We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good visit to Aber !”
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This was another excellent trip to the Richmond at Aberystwyth. Excellent Breakfast , good choice and freshly cooked. The staff are VERY helpful and always have a smile , they cant do enough to help.

Weather was very wet, but the Seaview Always bring a smile!

Cant wait for another visit

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

Nice comfortable hotel, family run, good no frills welsh hospitality

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynddan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I live locally and decided to book two sea-view double rooms for myself and family for a Saturday night as part of my birthday celebrations (we went to see Jools Holland in concert). Check-in after 2pm. Very fast check-in and given two rooms next to each other (which I liked).
Very comfortable rooms. Good size. Lovely decor. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate (yes! hot chocolate!) AND two packs of biscuits. Guess I'm used to staying in Travelodge! Oh, and a bottle of water - free.
Everything was clean, tidy and presented well.
Good LCD TV.
Excellent view of the promenade - from both rooms.
Bed was very comfortable. I had a great nights sleep with the sound of the waves crashing on to the shore.
Bathroom was gorgeous. Shame we didn't have time to have a shower because unfortunately we checked-in late and had plans for the rest of the evening (out to dinner etc etc).
Breakfast was served (on a Sunday) between 8:30 and 9:30 (perhaps nice to have it until 10am?)
Just not enough time to enjoy a shower (and boy the shower looked like a good one - really regret that!)
We had to vacate by 10am (I think we were asked to leave earlier than usual check-out time? Because it was a Bank Holiday weekend - but so what?!)
I still paid the full whack for the room - just like anyone else!
Anyways. Staff were great. Very friendly.
Small bar open late into the evening. But very quiet!
Massive hotel, with massive seating areas, TV, and breakfast room.
I LOVED my stay. Can I come back again please - but can someone else pay for me this time?!
£95 per room. Expensive treat for me, but I would love to do it again.
Oh! By the way the breakfast was amazing! Loads of it. Too much for me! Cereal, fresh fruit, all manner of spreads, toast, AND full English brekkie!
And once again, staff were great. I really liked the lady who served us at breakfast.

THANK YOU Richmond Hotel!

Oh! It's got private parking too! Absolutely brilliant.
Perhaps I should treat myself more often, and stay away from those Travelodges!

Any bad points? Well - not really the end of the world, but the rooms had wonky floors, and there was seagull poop on the windows (but the seagulls in Aberystwyth are a force to be reckoned with - just don't park your car along the prom coz you're asking for trouble). So, can't blame the hotel for that.

Room Tip: Rooms 14 & 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazzer1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Lovely stay in a large, very comfortable twin room with beautiful sea view. Staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb9044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

As somebody who usually opts to stay in chain hotels, I was pleasantly surprised by the Richmond.

On arrival, the staff were exceptionally friendly and efficient. Checking in was fast and straightforward.

The inside of the room was very modern and fresh. The room came with a cup, saucer, and teapot! This was a welcome change from making tea in a mug.

Checking out was just as fast.

If I'm staying in Aberystwyth again, the Richmond will be my first choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tito2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Great location on the sea front. Could sit in the bay window and watch the promenade and sea. The room was a good size and nicely furnished: recently refurbished judging by the mint condition. The bathroom was a good size and also looked new. Downside was there were three flights of stairs to climb, but worth it for the views.

The hotel has a car park which is an added bonus. Breakfast was good and efficiently served. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TowerTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great service and a good location on the seafront with excellent views. Despite being in an older building, the interior of the hotel is very clean and the room (particularly the bathroom) doesn't feel dated at all. Good car parking as well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
494 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
331 reviews
3.5 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: The Promenade | 44/45 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £93 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, a Grade II listed former Merchant's House, enjoys an enviable prime sea front location on the main promenade overlooking Cardigan Bay and is a short stroll to the town centre and University. We offer a friendly, relaxed yet attentive level of service. Well appointed rooms are thoughtfully equipped to meet the needs of our business and leisure guests. Splendid sea views can be appreciated from many of the rooms and public areas. We pride ourselves in sourcing local Welsh products for you to enjoy when dining with us. Our private on site car park is a real bonus in this part of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing