We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Maes-Y-Mor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maes-Y-Mor
Ranked #6 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I used to live in Aber and picked this place to stay for a friend's wedding as I new the location well: a perfect stone's through from the promenade really, but for a fraction of the price that the pretty average hotels on the seafront actually charge. Can't fault the price at all. Maes-Y-Mor is very clean and very practical, beds were very comfortable, amenities are perfectly fine, including free WIFI and parking. Still, you get what you pay for, don't expect a 4-star hotel! Would stay again as is very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liansian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    29
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
38
41
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Maes-y-Mor is a nice and clean guest house just around the corner of the beach. Our room was clean and looked as it was newly refurbished recently. The bathroom was clean too and I really liked the stool in there. We had in the attic and it was quite hot. The cinema next door can be heard but is not loud enough to disturb one's sleep. The kitchen was clean and well equiped too.
On the whole it was a nice place but I don't know if I would stay there again as the landlady was a bit unfriendly. She was hardly there and I had the feeling that she didn't really care about anything as long as she gets the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank insel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
159peggy, Owner at Maes-Y-Mor, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for your review. We are open from 8am to 10pm 7 days a week, and always answer the phone 24hour . I am not at the hostel all that time as I am on call and will be there in 5 minutes.
I try my best and keep the cost down for the customer so we we manage on small staffing. I always tell the guest if arrving to phone me or text me or I will meet them if I know the time.
I was shocked that you thought I was unfriendly as I always make conversation to all guests and always will help if needed, I even collect guests from the train Station.
I do ask for payment on arrival if staying for 1 night , and I will confirm this with guest if booking by email. I have never felt this a problem with guests ,,
I am glad you thought the room was clean as I do take lot of pride in the place, despite the place is buget Accommodatio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
154 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I have stayed here quite a few times as well as my fiance and my mum. It is the best value for money from all the hotels in Aberystwyth. Very clean and comfortable. The only thing is that you have to share the bathroom but when you are out and about all day that is not a problem. Very good location too and helpful lady owner.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izzy7980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is the second time my daughter and I have stayed here for a getaway few days and we love it. The owner and her staff are really friendly, the whole place is lovely and clean and we were able to make full use of the kitchen for our meals.
The house is literally around the corner from the beach and a few minutes walk from all the amenities of the town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tenby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Comfortable, clean,very well equipped basic accomodation; in walking distance of sea and shops. Excellent value for money.Owner very helpful and accomodating.

Room Tip: We had the family room on the ground floor so had our own toilet and shower.It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marjorie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Arrived late Monday afternoon and was a little apprehensive as never stayed at a hostel before, but was amazed at the great location (round the corner from the beach).
Rooms are very well furnished, clean, with very good facilities... they were cleaned every day, beds made and clean towels provided.
Bathroom and kitchen were very clean and well equipped and even though there we a few people around very accessible.
Very friendly landlady..
Would very much recommend for singles, couples, or small family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Have now stayed here twice and will do so agin next time we head this way. We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms last year, right next to the bathroom. And this time, two weeks ago, we stayed in the downstairs family room, which is en-suite. Lovely furnished rooms, clean, warm, comfy beds and friendly landlady. A real budget gem! I much rather have the kitchen fascilities than the pay over the top for the added B&B breakfast. And it's just around the corner from the sea! I would recommend this to anyone visiting Aberystwyth!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverwitch71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
419 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cardigan Bay Guest House
Cardigan Bay Guest House
#13 of 36 in Aberystwyth
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes-Y-Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes-Y-Mor

Property: Maes-Y-Mor
Address: 25 Bath Street, Aberystwyth SY23 2NN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maes-Y-Mor 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maes y Mor hostel is situated in the heart of Aberystwyth, close to the beach, with access to the promenade just around the corner. We have excellent access to transport facilities, with the bus and train station just 400 metres away. We offer superior accommodation at budget prices, with free Wi-Fi, parking and laundrette facilities. A lock up shed is also available for bicycles. A warm Welsh welcome guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Maes-Y-Mor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maes-Y-Mor Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing