We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel: friendly, helpful and professional”
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Lovely seaside hotel with very helpful staff. As cyclists, we had a few special requirements but nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Excellent breakfast and the evening menu looked good although we decided to eat in the town.

Highly recommended for leisure or business travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benne30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2009

Excellent location. Our room had an uninterupted view of the sea and came complete with arm chairs and coffee table in the bay window so we could enjoy the view. We booked our evening meal at the hotel and it was first class. Tip try the garlic mushrooms, which came as an amazing size portion. The breakfast was equally as good. Parking was around the back of the hotel in the private car park, so I was happy the car was safe. The staff were friendly and helpful. I could not fault the hotel, staff or food in any way and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripperPembrokeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

Dealing with this hotel was a pleasure from the start. A group of 8 of us decided on an overnight stay based on Tripadvisors reviews and we were not dissappointed.
We paid for an inclusive bed breakfast and evening meal at £125 per couple and this was certainly good value for money.
We had excellent large seaview rooms which were spotlessly clean and well furnished with good televisons beds and bathrooms. A welcome addition of tea making facilities were also included.
The evening meal with good selections of local meats and also vegetarian options was well served in a very nicely furnished dining room. A couple of bottles of excellent Rioja at a reasonable price added to a really enjoyable meal.
Breakfast served in another dining room was also excellent. The hotel uses really good quality products in all its dishes so expect to get first class bacon sausages etc.
I believe that this hotel delivers excellent value for the price and is the place to stay in Aberystwyth.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2008

very nice and clean room, with views over the sea ensuite modern and very clean. staff very helpful the only moan i have was breakfast, not enough milk for 2 on the table and had to ask twice my poached egg (very nice that you get your eggs cooked how you like them) was placed on the fried bread making it soggy. had drinks in bar in the evening with family, still watching waves out of windows would reccomend to all.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myownview05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

I stayed at the Richmond Hotel in early August 2008 on my way to a hiking trip in North Wales and found the hotel a very pleasant surprise: very welcoming and helpful staff, nice and quiet rooms with a fantastic and very relaxing sea-view through large windows, very good breakfast, convenient parking in the backyard ... I had absolutely nothing to criticize!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Marc669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

We stayed at the Richmond Hotel with our five-year-old son, having had it recommended by parents. We had the big family room at the top with the wonderful sea view, nice big bathroom, convenient parking at the back (parking is a problem in Aberystwyth). Arrangements must have been a bit different from when most of the other reviewers stayed as breakfast was in the dining room with the sea view, not in a basement. No complaints at all about this hotel (although anyone who can't manage stairs should be warned that this is a narrow Georgian terrace with lots of them - as are the other hotels on the prom). Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prisyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2007

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff are really friendly – especially the barman/waiter. My room was a small single with a view over the car park and it had recently been refurbished with a good shower and separate wash basin in the room. There was Sky TV which was a bonus. Dinner was served in the restaurant and you needed to choose what you wanted before 6pm. Service was excellent, and the wine list very reasonable. The quality of food was much higher than average and at £20 for 3 courses it was good value. Breakfast was less satisfactory as the breakfast room is rather bland and in the basement, but the food was OK and service excellent. The car park is a bit tight but really no problem for an experienced driver. The front rooms will have fine views over the bay and the road is very quiet (apart from students going home). It was perhaps a little expensive for what you get but then Wales is expensive and I would have no hesitation to recommend this hotel. Just one thing – it is all stairs and there is no lift!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
496 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
525 reviews
0 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: The Promenade | 44/45 Marine Terrace, Aberystwyth SY23 2BX, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £83 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, a Grade II listed former Merchant's House, enjoys an enviable prime sea front location on the main promenade overlooking Cardigan Bay and is a short stroll to the town centre and University. We offer a friendly, relaxed yet attentive level of service. Well appointed rooms are thoughtfully equipped to meet the needs of our business and leisure guests. Splendid sea views can be appreciated from many of the rooms and public areas. We pride ourselves in sourcing local Welsh products for you to enjoy when dining with us. Our private on site car park is a real bonus in this part of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing