We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faded grandeur on the seafront” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Faded grandeur on the seafront”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My first time in Aberystwyth got off to a bit of a rocky start. I had emailed ahead to let the Richmond know what time my train would be arriving (thanks to the dismantling of Welsh rail service decades ago, to get from the north coast to the west requires a zigzag all the way over the Shrewsbury and back) and was told my room might not be ready. Sure enough, I was asked to wait in the bar, tired and lugging a suitcase, for fifteen minutes before I could check in. For once on my trip so far I wasn't on the top floor, which was a nice change. I had a room at the back, so no sea view, but that's all forewarned in their pricing scheme, so it wasn't a surprise. The room was a bit tiny, though with oddly high ceilings and for no reason that I can explain, the light switch to the bathroom was located at the top corner of the door frame.

The stay improved after that for me. the Richmond is one of countless (dozens at least) connected hotels that line the promenade in this town that's been a summer vacation spot for Brits for eons. It's a fifteen minute walk from the train station (which has a Weatherspoons in it) and bus station, and ten to the town centre. The view is spectacular out front, though the hotel was undergoing some renovations and there was scaffolding up I liked the genuine Welsh experience of the stay, down to the bilingual menus in the breakfast hall. The breakfast buffet was varied and I was able to order quite good oatmeal as well.

Anyway, though it was a bit of an impresonal welcome, that improved as well. I'd said at the desk that I was looking to go on a dolphin watching boat tour, and a few hours later the desk clerk remembered me and mentioned that a dolphin had been spotted out on the water.

So my stay was up-and-down, partly due to my still battling a bug and general exhaustion, and I really couldn't tell whether the stay would have been noticeably different in any of the many other seemingly identical hotels along the prom. The Richmond was good value, though I gathered the price was creeping up as I was in Aber just at the beginning of the summer season.

Room Tip: If you can swing it in your budget, get a room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    146
    38
    8
    2
See reviews for
66
187
32
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Richmond hotel oozes (somewhat diminished) seaside splendour. It enjoys stunning views over the beach, the rooms are generous and the restaurant more than adequate. Walking up three floors is a bit of a chore but the views more than compensate. Staff are friendly and the tariff a fraction of Portmerion (if that is on your itinerary - certainly worth a visit). What more can you ask?

Room Tip: Must have a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beck1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have stayed here a few times. It is really very pleasant. Make sure you get a seaview room - it is worth the extra few pounds. There are lovely big windows and you can sit and watch the waves crashing. Loved it!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have just had two nights at this hotel and couldn't have asked for better, I rang some time before our visit to check a couple of things and the receptionist was very helpful. When we arrived we were met by a warm welcome at reception and our room was lovely, spotlessly clean( this is always the first thing i check on arriving anywhere). We had a lovely sea view and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was good plenty of variety to choose from and a substantial cooked breakfast. We wanted to go to the steam railway but didn't want the bother of driving there not knowing the area so the reception staff organised a taxi for us whilst our car sat safely in the hotels private car park. There are plenty of places to eat in town but we opted to have dinner both nights in the hotel dining room and we were not disapointed. All in all a really good place to stay would recomend it to anyone

Room Tip: Just ask for one with a sea view, we stayed in room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Just stayed one night here. Room with lovely sea view but all a bit dated. However clean and newly painted. Pity other guests were so noisy, we were woken several times, through to gone 3am and this is probably why I went for an average grade rather than very good. Breakfast was ok. Fruit etc very good but cooked breakfast not so good. I had scrambled eggs, excellent, mushrooms, perfectly good, and tomatoes, a disaster, not ripe so hard and not cooked enough but also not at all hot. Husband not overly impressed by bacon and sausage. All seemed pre-cooked much earlier on, except the eggs, and not kept warmed through. All the staff we met were fantastic. Very friendly and cheerful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

If you are planning to visit and stay in Aberystwyth then look no further for a great hotel. We stayed for two nights at the Richmond. A well presented family ran hotel. Excellent reception staff, good sized clean well furnished bedrooms and great breakfasts. Just a couple of comments, staff could so with some kind of corporate uniform to promote the hotel and please sort the weather out in Aberystwyth, cold, wet and very windy but a great place to stay! Thank you.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room..... lovely even when windy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed just 1 night on business. This was a lovely family run hotel, excellent location right on the promenade at Aberystwyth. Reception staff very welcoming and efficient. Room large and clean. Plenty of furniture. Crisp bedding. Met Richard the owner who was extremely helpful and proud of his hotel and staff.
Breakfast buffet was extensive and good quality, plenty of cooked options.
The whole place has a relaxed atmosphere and above all sparkingly clean and comfortable .
This was a good find and i am happy to recommend it highly,

Room Tip: Room 16 , no sea view but large, spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keith p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Property: Richmond Hotel
Address: The Promenade | 44/45 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, a Grade II listed former Merchant's House, enjoys an enviable prime sea front location on the main promenade overlooking Cardigan Bay and is a short stroll to the town centre and University. We offer a friendly, relaxed yet attentive level of service. Well appointed rooms are thoughtfully equipped to meet the needs of our business and leisure guests. Splendid sea views can be appreciated from many of the rooms and public areas. We pride ourselves in sourcing local Welsh products for you to enjoy when dining with us. Our private on site car park is a real bonus in this part of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing