We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place”
Review of Maes-Y-Mor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maes-Y-Mor
Ranked #6 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fab place”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have stayed here 3 time now and can recommend it. It is in a fantastic location. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean and tidy. I also have stayed in the house which sleeps 7 and it is amazing. So much so I was wanting to alter my furniture and decor when I got home. The kitchen is fully stocked with utensils and a dishwasher so if you want to eat in it would be no problem. I will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    29
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
43
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

myself and my four children stayed at their apartment the place was absolutely spotless and had all mod cons staff very helpful.great showers four bath rooms full kitchen
recommend for a stay
thanks again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed here in April as part of a group of students as we had a conference at the university in the day. The hotel was genuinely lovely, really cute building, staff were really friendly! The room was beautiful, the decoration was very modern and the room was very spacious (myself and my friend stayed in room 2, at the front of the building). Plenty of space and the beds were very comfortable. There was one communal bathroom on each floor (we shared with six other girls). This was not a problem for us because we all knew each other, however I am not sure how I would feel about sharing a bathroom with strangers. We went out in Aberystwyth in the night and we had an amazing time! The communal kitchen was of a good size, and although we didn't use it we were impressed. Overall highly recommended, will definitely stay here again! Also recommend Aberystwyth nightlife!

Room Tip: Bigger rooms are at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Myself and 10 other Psychology students stayed over night on 26/4/2014 due to us attending a conference at Aberystwyth University. I was extremely impressed with both the friendly staff and the quality of the room. Considering the rooms were very modestly priced I can honestly say that I could not fault them. Overall an very enjoyable stay and I would definately come and stay here again. Thanks Mererid :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25Joe_Leo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Have just got back from a 3 night stay at Maes y Mor, and it was great, central, and very clean. The beds were really comfortable and I was very impressed with the standard of the fixtures, and at a great price too! Having somewhere to park off the road was an added bonus. The booking process was very easy, and Mererid replied very quickly to e-mails. Would definitely stay again when in Aberystwyth!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in the family room downstairs. I had booked a double room with a shared bathroom but we were put in this room as that room was taken. It was lovely to have an upgrade to a room with a bathroom in it. The room was very big with a lovely comfortable double bed which we slept in, and two single beds which were handy for our things! It was a little dark as it was on the ground floor, but we only used it really for sleeping so that was fine. Kettle and coffee etc in the room was useful, and the shower was fine. We were greeted in a lovely friendly manner and had everything we needed. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineElizabeth80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here a few years back in an upstairs double and booked again as was a very pleasant experience. However this time around the landlady "upgraded us" to the downstairs family room which was almost pitch black - tiny window letting in light at the back of a long cold room next to the front door. Apparently an upgrade due to the en suite shower, again cold and dark. We weren't given a choice in this upgrade. So unhappy I could have cried. Also they had photographers there at the time who requested we partook in a video for the website, which was ironic as we were just coming back to pick up our stuff having found somewhere else to stay. Didn't stay the night - room was too depressing. Found somewhere else and snuck out, having paid for the pleasure.

Room Tip: For the love of God, not downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lowri_Bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
473 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glyn Garth Guest House
Glyn Garth Guest House
#3 of 36 in Aberystwyth
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes-Y-Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes-Y-Mor

Property: Maes-Y-Mor
Address: 25 Bath Street, Aberystwyth SY23 2NN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maes-Y-Mor 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maes y Mor hostel is situated in the heart of Aberystwyth, close to the beach, with access to the promenade just around the corner. We have excellent access to transport facilities, with the bus and train station just 400 metres away. We offer superior accommodation at budget prices, with free Wi-Fi, parking and laundrette facilities. A lock up shed is also available for bicycles. A warm Welsh welcome guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Maes-Y-Mor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maes-Y-Mor Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing