We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended-Hidden treasure!”
Review of Maes-Y-Mor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maes-Y-Mor
Ranked #6 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Arrived late Monday afternoon and was a little apprehensive as never stayed at a hostel before, but was amazed at the great location (round the corner from the beach).
Rooms are very well furnished, clean, with very good facilities... they were cleaned every day, beds made and clean towels provided.
Bathroom and kitchen were very clean and well equipped and even though there we a few people around very accessible.
Very friendly landlady..
Would very much recommend for singles, couples, or small family.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

Have now stayed here twice and will do so agin next time we head this way. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms last year, right next to the bathroom. And this time, two weeks ago, we stayed in the downstairs family room, which is en-suite. Lovely furnished rooms, clean, warm, comfy beds and friendly landlady. A real budget gem! I much rather have the kitchen fascilities than the pay over the top for the added B&B breakfast. And it's just around the corner from the sea! I would recommend this to anyone visiting Aberystwyth!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverwitch71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Had a great 3 night stay in Maes Y Mor - great rooms, friendly service from both the owners and staff. Really comfortable beds, shared kitchen with everything you need in it, really close to the sea (a minutes walk away just round the corner), local shops just up the road, good free wifi in every room. All this for a bargain price - highly recommended if your travelling to Aberystwyth and looking for somewhere with good quality rooms at a great price to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Echorocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I would recommend this place to anyone, the location is wonderful, just 10 seconds from the beach and the lady who runs the hostel is very friendly and helpful. It was exceptionally clean and the facilities were excellent. Also very good value for money. I couldn't have asked for a better place and feel very lucky to have found it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed in Mae-Y-Mor for work commitments. I have never experienced such a miserable time of my life.
The land lady was the rudest woman I have ever met. She was not welcoming and made my time there very uncomfortable.
The kitchen facilities were not up to scratch and at times the oven and cooker did not work.
It was very loud and noises from people outside kept me up. I came back from work one morning to find blood and vomit all over the banister and landing and two drunk boys outside my door. How frightening.
The only positive was how clean it was and the cleaner was very welcoming and caring. However I would not advise this to anyone and if you are planning to stay here, then good luck.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shphillips1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I have now stayed at Maes-Y-Mor twice. The first time was an overnight stop when cycling around Wales and I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation - I would describe this as a "boutique" hostel, it is lovely and exceptional value for money.

Having been so impressed with the accommodation and in need of a bargain get away for Christmas, I booked myself and my partner in for 4 nights over Christmas 2011. We had a great time - the kitchen facilities are so good we had no problem making our Christmas dinner (beef wellington followed by steamed pudding).

Both the rooms we have stayed in were well furnished and for a hostel this really does deliever over and above expectations whilst being cheaper than many other hostels that provide less. The owner could not be more helpful and accommodating.

I'm sure we'll be going back and would certainly recommend others give this place a try, especially if you are new to hostelling and not sure about trying it due to the horror stories you may have heard from others. This really is only a hostel in terms of price tag and the fact it is self catering with a communal kitchen, other than that it is the standard you would expect of a good family run hotel.

We're not normally ones to socialise with other guests but met a couple of other cyclists on our first stay and enjoyed swopping stories with them over dinner in the kitchen. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Extremekula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This is great accommodation in this price range as stated by previous reviewers, nicely furnished rooms, really very comfortable beds, very clean, helpful staff. The location is brilliant. There is also a small very clean kitchen and fridge that guests can use during their stay. Our stay was for 2 nights and we had stayed previously in the ground floor room which was excellent and did not have the door banging problem that we experienced on this stay.

The noise from the doors slamming carries through the whole property from both floors of accommodation, so every time a guest goes in/out of their room this reverbrated up to our room. We were there for a peaceful break so our sleep during the night was interrupted by the late returners/early risers. Also during times in the day when we returned to our room for some quiet time the door slamming disturbed us a fair bit. There are notices asking guests to not slam doors however you have to be pretty quick to catch the door before it bangs shut, if something could be done about this then it would be a fantastic facility for visitors to Aber. This is the only reason we have scored 'average' otherwise it would be 'very good', if you're a heavy sleeper of this sort of noise wouldn't bother you you will be fine.

Room Tip: Ground floor room that sleeps up to 4 (and small en-suite) was perfectly quiet when we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Celtic Bay Guest House
Celtic Bay Guest House
#17 of 36 in Aberystwyth
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bodalwyn Guest House
Bodalwyn Guest House
#5 of 36 in Aberystwyth
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cardigan Bay Guest House
Cardigan Bay Guest House
#11 of 36 in Aberystwyth
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes-Y-Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes-Y-Mor

Address: 25 Bath Street, Aberystwyth SY23 2NN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £48 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maes-Y-Mor 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maes y Mor hostel is situated in the heart of Aberystwyth, close to the beach, with access to the promenade just around the corner. We have excellent access to transport facilities, with the bus and train station just 400 metres away. We offer superior accommodation at budget prices, with free Wi-Fi, parking and laundrette facilities. A lock up shed is also available for bicycles. A warm Welsh welcome guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maes-Y-Mor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maes-Y-Mor Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing