We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”
Review of Conrah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Conrah Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Ammanford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

From the warm welcome to the invite to return our stay was first class. Great room, great food especially the full Welsh breakfast. Highly recommend a stay here. We stayed in one of the rooms outside the main building, nice and quiet. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Wyn J,

Many thanks for the review, it was a real pleasure to have met you and I hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    164
    65
    16
    12
See reviews for
85
240
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peak District
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We travelled as a family of four and had a voucher which got us an excellent room with breakfast for all of us. The room was large enough for a huge double bed, a single bed and a travel cot and it had a bonus small sitting room to boot. The room was clean, the bed comfy and the staff helpful. We didn't eat at the hotel (other than breakfast) but spoke to a couple who eat there regularly and seemed to love it! The breakfast was great, whether you prefer pastries, fruit or cereal before tucking into a full 'Welsh' breakfast or poached haddock with poached egg - I tried both over the two mornings and was happy each day. The views from the hotel were fantastic and the garden lush. The view from our room wasn't great but wasn't important. I would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteShim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Many thanks PeteShim,

I was very pleased to hear that you had such a lovely time with us. The response to the voucher scheme has been overwhelming and hopefully introduced us to more great customers, at the very least it has let us meet a lot of wonderful people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I recently returned from spending two excellent nights in the Conrah Hotel. From the moment that we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The staff are all young friendly and attentive, Their enthusiasm is a credit to the hotel it was only Chris' first week but he acted like he was a seasoned veteran in the hotel trade. We ate dinner in the hotel on both evenings and really enjoyed the food the only observation I would make is that the portion size of the lasagne was too large. The tenderloin of pork wrapped in palma ham and served with roasted veg and mash was wonderful. The Conrah will be top of my list of places to stay when I am next in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear JohnDEdwards,

It was a pleasure to meet you during your stay and I would like to thank you for your very kind words. I have passed your comments on to Chris and his reaction was typical of our small committed team "Its easy to be nice when the guests are so great."

We sincerely hope it isn't too long before you are in the area again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Wonderful place to stay. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready but that was no problem they just changed the room allocated to us. Room very clean and very pretty - just as in the photos. Food was very good and the views from the restaurant amazing. Breakfast was excellent. Will definitely be making another visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mumof1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
May thanks Mum0f1Uk,

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the hotel as much as we do. I hope it won't be too long before we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a Living Social offer. The hotel is classed as a 3 star which I would say is about right.

Good points
Very friendly staff
Comfortable bed
Lovely views
Nice lounges for night time
Room nicely decorated (but personally I would get rid of chintzy curtains and table covers and old fashioned paintings and replace with something plainer and more modern.)

Room for improvement
Windowsills in bathroom very dirty, black dust everywhere
Thick cobwebs below and at back of toilet
No pillow protecters so pillow slip directly on pillow which is not very hygenic
Having to ask for toast each morning
Having to ask for more butter as only 2 tiny rectangles supplied per table

Would consider staying again if on a deal but wouldn't pay full price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Carbell,

Many thanks for your recent review, I have taken your suggestions on board and would like to say that at the moment we are trying to renovate and upgrade the hotel rooms to the standard we believe the Conrah attains. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the cleanliness issues you mentioned, this is not the standard our customers have come to expect and I can assure you that we are reviewing this and will continue to monitor and improve.

With regards to the breakfast comments, I am at a loss as to why toast was not offered?? This is standard practice and can only apologise for this lapse. We tend to have a protocol with butter portions due to the high volume of wastage, the amount put out per customer in 99% of instances is more than enough but if this is not the case we are always happy to provide more.

I sincerely hope to see you again and look forward to showing you the Conrah in its true light.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Our stay at The Conrah was excellent - made all the better as it was via the Living Social voucher deal which made it exceptional value.
the food was excellent (we had dinner & breakfasts) which gave us plenty of choice and were beautifully presented & delicious.
Front of house staff were polite & friendly and very kind to our old deaf dog.
Nice to meet the lady owner - we appreciated her time and suggestions - we wish her & her core excellent team good times ahead.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxglove18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Foxglove18,

It is the first time we have tried a third party deal and it has brought us many new faces, all of which have been a delight to meet and will hopefully be coming back again in the future. I would like to thank you for your very kind words and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My wife and I have just enjoyed a 2-night stay using a LivingSocial voucher. The Conrah is a beautiful Country-House style hotel set on a hillside overlooking attractive Welsh countryside just 3 miles from Aberystwyth. Our room was large and well decorated with a first-class bathroom. The coffe and tea making faciliites were well stocked and we had a dish of complimentary sweets. The lounge and bar areas were tastefully furnished and the dining rooms had large windows looking out over fields filled with sheep and their new-born lambs. We dined in both nights and it really was "fine dining". The fixed-price menu on Sunday was quite exceptional value at £15.95 for 3 courses while the breakfasts made lunch quite unnecessary! We cannot recommend the Conrah highly enough and will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Francis D,

I was very happy to read your flattering comments. The living social deal has been wonderful for us in showcasing the hotel and more importantly the wonderful team we have. I am very proud to have such a wonderful team and equally excited to have gained many more wonderful guests.

Kind Regards

Nathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
3.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
Premier Inn Aberystwyth
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.4 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
12.4 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
3.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrah Hotel

Property: Conrah Hotel
Address: Chancery, Aberystwyth SY23 4DF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Conrah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in picturesque Mid-Wales, the Conrah is perfect for both leisure and business. Relax with a drink in the new Valley View Bar or lounge, enjoy a delicious meal in the restaurant, then retire to your room for a restful and relaxing nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Conrah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrah Country Aberystwyth
Hotel Conrah Country
Conrah Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing