We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further!”
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Look no further!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

If you are planning to visit and stay in Aberystwyth then look no further for a great hotel. We stayed for two nights at the Richmond. A well presented family ran hotel. Excellent reception staff, good sized clean well furnished bedrooms and great breakfasts. Just a couple of comments, staff could so with some kind of corporate uniform to promote the hotel and please sort the weather out in Aberystwyth, cold, wet and very windy but a great place to stay! Thank you.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room..... lovely even when windy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    152
    39
    8
    2
See reviews for
70
201
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed just 1 night on business. This was a lovely family run hotel, excellent location right on the promenade at Aberystwyth. Reception staff very welcoming and efficient. Room large and clean. Plenty of furniture. Crisp bedding. Met Richard the owner who was extremely helpful and proud of his hotel and staff.
Breakfast buffet was extensive and good quality, plenty of cooked options.
The whole place has a relaxed atmosphere and above all sparkingly clean and comfortable .
This was a good find and i am happy to recommend it highly,

Room Tip: Room 16 , no sea view but large, spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Having (as one always does now) read the reviews, we stayed here for a short break on the coast in early March (just after the last of the winter storms). The attraction was of a comfortable and welcoming hotel on the sea front and well placed for the centre of the town with a car park.

We were not disappointed. The car park was easily found from the back street. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room (No 7) was generous, clean and comfortable (although the TV remote control didn't seem to match the TV it did - sort of - work), had a very good view of the sea and the ensuite bathroom was well appointed. The breakfast (as others have said) was not only generous, offered great variety and its cooked element beautifully prepared and presented, but in addition (as requested when we booked) offered my wife the dairy/cow-free options which allowed her to enjoy it to the full.

The evening meal which we only had on the second evening was not perhaps quite as good as we might have hoped (the lack of atmosphere caused by our being the only diners that night probably didn't help), although was again prepared to suit my wife's dietary restrictions.

In summary, I would say that the slightly higher price that we paid (compared with other hotels in the town) was worth paying for the excellent accommodation, convenient location (with car park) and the excellent (breakfast) catering and that, provided the rates were similar, we would be happy to stay here again in the near future.

Room Tip: If possible (unless a severe storm is forecast) have one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAH3862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Friendly staff , but that should come as normal when you are paying £110 per night. Upon arrival our room had a definite lingering smell,probably water ingress from the recent storms? I don't know but didn't appreciate it. Also the shelves in the wardrobe were very dusty ( didn't want to put my clothes in there!!) upon withdrawing a chair from the dressing table the seat was covered in grey hairs , the room obviously hadn't been cleaned thoroughly.
No bath in the en suite bathroom and the whole shower room was very squashed. Breakfast was a type of premier inn style buffet set up and on the whole was pretty good , was cooked well and used local quality food which was good.
Plus points were very friendly staff and super super view from window and location but take the sea view away and you are left with an average hotel at best . I'd rate it as a 4/10 without the sea view but the view and location would take it to a 7/10 for me but that's what I wanted.
Would I re -visit the hotel ? Given the price and that there are several others on the promenade I would try the others as it's not worth the price tag to be honest , I would try another one .

Room Tip: Definitely need a see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adefit4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had room 2 on the first floor with sea views on en suite bathrooms.
Staff are friendly and attentive and could not fault the service we received.
Breakfast was amazing the usually cereal/yoghurt/toast/cooked breakfast, the hot food was cooked to perfection.
Only negative was that the carpet really did need replacing as it was very frayed on the edges, all in all a very good experience and shall be returning again soon

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanineFelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel really outdoes itself in many places.

From the outside it appears just another seaside B&B but the staff are friendly and attentive, giving fantastic service for such a small establishment. The food as well is all freshly cooked to order and I feel the breakfast is one of the best I have had while staying in hotels.There is such a relaxed atmosphere which is perfect for enjoying your holiday in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I had been looking around for a while for a decent hotel to stay in for my two night stay in Aberystwyth when I came across this little gem on trip advisor, great place, staff all very friendly, room was very generous and extremely clean. I cannot fault it, breakfast was lovely and i shall be returning very soon for another stay.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TidesOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
478 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
316 reviews
3.5 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
331 reviews
11.7 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Property: Richmond Hotel
Address: The Promenade | 44/45 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, a Grade II listed former Merchant's House, enjoys an enviable prime sea front location on the main promenade overlooking Cardigan Bay and is a short stroll to the town centre and University. We offer a friendly, relaxed yet attentive level of service. Well appointed rooms are thoughtfully equipped to meet the needs of our business and leisure guests. Splendid sea views can be appreciated from many of the rooms and public areas. We pride ourselves in sourcing local Welsh products for you to enjoy when dining with us. Our private on site car park is a real bonus in this part of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing