We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good rooms, very nice staff”
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2008

I stayed at the Richmond Hotel in early August 2008 on my way to a hiking trip in North Wales and found the hotel a very pleasant surprise: very welcoming and helpful staff, nice and quiet rooms with a fantastic and very relaxing sea-view through large windows, very good breakfast, convenient parking in the backyard ... I had absolutely nothing to criticize!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Marc669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Richmond Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2008

We stayed at the Richmond Hotel with our five-year-old son, having had it recommended by parents. We had the big family room at the top with the wonderful sea view, nice big bathroom, convenient parking at the back (parking is a problem in Aberystwyth). Arrangements must have been a bit different from when most of the other reviewers stayed as breakfast was in the dining room with the sea view, not in a basement. No complaints at all about this hotel (although anyone who can't manage stairs should be warned that this is a narrow Georgian terrace with lots of them - as are the other hotels on the prom). Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prisyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2007

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff are really friendly – especially the barman/waiter. My room was a small single with a view over the car park and it had recently been refurbished with a good shower and separate wash basin in the room. There was Sky TV which was a bonus. Dinner was served in the restaurant and you needed to choose what you wanted before 6pm. Service was excellent, and the wine list very reasonable. The quality of food was much higher than average and at £20 for 3 courses it was good value. Breakfast was less satisfactory as the breakfast room is rather bland and in the basement, but the food was OK and service excellent. The car park is a bit tight but really no problem for an experienced driver. The front rooms will have fine views over the bay and the road is very quiet (apart from students going home). It was perhaps a little expensive for what you get but then Wales is expensive and I would have no hesitation to recommend this hotel. Just one thing – it is all stairs and there is no lift!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

Stayed in a dble en-suite from 1st - 6th July 2007 with husband. Paid £85 prpn including brekkie which is more expensive to my usual price of £50, but has become apparent in recent years that £50 doesn't get you a comfortable stay in the centre of any town. Our room was large, clean and with a good view overlooking houses and hills. Even had a large flatscreen TV on the wall with Freeview channels. The bar had a table looking out over the sea so I sat there having my evening tipple before bedtime. The breakfast room was in the basement so no 'views' but the breakfast itself was excellent and all the staff throughout our stay were friendly. I disagree with other reviews that it was over-priced as its in a prime location overlooking the sea, with on-site free carparking and every amenity between a 1-10 minute walk. The one-screen, one film a week, one showing a day cinema round the corner is like steping back in time. During the interval everyone runs to the hatch manned at the front for refreshments.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simone10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2007

Myself ,My Husband and 12 year old daughter stayed in a family room for one night on the 3rd August breaking our journey up to North Wales. What can i say we were totally impressed. The room overlooked the sea and was a good size for the 3 of us.My daughter and husband were very impressed with the wall mounted flat screen TV and i was pleased with the lovely bathroom. We found the staff very friendly and the breakfast was superb they even arranged a tray of food for us to take up to our daughter who didnt emerge from her bed in time to breakfast with us. The hotel had been recently decorated and all public rooms were immaculate. We will definately visit again

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mountainview_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

Staff helpful and welcoming.Hotel in a good position on the promenade, convenient with a beautiful sea view. Plenty of parking at rear of hotel.Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast freshly cooked and tasty. Evening meal was average, lamb dinner was edible , bit like a school dinner, basic no frills . My main complaint is that it was overpriced at £90 for a double room. It has this in common with many privately run hotels in Wales , some of which are just glorified guest houses, basic accomodation but no style .The standards suffer because hoteliers in Wales do not on the whole have to compete with the multinational chains of hotels who can offer style, quality , amenities and special deals and offers. Big is not always best but I feel the small hotelier must offer something unique and different if holiday makers are to return.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeano35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

a very relaxing weekend in a spacious sea view room which was exceptionally clean. all the staff very friendly and helpful.slightly expensive but i suppose you get what you pay for and we really could not fault this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank malcphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
484 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
447 reviews
3.5 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: The Promenade | 44/45 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £94 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, a Grade II listed former Merchant's House, enjoys an enviable prime sea front location on the main promenade overlooking Cardigan Bay and is a short stroll to the town centre and University. We offer a friendly, relaxed yet attentive level of service. Well appointed rooms are thoughtfully equipped to meet the needs of our business and leisure guests. Splendid sea views can be appreciated from many of the rooms and public areas. We pride ourselves in sourcing local Welsh products for you to enjoy when dining with us. Our private on site car park is a real bonus in this part of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing