We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expectations exceeded”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Expectations exceeded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Richmond as a couple visiting my Partner's son who is studying at the Uni and were pleasantly surprised with this little gem.
Ideally located we had a comfortable room with a sea view and found the staff friendly and helpful.
Looks like we'll be back a few times during the next 3 years!
Breakfast was great - wide choice and plenty of it.
Recommended

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank trickydicky1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    149
    37
    8
    2
See reviews for
66
192
32
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

I stay at the Richmond regularly on business and can thoroughly recommend. The staff are so helpful and the rooms are always clean and airy. Breakfast is great and feels just like a home from home. If you are looking for a great place to stay in Aber then this is it.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are great on a summers night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connorerin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Aberystwyth (over 10) either alone, with my husband or with my 5 children and I can honestly say this is by far the best. The views are amazing, the rooms clean and airy, the staff helpful, friendly and pleasant, the breakfast varied and well cooked and the evening meal is better than any of the restaurants in the town. My only advice would be book early as anyone that stays here will come back!

Room Tip: ask for sea facing - what a view!!
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sali n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

The hotel has a good location on the waterfront. I found it too expensive for what they offer. Rooms are very small as well as the bathroom. Staff is not friendly. Breakfast is ok but the room is horrible. Dinner was expensive and not what I expected. Parking is behind the hotel and small so I guess when the hotel is full there is no parking for all.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard-Richmond, Owner at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
I, the hotel owner had a disagreement with this guest which was not resolved leaving us with an outstanding bill with another hotel. Resulting in a negative score and review, which does not fairly reflect the hotel.

This guest had stayed with us prior to this incident and on returning wished to stay with us on an additional night when we could not accommodate her.
Trying to be as helpful as possible, we phoned many other hotels, finally finding one which she was happy and agreed to stay at!!
We booked it with her consent and in good faith. She failed to show at this hotel and personally booked elsewhere to stay locally but failed to cancel with either us or her chosen hotel.
Out of courtesy to the other hotel we paid them directly for the uncancelled accommodation. As this guest was returning to us for a further night, (a clear indication of her satisfaction with us and our product) we expected the guest to reimburse us for the outstanding account for the unused hotel night of £95.00.
She refused and become very rude, lying that they had stayed in Liverpool as their car had broken down. It became obvious that they had stayed locally at Nanteos Mansion, (they even posted a review of the establishment on Tripadvisor).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Not much to add from previous favourable reviews. Room, looking out over the prom, was clean and cosy. Bathroom (or rather the shower room) was clean. We had a meal in the restaurant and we thoroughly enjoyed the quality of service and fare. Breakfast was good too with a wide selection to suit tastes. Were we to stay for a night or two again in Aberystwyth we would seriously consider another stay in this professionaly run establishment.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat186442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed here for several nights in the 'apartment' consisting of a double room, a twin room, bathroom and sitting room. We really recommend this for, say, a couple and two children, who want time for themselves knowing the kids are fine in bed next door. It's like a small flat away-from-home, with a television in the sitting room. The rooms are quiet and warm, and the view of the sea from the front rooms from the big bay windows is beautiful. The bar-lounge downstairs is wonderfully cosy at all times of day - you can just curl up there and read a book if you've had enough exploring outside. The staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly - the Richmond is family-owned and they set a first-class example their staff uphold. Oh - and the breakfasts are delicious, really tasty, obviously fresh, local produce.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swamp-pokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

I had actually booked at 'The Four Seasons' however, earlier in the week the roof had sustained storm damage so my Daughter & I were moved to the Richmond Hotel.
The twin room we were given (room 7) was fine, plenty of space to move around freely, the storage space was good too, having all the usual little extras...hot drink facilities, TV, WIFI ect.
We had a sea view room with a table & 2 chairs by the in the bay window the view of the sunset was spectacular.
The bath/shower room was very clean and spacious it also looked to have been recently modernized, with shampoo, conditioner, shower cap ect provided. I found the rest of the hotel to be a little dated (as expected for old buildings) again however, clean and presentable.
Sleeping for me, was another story. I heard no complaints from my daughter about the bed by the wall, my bed however, was awful! The bed tilted when I turned over (I wondered if a caster had broken or was missing) but the worst part was the mattress and pillows, they were so hard that It almost felt like i was sleeping on concrete!!! Fair to say "I slept very little".
Breakfast was superb. A large selection of cereals was on offer, along with fresh fruit and yogurts to serve yourself. Toast, jam & a choice hot food from the breakfast menu was brought by the waitress...it was just the right portion size too. The waitresses were very helpful and friendly.
Checking in and checking out was the only dealings I had with the reception staff and although they were pleasant/polite I got the distinct impression that they were 'bored' with the whole thing. We weren't greeted with a smile or any warmness...just the simple 'down to business' attitude.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
3.5 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Property: Richmond Hotel
Address: The Promenade | 44/45 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, a Grade II listed former Merchant's House, enjoys an enviable prime sea front location on the main promenade overlooking Cardigan Bay and is a short stroll to the town centre and University. We offer a friendly, relaxed yet attentive level of service. Well appointed rooms are thoughtfully equipped to meet the needs of our business and leisure guests. Splendid sea views can be appreciated from many of the rooms and public areas. We pride ourselves in sourcing local Welsh products for you to enjoy when dining with us. Our private on site car park is a real bonus in this part of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing