We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Hotel”
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I was impressed with the service from the staff when I checked in - the young lady I dealt with could not have done more to help (not sure of her name but she said that she had studied at the University). I had a room at the front of the hotel with a huge bay window and fantastic view of the sea. I will admit that I was reluctant to eat in the hotel but I am glad that I did. The food was of a very good quality and reasonably priced.
I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

So glad I stayed here again on my return trip to Aberystwyth. The friendly staff, good food and central location are worth it's weight in good. My bedroom had been decorated and upgraded since my last visit. To sit in my bedroom window looking out over the bay can not be beaten anywhere. Looking forward to my next trip to Aber

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swanseagirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed in Aberystwyth to collect our son from uni and the Richmond Hotel was marvelous. A great night's sleep overlooking the sea followed by a full Welsh breakfast set us up to tackle entering our student's room and loading the car in the morning. We plan to have dinner in the restaurant when we return in January after overhearing other guests compliments at breakfast.

Room Tip: Sea view is lovely and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This hotel is conveniently located for all your needs - close to the station, shops, bars and restaurants; there is also a private car park. Staff are friendly and attentive and seem to enjoy what they are doing. Our room was well furnished and decorated and being at the front had wonderful views across the Irish Sea. There is a good deal to choose from at the included breakfast, with cooked food being served at table. The promenade at Aberystwyth is quiet at night, so it was possible to enjoy a good night's sleep. Don't be put off this hotel. It is not a tacky sea-front guest house but a very well-run quality hotel.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms are best and offer good views across the Irish Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haynest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our stay in the Richmond could not have been better. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the staff were excellent, very friendly and very attentive. The view from our room window was beautiful, the sea breaking on the shore, with an unbroken panoramic view of the bay.
We decided to eat in at the hotel restaurant, and we were not disappointed. I tend to eat my steak blue (bleu), and so many chefs get this wrong, but the chef at the Richmond got it spot on.
The all round service and room were excellent and we will definitely be booking in again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RevEmlynYnysMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Another great stay at this hotel this was our fifth visit and it never fails to impress .
Breakfast and evening meal excellent as usual.
all the staff very pleasant and polite.
have had a different room on every visit and have never been disapointed always very clean and tidy .we will be back for another visit in the new year keep up the good work 10 out of 10 .
Martin & Glynis.

Room Tip: when booking at this hotel ask for a sea view room the sunsets are breath taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

I came to Aberystwyth to visit my daughter who is at University here and booked this hotel after reading the reviews and I wasn't disappointed! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the breakfast lived up to expectations. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank 5Kerry5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
505 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
3.5 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
355 reviews
0 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: The Promenade | 44/45 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £79 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, a Grade II listed former Merchant's House, enjoys an enviable prime sea front location on the main promenade overlooking Cardigan Bay and is a short stroll to the town centre and University. We offer a friendly, relaxed yet attentive level of service. Well appointed rooms are thoughtfully equipped to meet the needs of our business and leisure guests. Splendid sea views can be appreciated from many of the rooms and public areas. We pride ourselves in sourcing local Welsh products for you to enjoy when dining with us. Our private on site car park is a real bonus in this part of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing