We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abysmal, awful and very expensive.”
Review of Four Seasons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel was booked by my wife so that we could attend my daughter's university graduation ceremony and not have to travel on the same day, hence we stayed the night before.On arrival the hotel was unmanned (which it is after 2100 ish) so we collected the key for our double room (number 15) from the reception area. The hotel is dated but tidy and we looked forward to getting in our room after a long drive. The door appeared to be made of cardboard and from the corridor, looked more akin to a cupboard. The room was clean enough, to a basic standard, but had a small double bed crammed into a very small room with all the prerequisite furniture for 2 adults. Clearly there was little room to move and the fire escape was blocked by a bed-side chest and luggage rack; I removed these to ensure I could make a speedy exit should it have been required. The bathroom was basic and the shower temperamental to say the least. The shower over the bath was only just useable and the fittings from the early seventies I should guess.
The lack of staff or on-site facilities really is not commensurate with this room rate. The bar was closed, the restaurant non-existent and the hotel fully lacked any form of atmosphere.
This continued after an average night's sleep, due to noisy town dwellers, during the breakfast service. This is the first hotel I have been to where the hosts/workers don't greet you in the morning and show you to our table. They were surly and gruff, sparing no graces or welcomes whatsoever and even failed to deliver what was asked for in any reasonable time.
For £130 per night (even though this isn't the real 4 Seasons) I expected a comfortable hotel with atmosphere and courteous staff; I failed to see any evidence either was available. I have stayed at far better hotels worldwide for this and it is a huge shame because this is the precise reason British hotels are struggling. It is not right to charge fewer visitors more, you should be trying to provide a good service at reasonable rates; that is the way to get returning trade.
In summary, this was such a poor showing I will never visit this hotel again. I would rather a long drive and be tired, not spend this amount and be tired.
On checking out I mentioned to the receptionist that the fire escape was blocked with furniture but was told that fire escape was no longer in use. That, despite the fact all the signs and a break glass for the key holder were in place and clearly marked on the door.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel was booked for myself and a friend just as a base for 1 night. Due to it not being much difference in price with other hotels we decided to treat ourselves to a deluxe refurbished room with jacuzzi bath. We were late to check in, the hotel rang to check our arrival time, we got there around 8.30 saw the lady at check in, went to the room which was no where near what we'd booked, no staff left on reception, same next morning when we went to leave. Breakfast... well I'm not sure what a typical welsh breakfast consists of, but it appeared to me to be typical mediocre breakfast you can get anywhere! Never had coffee as bad!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank haz_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Avoid this so-called 'hotel' (which is really a rather poor b&b) like the plague. It is overpriced by (I estimate) 50%. It has recently been in trouble for claiming to have 'stars' which it does not have. It does not serve real coffee. The only draught beer in the so-called 'bar' was unavailable, and clearly had been for some time. On one of the nights I was recently there, there was a fire alarm, and it was revealed that no member of staff sleeps on the premises, which is a clear health and safety breach. The staff were quite clearly attempting to be kind amid disastrous circumstances, but had not been trained in what it means to avoid being seen as 'surly'; they also completely forgot to clean our room on one of the three days we stayed there. Do not touch this place (which I see has attracted a large quantity of 'terrible' notices) with a bargepole.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

we stayed here for our grandson's graduation on thursday night the 11th july we had a triple room so our grandaughter could sleep with us it cost £150 which was rather steep as it was only a double room with a single bed added to it .the bedroom was clean but the shower tiles could have done with a clean as they were rather smeary .the nightmare was the parking as it only had room for six cars and the car park across the road only allows for two hours parking from eight in the morning which you then have to leave.the parking is a nightmare in aber even along the prom.the best thing was the breakfast .overall hotel was overpriced but it was graduation week unless that is the normal price so not worth the money .we had no 16 facing the front

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cariad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

we stayed here the night before our sons graduation so we could be prepared and well rested ready for the day.
we paid £150 for a triple room,(which is quite expensive).the room we had was outside the main hotel,a little house with 2 b&b rooms,1 downstairs,1 upstairs.we had number 19 on ground floor.little did we know that upstairs was booked by a group of students,who turned out to be the noisiest neighbours ever!!
number 19 was a nice space,2 bedrooms,and a new bathroom.clean and well stocked with tea/coffee/biscuits etc......but you can hear all the walking around upstairs.
the hotel itself was nice,the breakfast was nice and was in a good location.

Room Tip: number 19,outside at the back next to the patio seating can be VERY noisy depending on who your upst...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The hotel location was second to none with a little car park which is a bonus.
I did specifically ask for a quiet room and was given the room at the back next to the car park, this was without doubt the loudest room I have slept in and at hardly slept for the duration.
The town is amazing tho.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gurpreet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel is in a great location, just a few steps from the front and the shops, and spotlessly clean. We booked a deluxe room which cost over £100 a night, and although the room (21) was bright, airy and spacious it wasn't worth the money. There was no wardrobe as such, just a rail with some hangers in a small alcove, and no drawers. If you're staying for more than a couple of nights this could be a problem. The large bed was actually two singles pushed together and the mattresses were uncomfortable with no support in them and you could feel the springs pushing through. There's no double glazing either so it can be noisy. All in all, a deluxe price but not a deluxe room. The breakfast was lovely though and the staff friendly and helpful. Lastly, we didn't like the fact we had to pay as soon as we arrived, before we had even seen the room - maybe they were anticipating our disappointment and getting our money before we had a chance to complain!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jainpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
1.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensbridge Hotel
Queensbridge Hotel
#12 of 13 in Aberystwyth
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel

Address: Portland Street, Aberystwyth SY23 2DX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £70 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Seasons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales
Four Seasons Aberystwyth
Aberystwyth Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing