We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!”
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed at the Richmond Hotel whilst on business in Aberystwyth. The first advantage is the private car park - I get the impression that most parking in the town is on-street which I'm not keen on when I don't know an area well. Check in was friendly and efficient and I was directed to a room at the top of the hotel. There are quite a few narrow stairs to get up there so people with any mobility problems would definitely need to speak to the hotel before booking. However, the lady on Reception kindly offered help with luggage (which I did not need).

The room itself had a bay window with a seating area in front of it with wonderful views right over the sea. The rest of the room was freshly decorated and extremely clean, comfortable and well stocked. My only slight quibble was that the large bathroom had no separate shower - but a shower attachment in the bath - but I'm sure I could have specified a room with a shower if I had thought of it.

The hotel has its own bar and restaurant area. I didn't use these on the one night I was in the town but breakfast was excellent. Lots of choices of fruit and cereal and very tasty and well cooked options.

I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJWM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    151
    37
    8
    2
See reviews for
67
196
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2013

No detail was too much trouble. When I booked, I'd requested a taxi to be booked for an event I was attending. On arrival, reception advised me that the taxi was booked as requested. A needed to iron my dress prior to going. Both an iron and ironing board were produced within minutes. In the morning, I was awaked by the sound of the sea and the view was fantastic from my room. I felt as if I was on holiday in the 'med'. The breakfast was freshly cooked and well presented and served by two local ladies, who were able to suggest sights to see before leaving by train in the afternoon.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms were fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lone-girl-56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Room 10 is a small double, but comfortable - sea view and nicely refurbished with shower room. Very clean. Not easy carrying bags and cases up lots of stairs with fire doors, but minor complaint and I would stay again.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ealing,London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Room with a lovely view of the sea. Great to wake with the sound of the waves crashing onto the beach. Comfortable bed, updated bathroom. Fresh water every morning in the room. Wardrobe an after thought and a little small. Helpful, polite staff.
Breakfast was good and served by very friendly ladies. Hotel lounge/dining room a little dated and the music was so bad I had to get up and turn it off! The food needs working on. Tasty lamb but totally overcooked. Fish cakes dry, needs a sauce of some kind. Couldn't eat later than 7.30 which was to early.
Overall, would stay again just not eat there.

Room Tip: Room 10 situated at the front of the hotel, so fantastic view. Beware though, when the windows were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

You can tell this hotel is well managed by the attention to detail and quality. Only the crisps were horrible (lamb and mint). Everything else was really good and I was made to feel very welcome. Lovely sunset was seen from the bar over the sea at the front, and a neat lawn and private car park at the rear.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed due to my normal hotel being fully booked. Room (7) is at the top of the stairs with an excellent view out over the bay. Clean and tidy if a little dated. Evening meal; can't comment on the quality as meals are only served between 7 and 8 pm which is no good if you either arrive late or prefer to eat later in the evening. You need to go into town if you want to eat later than 8pm on the front as the only other decent spot also stops serving at 8. Breakfast was very good. Staff at all levels including the students doing a few hours at breakfast were all very good and friendly. Biggest downside was the price. Cannot understand why rates are so high. Maybe with the new competition including the forthcoming premier inn right on the front the independents including this one will clue up and offer sensible rates and extended dining hours.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katelios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

we only stayed 1 night very polite and helpful staff, room clean and tidy. food wasn't best here asked for our steak medium it came well done (think that's because steak was so thin) loved the location of this hotel right on the sea front not far from shops. we will definitely be revisiting this hotel, but wont be having evening meal next time. breakfast lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisatb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
3.5 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#7 of 13 in Aberystwyth
311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
429 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Property: Richmond Hotel
Address: The Promenade | 44/45 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, a Grade II listed former Merchant's House, enjoys an enviable prime sea front location on the main promenade overlooking Cardigan Bay and is a short stroll to the town centre and University. We offer a friendly, relaxed yet attentive level of service. Well appointed rooms are thoughtfully equipped to meet the needs of our business and leisure guests. Splendid sea views can be appreciated from many of the rooms and public areas. We pride ourselves in sourcing local Welsh products for you to enjoy when dining with us. Our private on site car park is a real bonus in this part of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing