We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Conrah Hotel, Aberystwyth”
Review of Conrah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Conrah Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Conrah Hotel, Aberystwyth”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My wife and I have just enjoyed a 2-night stay using a LivingSocial voucher. The Conrah is a beautiful Country-House style hotel set on a hillside overlooking attractive Welsh countryside just 3 miles from Aberystwyth. Our room was large and well decorated with a first-class bathroom. The coffe and tea making faciliites were well stocked and we had a dish of complimentary sweets. The lounge and bar areas were tastefully furnished and the dining rooms had large windows looking out over fields filled with sheep and their new-born lambs. We dined in both nights and it really was "fine dining". The fixed-price menu on Sunday was quite exceptional value at £15.95 for 3 courses while the breakfasts made lunch quite unnecessary! We cannot recommend the Conrah highly enough and will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Francis D,

I was very happy to read your flattering comments. The living social deal has been wonderful for us in showcasing the hotel and more importantly the wonderful team we have. I am very proud to have such a wonderful team and equally excited to have gained many more wonderful guests.

Kind Regards

Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    167
    66
    17
    12
See reviews for
86
249
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Having just moved back to Aber after 30+ years, we were keen to find a good quality restaurant to celebrate my birthday, so my husband treated us to Sunday lunch at the Conrah, which is only a short way outside Aber, less than 10mins gentle drive. The views from the bar were wonderful, even though the weather wasn't! The food was superb - we had chicken terrine starters, tender succulent lamb and pork mains with gorgeous roast potatoes and fresh veg, and sumptuous desserts, all enjoyed with views over the emerging spring gardens, with lambs in the field. Our waitress was lovely, and the gentleman on reception couldn't have been more welcoming, helpful and friendly. As lovers of fine dining we were delighted to find this lovely hotel, and have promised summer guests we will take them there for lunch and afternoon tea. Other reviewers have praised the bedrooms, so we would encourage other visitors to try staying there - it's a country house hotel in the manner of a 'gentleman's residence' in a beautiful setting, and if only we'd known earlier, we would have chosen to stay there during our frequent house-hunting visits!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaBuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Many thanks Jessicabuns,

I am so glad to have been a part of the reason your birthday lunch was special. I would like to say once again many happy returns and look forward to host more of these occasions for you in the future.

Regards

Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

On the out skirts of Aberyswyth, set in 18 acres of rolling hills, the views are stunning. A very warm reception greeted me on arrival and the rest of my stay equalled the welcome. I chose to have dinner which clearly displays they have chefs who can cook properly. I chose terrine, followed by salmon and then concluded with a very generous cheese board and 5 assorted welsh cheeses. My entire stay exceeded my expectations and the staff made my stay that little bit special. I found out they are dog friendly, so next time I'll treat Louis, my four legged friend.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Boss17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Boss 17,

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We have a very small team at the Conrah but feel that each member plays a huge part in the whole customer experience. The team of chefs as they are behind closed doors very rarely see the experience the customer is having so I have shown them the review which has given them all a buzz.

I look forward to welcoming you again

regards

Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I have just returned from a two day stay at the Conrah Hotel, Aberystywyth. The hotel has the lovely warm feel of a country house hotel, one where you can relax and enjoy life at your leisure. It was so civilised to be to enjoy a game of scrabble accompanied by a nice gin and tonic or to sit back and take in the view whilst enjoying a lovely afternoon tea.

However what marks this hotel out though is the unfailingly pleasant and helpful service of ALL staff - good service is lovely to see, but personable service takes it that one step further - and this hotel obviously delights in delivering service of the highest calibre. I will definately return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k8butterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Hi k8butterfield,

It is a pleasure to deliver such personable service to such wonderful guests. As a team the highest accolade is the smile on the face of each and every guest. I am so grateful that you took the time to post such kind words.

I hope to see you again many times in the future

Regards

Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My husband and I spent a night at the Conrah Hotel on a LivingSocial deal.
We had a most enjoyable stay.We were allocated a room with a stunning view which was further enhanced by the excellent weather.
The room was well decorated with some personal touches that made it even more welcoming.
We had a comfortable nights sleep and could not fault the room.
Breakfast was top notch.It included a range of delicious fruit juices,choice of cereals and fruit and a beautifully presented and appetising Welsh breakfast.
The view from the dining room again was stunning. It overlooked the garden at the side and is an ornithologists dream. During the time it took to eat our breakfast I observed no less than eleven different species of bird.
I must make a special mention of Tim, the guy on reception.He was so charming and helpful he made our brief visit to the hotel extra special.He is a real asset to the hotel and certainly knows how to give a warm,Welsh welcome. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear moggo,

Many thanks for the kind words. It was the first time we had put a deal on living social and have been overwhelmed by the response and how much of a pleasure it has been to deal with the customers. I has passed on your comments to Tim and it has left him grinning from ear to ear.

I hope to see you again at the Conrah.

Regards

Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Visited on 14th April.Impossible to find criticism.Very welcoming,especially young man on duty who proved to be courteous and efficient.Accommodation very good,food excellent.Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwynneth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
HI Gwynneth,

Many thanks for your kind comments, I have passed on your special thanks to the staff member and he was very happy and said it was an absolute pleasure to meet you.

I hope to see you again

Regards

Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

highly recommend this hotel for your stay, we booked a mid-week break and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We were able to take our dog and had a lovely room, very airy. Had a great night's sleep the bed was so comfortable.

The food in both the restaurant and bar was of a very high standard and large portions. Breakfast was also very good.

The hotel was very friendly and accommodating, there was an old fashioned element mixed in with the new and both worked very well. Great views.

Highly recommend this hotel for your stay. If we are ever in this area again, we will definately book this hotel again.

Room Tip: We only saw our room, which was room 8, it was far better than we would have expected, the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Catherine F,

Reading your comments brought a smile to our faces, it was lovely to have met you and I hope you visit the area again and become a Conrah regular.

Regards

Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
3.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
472 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
310 reviews
3.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
313 reviews
3.4 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
339 reviews
12.4 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrah Hotel

Property: Conrah Hotel
Address: Chancery, Aberystwyth SY23 4DF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Conrah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in picturesque Mid-Wales, the Conrah is perfect for both leisure and business. Relax with a drink in the new Valley View Bar or lounge, enjoy a delicious meal in the restaurant, then retire to your room for a restful and relaxing nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Conrah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrah Country Aberystwyth
Hotel Conrah Country
Conrah Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing