We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National Library of Wales”

National Library of Wales
Ranked #5 of 33 things to do in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“National Library of Wales”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a beautiful building which my husband and I go to research family history, which is excellent. The Welsh security guards are friendly, but it does seem to be more for the welsh speaker, so it can be a bit off putting for welsh people or other nationalities who have none or limited knowledge of the language. Other facilities seem to be limited for the average visitor, but it is The National Library and not the British Museum so is not set up for entertainment.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    30
    5
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a waste!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Great location with what must be fantastic resources: copies of every book printed in Wales, historical documents going back centuries, staff for Africa and yet for the average visitor there's rarely anything to see. Popular culture or things of interest to the general public are just not on show.Once in a while there might be something like the footballer John Charles' exhibition but that's a rarity. God knows how much this mausoleum costs the Welsh taxpayer but they are not getting value for money.Somehow I don't think this worries the people who run the National Library one bit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank E15man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not much to see”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I understand it is a very important library and has a lot of things if you are a researcher but it is not an interesting place for tourists - there is not much to see here. Important manuscripts as the "Black Book" are only occasionally available.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLlanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“it was a rainy day...but no fun there”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

it was a most unfriendly atmosphere... not much of interest to see... I was expecting to see lots of old books and historical items... but apart from a small display of geneology and another about a Welsh poet I found it most disappointing... and the staff all went around chatting in Welsh and with their noses in the air!!... I hope someone there reads this and pulls their finger out to make it a more friendly and inviting experience for everyone... and I am Welsh but English speaking only

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yourapal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What an amazing place!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The building is fantastic, but it is the contents that are truly amazing. I was doing some family history research on my visit. The Library holds all sorts of documents that can help you add details to the family story. I never did get a handle on how to search for things in the catalogue, but the staff are wonderful, patiently answering questions and helping one to find useful resources.
You need a reader's card to access these resources, but that is easily obtained. There is a cafe if you can tear yourself away for a break and there is a nice gift shop and a number of interesting exhibitions.
Nowadays, more and more is availalbe online, but there is still plenty that isn't and it was fantastic to be able to consult these resources.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolynMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Library of Wales also viewed

 
Aberystwyth, Ceredigion
 

Been to National Library of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing