We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maes-Y-Mor
Nearby Hotels
Harry's Hotel(Aberystwyth)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Plas Antaron Hotel(Aberystwyth)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Conrah Hotel(Aberystwyth)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Richmond Hotel(Aberystwyth)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
140
31
8
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
31
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared kitchenwell equipped kitchenyour disposaladjoining houselaundry facilitiesself cateringseafront apartmentsea frontcooking equipmentbeautiful apartmentlady who runsother guestsfacilities are excellentcomfortable bedperfect locationdecorated to a very high standarda real home from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed at Maes-y-Mor for four days to finish a dissertation and to hand it in. I knew lots of people to stay with in Aber, but as it was freshers week decided I'd rather have my own space than be on a sofa! I was looking for somewhere on a budget and Maes y Mor was perfect at only £28 a night. The room was so clean, lovely and smart with a very, very cosy comfy bed, and I would have happily paid more! Although there's no breakfast included there is a VERY well equipped kitchen which is also very clean. Sharing a bathroom was no problem as there is one on each floor and again was very clean and tidy. For my needs I had a good night's sleep each night and being so central it was very easy to get about town and to campus- I was worried there might be a bit of noise at night due to students being back, but I didn't hear a thing. Very good stay, very impressed,will definitely stay again and will be recommending to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Aber :) Diolch yn Fawr!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhoces1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have now stayed at Maes-Y-Mor twice and been pleasantly surprised both times by the quality of the experience. I would advise guest perturbed by the 'hostel' title to ignore any concerns and give Maes-Y-Mor a chance because it really is brilliant.

We have stayed both times in the separate apartment which is like a wonderful little hobbit-hole! Beautiful decor, fantastically furnished and everything provided for. Big fluffy towels in the modern bathroom, crisp clean bedding in the big bedroom and a lovely fireplace in the comfortable living area. The kitchen area is well equipped and the bedroom has plenty of storage - what more could you ask for? Mererid is so helpful, attentive and accommodating, too.

Thank you Maes-Y-Mor for two excellent stays and for surpassing our expectations at every turn, looking forward to our next visit already!

Room Tip: Ask about the beautiful apartment!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I've been running a mountain bike holiday (www.chase2coast.co.uk) for the last 3 years and have just returned back from our 4th stay (ran the holiday twice this year).

The holiday finishes on the sea front after 4 days of hard riding. When I originally found Maes-Y-Mor, my requirements were;

: Near to the seafront to avoid the riders having to ride away from the beach once finished
: Secure storage for the bikes
: Kitchen to allow my guests to be able to use the food included on the holiday
: Space for a coach pickup the next day (bikes to be loaded too)

Maes-Y-Mor meets all of these requirements.

The rooms have a very high standard with tea/coffee, TV, Wifi and very comfy beds.

Although right near the front and near to all the bars, it's in a very quiet location should you be looking for a quiet night.

The owner is very welcoming and flexible to all our requirements.

We will be back again and again and again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I booked Maes Y Mor for one night on the 3rd August 2013. It was a friends stag do so we had arranged an activity day at Llain Activity Centre and needed somewhere to stay for the night. We had planned to go for a few drinks as well and this hotel was in the perfect location in the centre of town.

Before our stay the owners communication was excellent. Calling a week before to confirm our stay. We checked in quite late about 5pm. The house was perfect for what we needed. There was 8 of us and we were given 4 twin rooms at a very reasonable rate. Our rooms were on the same floor with a shared bathroom. There was also a kitchen/dining area down the hall. All 4 rooms were spotlessly clean and decorated well with great amenities which included clean towels, soap, tea/coffee facilities and tv.

The owner Mererid was lovely and happy to have a chat when we checked in. She was very accommodating of an all male group as some hotels are often reluctant to let stag parties stay the night.

After a fantastic nights sleep in a VERY comfortable bed check out was at a welcoming time of 11am.

Highly recommended and I will hopefully stay again if I need to stay in Aberystwyth.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
159peggy, Owner at Maes-Y-Mor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you for your review , so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Recently arranged a long weekend in Aber with a group of friends and Maes-y-Mor was perfect for our requirements. 3 of us stayed in the en-suite family room with the rest of the group in other rooms - we were all really impressed with the quality, comfort and cleanliness of our rooms, particularly as it was so cheap! On top of that, the location was great - 60 seconds walk from the seafront but also handy for shops, pubs, restaurants in town. Finally, Mererid the owner was fantastic - really helpful and very friendly too. I would recommend Maes-y-Mor to anybody, regardless of budget!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielVA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews