We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay best i have ever stayed in”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberystwyth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yr Hafod Guest House
Ranked #7 of 36 Aberystwyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great stay best i have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We could not fault it at all. Fantastic place, we are going to book a week holiday for next year there.The web site not up to date at moment wait till you all see the rooms when they do. They are busy doing the place up but such great people there well done john & his helpers

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
41
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed here for 1 night on the 30th April 2014 and had a wonderful Sea view room. It was very clean and had a comfortable double bed. Althought it did not have ensuite facilities, it did have a hand basin. The Shower room and toliet was on the nearby landling and like all the rooms here had been refurbished to a very high standard, using the best materials. The proprietor, should be very proud about the work he has done!

Breakfast was good (could have done with some beans, though!) and to be honest you couldn't get better accommodation for the Price, in Aberystwyth, which usually is over priced!

John, the proprietor, was very nice, friendly, helpful and courteous and quite witty too! I shall recommend to friends and will return whenever I get the chance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimSouthWales63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I came to Aberystwyth for 1 night in April 2014. We stayed in this great place, the room is very clean and the bathroom was perfect.
John is a great host!.
The sea front view is fantastic, and the owner takes care of every detail. As soon you come in, you feel the heat of this beautiful guest house.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Myself and boyfriend stayed here for a few days in March2014. This was our first visit to Yr Hafod and we decided to stay here as I was student at the university and remember the B&B. We had a lovely room with sea view over looking the south shore. The room was excellent and we were made to feel most welcomed by John. The location is fab for walking into town but also exploring the coastal footpaths.

Breakfast service again was excellent and my boyfriend enjoyed his full welsh breakfast. The whole experience was wonderful and a welcomed break from our full time jobs. I would certainly recommend this B&B and will be back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I spent the weekend of 5/6 April at Yr Hafod with my daughter. We had the most beautiful room with a view (Room 3) in a standard room which had shared bathroom facilities. Even with a shared bathroom we definitely felt like we were in a 4 star guest house. Everywhere you go in this guest house is ultra clean. The room was large and spacious with a lovely bay window and sea view. The owner John has thought of all the little touches to make your stay extra special. Chocolates in the room. Luxury biscuits, tea/coffee/hot chocolate. Bottled welsh water. Extra pillows. High quality bed linen. Really comfy bed. Didn't wake up once all night! But when you sit up in bed and can see the sea right outside your room it makes this guest house so special. The bathrooms were newly done. A separate toilet as well as another bathroom with a toilet and wet room type shower. Non slip floor tiles. Beautiful grey wall tiling. Perfect mirrors.. Fluffy white towels. hand soaps/shampoos all included. You can honestly walk barefoot here and feel everything is perfect. Now to breakfast which is also included. High quality linen tablecloths, Fresh bread. juices. individually cooked hot breakfast, cereals unlimited toast. Even the butter was perfectly presented. Neatly cut in a little silver dish for each guest. John the owner is very attentive and is the perfect host with a wonderful sense of humour. We will definitely be back. The guest house does have en suite rooms too but as we were booking last minute we opted for the shared bathroom but as I said the bathrooms were wonderful. We felt spoiled during our stay here. Thank you very much John for taking great care of us

Room Tip: We had room 3 on first floor This room overlooks the sea - you are just a stone's throw from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsAG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We recently spent a night here. We now wish it was longer. John was a delightful host, the rooms beautifully immaculate. The breakfast table was laid beautifully and breakfast was wonderful. I would recommend a stay at Yr Hafod to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsT205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

this hotel is immaculate.comfortable,and so clean.the breakfast was one of the best we have ever had,and the service,and the attention given to us was firstclass.thankyou john for a perfect two day stay.the only thing we cannot understand is ,how can you manage to do this so cheap? we will see you again john. dave Collins,and kevin byrne.london.n.18

Room Tip: single rooms have a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
473 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
425 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glyn Garth Guest House
Glyn Garth Guest House
#3 of 36 in Aberystwyth
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yr Hafod Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yr Hafod Guest House

Property: Yr Hafod Guest House
Address: 1 South Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 1JX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Aberystwyth
Hotel Class:4 star — Yr Hafod Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Yr Hafod Guest House Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing