We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel definitely punches above it's weight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This hotel definitely punches above it's weight”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The room I stayed in was large, comfortable and very clean. The staff were very friendly and always had a smile on their face.
The breakfast was excellent, no cardboard toast served in this hotel. It seemed to me that the food was locally sourced and not from a wholesaler.
There is a small car park at the rear of the hotel with cctv and security lights.

Room Tip: Night time key only works on the front door
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    149
    37
    8
    2
See reviews for
66
191
32
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I have stayed at the Richmond Hotel on a number of occasions over the past two years.

The Richmond is going through a process of renovation and modernisation.

The rooms are large and airy. They are always clean, neat and welcoming. They are kitted out with all of the items that you need.

The rooms have free broadband which has good signal strength and is free.

The breakfast is a plentiful spread of fruits, cereals, toasts and then the option of a full fry-up. The food is always freshly cooked and good quality. The place is a bit traditional and old school but excellent nonetheless.

The service you receive is unsurpassed. The staff are knowledgeable, welcoming, and attentive. We have arrived late on a number of evenings and they have completely accommodated this.

The hotel comes with free and easy access parking.

As I said I have stayed here many times over the past year and have no complaints. It is also lovely to go to sleep with the sound of the sea.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrysten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The Richmond is undergoing a re vamp and very nice it is too. Clean well decorated hotel, with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewAndDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Nicely located hotel with a good solid tradition feel. Reception was welcoming and everything was well catered for. Breakfast was first class. Room had possibly seen better days but was clean and functional. Handy car parking at rear. Good bar/TV room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CockneyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex, uk
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I had a lovely overnight stay. Room was excellent with a good view of the sea. I had a tasty breakfast the next day. All the staff were great. Good location from which to tour the town.

Room Tip: Room 10 has a new shower and good sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essex_UkRoyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haverfordwest
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My friend and I had a spacious room overlooking the seafront lots of local products including delicious hot chocolate. Our dinner was superb and breakfast excellent with a good choice of fruit as well as a superb cooked selection. Beds were comfortable decor was very good so overall very impressed. Reading the fairly bad review below I cannot believe this person stayed at the same place!

Room Tip: On the seafront on an autumn evening there is a wonderful display of a murmuration of starlings it h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archaeo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My wife and I along with 2 other colleagues stayed here in early November 2011. This will have been our second visit in recent months. the hotel had been decorated since our last visit. Our particular room was spacious , clean and comfortable. Once again we had the outstanding vista of the bay. The food both dinner and breakfast and service was still excellent along with the staff.

Room Tip: Just request a room overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffmaryPontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
458 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
300 reviews
3.5 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
482 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Property: Richmond Hotel
Address: The Promenade | 44/45 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, a Grade II listed former Merchant's House, enjoys an enviable prime sea front location on the main promenade overlooking Cardigan Bay and is a short stroll to the town centre and University. We offer a friendly, relaxed yet attentive level of service. Well appointed rooms are thoughtfully equipped to meet the needs of our business and leisure guests. Splendid sea views can be appreciated from many of the rooms and public areas. We pride ourselves in sourcing local Welsh products for you to enjoy when dining with us. Our private on site car park is a real bonus in this part of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing