect from the low grade exterior.
Seems to have its regulars with degree of rapport. Has changed management 2011 and apparently much improved.
Food is fresh but consistently sugary. Prices reasonable and decent portions.
Does not accept cards. Limited drink selection. Does takeaway.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roland C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Back to its former quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

The Borth Tandoori had gone down hill in the summer of last year - the chef had changed and the meals had become very poor quality with no differentiation between dishes. However, they closed down this winter and re-opened at Easter, so we tried it out again. I'm really pleased to say it is back to where it was, which is excellent. The food is superb, really flavoursome with tender meat. As locals we used to eat or take away from here 2 to 3 times a month, and I'm sure we will be doing the same again, which is great, as I was really missing my local curries!
Note: this is a bring your own booze place (which helps keep you bill down!)

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gary-coedfryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Borth Tandoori also viewed

Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 
Borth, Ceredigion
Borth, Ceredigion
 

Been to Borth Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing