We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break at Conrah for special birthday”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Conrah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Conrah Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Short break at Conrah for special birthday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

A lovely hotel in very picturesque surroundings with many fine features. Hotel staff friendly and accommodating. Disappointed with the evening meal menu felt it was at the upper end of the price range for the quality - sea bass fillet particularly small!! The menu was virtually the same most evenings. The maid service was minimal and could be more thorough - our glasses were not washed after being used for a number of days and in addition the dining room not hoovered during our stay - crumbs on the floor!! Finally it was impossible to get a drink in the bar after 11.00 pm as the staff were locking up and going home - not that we are alcoholics but we do like a couple of drinks in the bar during the evening on our holiday! With a few minor changes this good hotel could be excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    162
    64
    16
    11
See reviews for
85
237
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here 2 nights early Aug 2011. We found everything of high standard except one meal in the bar on the night we arrived.
Having driven from Holyhead we were tired and hungry, when we arrived at the hotel we got a nice room and things looked great. We then asked about an evening meal and we opted for the bar food.
We ordered 2 cottage pies one serving of chunky chipsthe food arrived after awhile.The presentation was not good, we got the food in 2 small dishes placed on 2 saucers the pies were stuck to the dishes and the chips were black in colour. As we were hungry we ate the food. After this expierience we did it any more evening meal in their restaurant as we did not want to take a chance on it.
I mentioned this experience to the management while I was settling my bill and was told it's a pity we didn't mention it earlier as something could be done about it, the lady then proceeded and debited my card for the full amount. I believe she could have adjusted our bill to make up for our disappointment, she choose not to hence my negative revieve

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankHDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, Hants
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is my 2nd stay at the Corah and I have to say reading some of the reviews - maybe I am staying in a different hotel. We loved the hotel so much that we are going to have our Wedding there. I needed to go back to the area for last minute arrangements and so naturally stayed at the Conrah.

We arrived late and so didnt have dinner, but a drink in the new bar. which has a fantastic atmosphere. We stayed in room 2, which has great views of the valleys, very comfortable beds and an excellent powerful hot shower in the morning. The robes were very handy for the lazy start to the morning. We also had plenty of toiletries. Although i tend to take my own so not too sure why people would need to keep asking? All i require is plenty of loo roll!

Breakfast was lovely as alwasy - friendly staff and wuick service. There was a wedding going on later that day and so a great vibe in the restaurant. I had full Welsh (with fried bread) and it was delicious. My friend wanted eggs benedict and although it's not on the menu - the chef kindly made this.

The conrah is a hidden gem and if you are in the area it is a must see.

Its not over priced, the staff are friendy and it's by far the best hotel in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed here with my friend who is getting married there in a few weeks-
Hotel is lovely- our room was massive with the best view i have ever seen from a hotel. Complete uninterupted views of hills and sheep. Stunning.
Breakfast was lovely- i had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and it was the nicest i have had. The bar is lovely and again enjoys spectacular views. The hotel has lots of land so nice for going for a walk before breakfast. Only a short taxi ride into town but i could easily have just stayed in the hotel all weekend and enjoyed the food/drink and views there.
Am looking forward to returning for the wedding but would also definitely go back for a weekend break withg my husband.
They also do special nights where they have music and themed food etc which sound really good and reasonably priced too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cd1Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

This is a very nice 3 star hotel good rooms , excellent service, but the chef, overcooked everything, a great shame as this is a potential gem

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ynotcracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

This hotel is in a wonderfu location for touring, the veiws are really impressive. This is an old building, our room needed reburbishment particularly the bathroom. We had to keep asking for toiletries! very embarrasing.

The food is good, but the menu is very limited. Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Overall, a good place for an overnight stay but overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorisBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We were looking for a comfortable hotel to stay at whilst picking our daughter up from the university and boy did we find a gem!! After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, I asked for a refurbished room when booking. We were given room 2 (I believe), which was at the front of the hotel and had a big bay window giving unspolit views down the valley for about 3 miles! The bathroom was a good size and as it had just been refurbished it was spotless and the decor was as you would expect from a new bathroom.

We ate in the resteraunt and it was a little pricey but normal hotel price meals, the quality however was fantastic. Breakfast was no different with all the usual hotel offerings, cooked breakfast, contintenal with pastries etc. We had a table looking out over the hotel gardens which are obviously the groundmans pride and joy, they were in full bloom and immaculate. They did have tables in the garden to have tea but during the day we were busy in town with our daughter.

We had looked at Gwesty Cymru, in town but considered the students (daughter included!!) Might keep us up at night and also we were after a little break for ourselves and wanted more of a hotel atmosphere.

To summarise. The hotel was lovely, a typical country house hotel with a grand hallway and high vaulted ceilings etc. The room my wife and I were in was brilliant, however, I could see how some of the other, un-refurbished rooms could be dated as it is an old hotel. Food was fantastic. Staff were helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbsiftcbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
3.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.3 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
12.4 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrah Hotel

Property: Conrah Hotel
Address: Chancery, Aberystwyth SY23 4DF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Conrah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in picturesque Mid-Wales, the Conrah is perfect for both leisure and business. Relax with a drink in the new Valley View Bar or lounge, enjoy a delicious meal in the restaurant, then retire to your room for a restful and relaxing nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Conrah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrah Country Aberystwyth
Hotel Conrah Country
Conrah Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing