We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back”
Review of Four Seasons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Reviewed 6 May 2014

All in all a terrible experience, room was dirty the shower flooded the whole bathroom plus had no hot water, the bed fely scratchy and the room was tiny. The noise from outside was bad and the rooms feel like they have no privacy. No meet or greet and no feedback asked for on departure. I was so disgusted I chose to stay in another hotel for my last night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnMarieStCyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed one night here as a family of four. No problem with booking and friendly welcome on arrival. Family room was great, very spacious with main room for 4 (2 singles, 1 double) and an additional adjoining space for 2 (1 double). Breakfast was substantial, self serve buffet and cooked. Very happy with the whole experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed at the Four Seasons recently for a conference. On the plus side the breakfast was fine, and the staff pleasant. On the downside the main bedroom window was very poorly fitted and a half hearted attempt had been made to keep the noise out by wedging some paper in the window. The shower head was so dirty, I opted for a bath instead. (See pictures)

More seriously, I met one of our conference delegates who turned up later in evening to be told that there was no room and they had overbooked. They did offer accommodation elsewhere, but given the coverage in the local paper of hoteliers over-booking - it gave a very poor impression of Aberystwyth. Basic (at best).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Penyderyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed here while attending a conference at the University. Having read the reviews beforehand, I wasn't sure what to expect.
That said, I was pleasantly surprised. The room was large, clean and very quiet. The staff were pleasant and the breakfast good.
If you're looking for 5 star accommodation, then this isn't for you. But for a comfortable short stay, a hearty breakfast and close proximity to the town centre - then you could do a lot worse.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 12, which was very big and nice and quiet. However, you have to trek up a number of...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My wife and I (both 68) traveled from Liverpool to Aberystwyth, by motorbike, and returned the next day. We stayed at the Four Seasons for the night and were wowed by the beautiful room with en-suite and lovely furniture. The breakfast was superb and we're looking forward to returning for a couple of days to see more of the area. The hotel was clean comfortable and the staff were very friendly. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanewhitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Needed somewhere to stay when we went to the Uni Open day and had a prefect visit. Our room was Huge, fit for a King. Bed where very comfortable and the shower was lovely. Breakfast was very filling, only slight complicate would be that the windows where hard to open, but that maybe down to us being stupid! ha. Overall, lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We booked 2 rooms for Saturday 1st March 2014. We had left home early that morning & drove 4 hours to get to a Aberystwyth Uni open day for our son. We spent alot of time on our feet going from one campus to another so my son could compare Uni halls. It had been a long tiring day when we finally turned up at "The Four Seasons" at almost 5pm that night. You can imagine our surprise when we were told that a rowdy wedding party the previous night had trashed our rooms and they had no rooms for us even though we had pre-booked!! Total Shock!! They had "arranged" for us to go to a sister hotel on the sea-front. It turned out to be a inferrior hotel and instead of two rooms we had to put up with all four of us in one room. I believe this was a scam. Over book on the better hotel in a group & on the day move some on to your sister hotels. It would be interesting to see if this is usual practice for this hotel, posts welcomed....

Room Tip: Can't rate this hotel as they let us down with NO NOTICE. We never got to stay here.
Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank roost373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
1.1 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensbridge Hotel
Queensbridge Hotel
#12 of 13 in Aberystwyth
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel

Address: Portland Street, Aberystwyth SY23 2DX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £70 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Seasons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales
Four Seasons Aberystwyth
Aberystwyth Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing