We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conrah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Conrah Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed overnight last Saturday, with elderly mother-in-law, 22 year old daughter and husband. Had 2 rooms, both rooms were very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Lovely large baths. One room overlooked the hills and you could see for miles in the distance, the other overlooked a lovely garden. Breakfast was very tasty, good choice of cereals, juices and yogurts. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Lift was very useful as my mother-in-law was on the first floor and has limited walking.

Room Tip: Room 2 good for twin beds and views stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Many thanks for the kind review, I am glad we were able to give you such a pleasant stay. I hope to see you all again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    161
    62
    16
    9
See reviews for
84
232
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed here 1 night before Christmas doing the uni collection visit. We had stayed here previously last year in one of the large 'cottage' annexe rooms at the back which are beautifully decorated. This time only needed a single at a reasonable £50 rate and was pleased to be upgraded to a nice double in the main building. Having once stayed in one of the quite well rated hotels on the seafront (nice to be on the seafront, but in reality it can be noisy with cramped rooms, tiny ensuite with just a shower, and breakfast in the basement), personally much prefer to stay at the Conrah and get a room probably twice the size with a large bathroom and bath, easy car parking and have breakfast with lovely countryside views for only a little extra cost compared to the seafront places. The Conrah staff were friendly and welcoming too. Good to see hotels like Conrah, Nanteos, and some decent B&Bs in Aberaeron offering good quality alternatives to the often mixed standard sea front ones in Aber.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, I am glad you felt the rate was reasonable. We do as standard offer the upgrade to a double room where possible. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

The Conrah Hotel is within easy travelling distance of Aberystwyth. It is excellent value for money. We had a lovely large room - complete with teddy bear that can be adopted! The hotel is warm and comfortable and the staff looked after our every need. The breakfast was delicious and the restaurant had fantastic views of the garden and surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank al1cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
It was lovely to read your review of the hotel, all of the staff got a kick out of reading the lovely comments. The only question is.........did you adopt the teddy bear??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed here on New year's evening on a spur of the moment booking. We chose it as it is out of Aberystwyth on the main road towards the port of Fishguard where we had a lunchtime sailing to catch. As we approached The staff were wonderfully welcoming and invited us into the New Year banquet celebrations despite us only wanting a limited menu on the evening. The food was excellent, both the evening meal and the breakfast in the morning. Our room had a lovely view over the valley and was well appointed, clean and comfortable. All in all a really good last minute decision, somewhere to be revisited in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hewhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, it was lovely to have a chat to you on New Years Eve and I am glad you found us. I sincerely hope you had a lovely beginning to the year in Ireland and hope to see you again on your next trip through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here for just one night when my son was returning to uni. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Although it was a quiet evening the food was very good and presented in a professional manner. We had a fantastic nights sleep and it was only interrupted by a rattle on the sash window in the morning.
Breakfast in the morning was excellent and the view from the dining room were fabulous.
The hotel does look in need of a bit of tlc in areas, but it did not distract from our stay and we would gladly stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lolantel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. As we may have told you during your stay, we are currently in the ongoing process of re decoration and giving the building the TLC is deserves. We hope to see you again in the near future and you can see the progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I stayed here 7/1/13 travelling on business. The service was excellent and the room was of a high quality. The food was outstanding! Also has free wi-fi which was essental for me being as I travel for business. The hotel is a few miles from Aberystwyth but for me that was an advantage as its situated off the main A road that I needed to travel on. It is set back from the road so I didn't have to put up with any noise either. I don't normally leave positive reviews as I'm a hard man to please but this hotel really was great!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cardiff_boy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
cardiff_boy86, Many thanks for your review. I am so glad we offered everything you wanted as a business client. I hope to see you again the next time you have business in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

As a family of 4 we stayed in 2 rooms for 2 nights over Christmas 2012. We were made to feel extremely welcome from the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble for the management and staff. Food was excellent particularly the full welsh breakfast.The rooms are traditional and are due to be renovated but no complaints at all. Beds very comfortable. we would highly recommend the hotel and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s_ton003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Many thanks s_ton003, as mentioned in previous reviews, it is a pleasure to serve our customers and read of their wonderful experiences with us. We are in a period of renovation and we would love to see you all again soon to show you the improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
3.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
12.4 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
3.3 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
3.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrah Hotel

Property: Conrah Hotel
Address: Chancery, Aberystwyth SY23 4DF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Conrah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in picturesque Mid-Wales, the Conrah is perfect for both leisure and business. Relax with a drink in the new Valley View Bar or lounge, enjoy a delicious meal in the restaurant, then retire to your room for a restful and relaxing nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Conrah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrah Country Aberystwyth
Hotel Conrah Country
Conrah Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing