We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We visited for a night on the 22nd June. It was a lovely sunny day and our room had great views over the sea. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped and decorated. The bed was comfortable. Staff were welcoming when we arrived and service was efficient. Stayed for dinner and breakfast. Both meals were good quality and service was good. Tables are reserved at breakfast for each room which was a nice personal touch. Would definitely stay again. Only small niggle was the room got full sun, windows only opened a small way so a fan in the room would have helped as it got quite hot! Slept well nevertheless.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bushby82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Richmond for one night to celebrate my husband's birthday. I requested a sea view room and this was confirmed by email. We were not disappointed. The view is not only a wonderful one of the bay but the window is perfect for sitting in the two armchairs for a bit of people watching. Breakfast was fantastic - lots of choice and everything cooked freshly to order.

The only negatives were that the water in the shower simply wasn't as hot as the water that came out of the tap so if you like a hot shower, you might be disappointed. Also, we asked for a bathmat for the floor of the shower and they just gave us a towel, saying that was all they could offer. If you're less mobile then a rubber bathmat is worth it's weight in gold and most hotels have them as standard.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsTrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

An old building, evidenced by the slope in the upper floors............ But that is the only fault !
It is spotlessly clean, well maintained and decorated, and testament to the commitment of its owners to providing the best they can to their patrons.
At the end of the day, it's a seaside hotel........ but a really comfortable, welcoming, homely abode.
Love it......... I'm coming back with the missus!

Room Tip: Get a sea front room, open the windows and experience the smell and sound of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoscowMaleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed the night on the 5th to the 6th of June. We had a lovely drive up to Aberystwyth and checked in about half 2 in the afternoon. The hotel has a lovely back garden, the entrance is smart and the reception, bar room and dining room are very welcoming. Our room had a sea front view, and an adjoining lounge which also overlooked the sea. The lounge was a nice a surprise! We weren't expecting it and it made our little holiday all the better. The views were spectacular, and we enjoyed having coffee in the lounge and also sitting in the chairs in our room looking out at the sea view. The staff were very accommodating and attentive, we went down for breakfast on the friday morning and we felt spoilt. It is a beautiful hotel. We will be back again and book next time, for longer.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BreatheAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here after being let down by another well know hotel in the town the previous evening.... This place is in a great location ...needs modernizing now big time and a real funny smell seemed to linger all about the hotel... The food was average and nothing to right home about ....I wouldn't recommend it and won't stay again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LondonArtlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This family run hotel is beautifully located on the seafront. The staff and the owner are friendly and very helpful if you do not know the town.
The rooms at the front have great views over the sea although if you are at the top of the hotel, it is a bit of a hike up the stairs.
Rooms are clean and well furnished.
We did not use the restaurant but the breakfast was excellent.
Private parking at the back of the hotel.
The hotel is definitely NOT wheelchair friendly but they do point this out when booking.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have lovely views - could be a bit noisy during high season - htey are not do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Richmond hotel for three nights while visiting Wales and could not have been happier. The Hotel is located on the Promenade facing Cardigan Bay. Each room had a picture window with two chairs and a table facing the bay. From the moment we arrived we felt right at home. The staff is wonderful and they made us feel at home. Dinner was good and the complimentary breakfast was excellent not only a buffet but with item to order as well. The hotel is centrally located to town and an easy walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
496 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
525 reviews
0 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: The Promenade | 44/45 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £83 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, a Grade II listed former Merchant's House, enjoys an enviable prime sea front location on the main promenade overlooking Cardigan Bay and is a short stroll to the town centre and University. We offer a friendly, relaxed yet attentive level of service. Well appointed rooms are thoughtfully equipped to meet the needs of our business and leisure guests. Splendid sea views can be appreciated from many of the rooms and public areas. We pride ourselves in sourcing local Welsh products for you to enjoy when dining with us. Our private on site car park is a real bonus in this part of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing