We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberystwyth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yr Hafod Guest House
Ranked #7 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed at Yr Hafod for five nights as a base for walking the Ceredigion coast path using the local bus services,what a great decision it was.
John was a very friendly and amiable host the room was spotless and the breakfast was excellent also a great location at a quieter end of the promenade.
Thanks again John.

Brian Waller

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

First time at this guesthouse and no complaints at all. Spotless rooms, fantastic shower and great breakfast. If we had been on 'four in a bed ' programme, John we would have paid the full price! Thankyou Julie and Mal

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This was our second visit to Yr Hafod and we were not disappointed! A warm, relaxed welcome, clean and cosy room with a lovely room, spotlessly clean, good location and a tasty breakfast. What more do you need??
We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chanceymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My wife and I picked this place more or less at random at the Tourist Information Office for an impromptu night in Aberystwyth. Yr Hafod is towards the harbour end of the Promenade - it's a great location for a walk along the front but a bit of a hike from the town centre.

We got room 6 for £80 B&B. They don't take cards so it's cash or cheque. Our room had a big bay window with a couple of comfortable chairs to take in the uninterrupted view across Cardigan Bay. The bed was comfortable enough and there was adequate hanging space for a couple of days worth of clothes. There was a tiny en-suite with a pretty hopeless shower - the usual trade-off between flow rate and warmth but never both at the same time. For some reason the en-suite door is fully glazed with barely obscure glass and the toilet is directly opposite about two feet away - so unless you are gazing out of the window at the sea you have the virtually unhindered view of your spouse sitting on the pot! This is a level of intimacy that you may be comfortable with but we found it a little peculiar.

Breakfast is narrowly available between 0800 & 0900 - you are also expected to place your order the night before, which seems another unnecessary limitation. While we were eating our cereal our host berated an elderly gentleman at the only other occupied table for ordering a 'full English breakfast' - reminding him that in Wales it's a 'full Welsh breakfast'. On hearing this I was looking forward to the traditional home-cured bacon, laverbread, cockles etc - we were disappointed to be presented with a modest plate of a lukewarm sausage, under-cooked bacon, an egg and half a warm tomato. I hope the English guests didn't go away with the idea that this is the best we can do in Wales!

At check out the host, presumably John, trousered the cash without bothering to ask me whether everything had been OK.

As every second property in Aberystwyth seems to be a B&B I suppose the prices must be self-regulating so maybe £80 is the going rate but in terms of value we found this to be particularly poor. Having said that this property is towards the top of the poularity list on Tripadvisor so perhaps this passes for the norm in Aberystwyth.

Room Tip: You might as well get a room at the front to enjoy the view as this is the only distinguishing featu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Muckypots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnyrhafod, Owner at Yr Hafod Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

I found this review to be very unfair and mostly inaccurate!

Value 2/5
We try to keep our prices competitive by eliminating unnecessary costs such as credit card transaction charges. Compared to some seafront guesthouses charging £135 per night I would suggest that £80 per night for a double en-suite room with sea view inclusive of a full cooked breakfast is a fair and reasonable charge.
Location 3/5
Positioned directly on the sea front and only a 5 min walk to the town centre would appear to be an ideal location. This review described the walk to the town centre as “a bit of a hike” which is misleading.
Sleep Quality 3/5
This bedroom has a bed with a quality memory foam mattress and pillows, Acoustilay 15 soundproofing underlay, a hardwood bay window with acoustic double glazing and quality black out curtains. It is a pity this customer did not appreciate the efforts we have made to improve the sleep quality for our guests.
Room 2/5
Yes, there was a problem with the Mira electric shower in room no.6 that we were unaware of. A subsequent guest took the trouble to inform us of this problem and this unit was replaced immediately.
The purpose of the frosted glass in the shower room door is to allow natural daylight into the room. It was not intended to encourage voyeurism.
This room has a large built in wardrobe that is over 1.2m wide and has 16 quality wooden hangers. The review description that there was only “adequate hanging space for a couple of days worth of clothes” might be accurate for Elizabeth Taylor or Joan Collins!
This room was redecorated and upgraded in March 2012. It has quality Philips Eco light fittings, stainless steel light switches and sockets, a new quality wool carpet and a 3D Panasonic 32” HD TV.
Cleanliness 3/5
Professional AA Inspectors have consistently rated our guesthouse 4 Star with high marks for cleanliness. Comments written by guests in our visitor book agree with their verdict.
Service 3/5
The review described our cooked Welsh breakfast as “modest” but it failed to list the complete contents of our breakfast. That is unfair!
We do ask guests at check in if they prefer a full Welsh, Continental, Vegetarian or Vegan breakfast in the morning. This reduces service times and food waste and therefore helps to keep our prices down. It also gives guests an opportunity to tell us if they have any special diet requirements or if they prefer their bacon crispy!

I would like to remind Muckypots that when he writes a review he has a moral duty to ensure that it is fair and accurate. On this occasion he has described our guest house as being of “mediocre quality and poor value”. I would suggest this an apt description of his review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Very clean,comfotable and cared for with warm welcome by John.
Located on the Sea front we stayed in the first floor room that faced due West and watched the Sun set on the horizon into the waves.
First class breakfast including catering for Vegetarians.
Highly recomended

Room Tip: West facing rooms have excellant Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Very clean and tidy with a pleasant host. A full breakfast with lovely views of the coast. Ideally situated for town and good walks along the coast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Excellent B&B (all of them are around South Marine, you can't really go wrong). Clean, tidy rooms, good breakfast and friendly staff. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.3 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glyn Garth Guest House
Glyn Garth Guest House
#2 of 36 in Aberystwyth
151 reviews
3 mi away
Nanteos Mansion
Nanteos Mansion
#8 of 36 in Aberystwyth
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cardigan Bay Guest House
Cardigan Bay Guest House
#10 of 36 in Aberystwyth
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bodalwyn Guest House
Bodalwyn Guest House
#5 of 36 in Aberystwyth
207 reviews
4.6 mi away
Llety Ceiro Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yr Hafod Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yr Hafod Guest House

Address: 1 South Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 1JX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Hotel Class:4 star — Yr Hafod Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Yr Hafod Guest House Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing