We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great unless you are fussy over smaller things”
Review of Conrah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Conrah Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Wonderful stay in a hotel that has character, good sized rooms and wonderful views. When we 1st walked into the hotel it really had the wow factor compared to expectations. Unfortunately I cannot give it 5 star rating for the following reasons: Cobwebs galore in the bathroom, wobbly toilet seat, chipped paintwork, wallpaper peeling in places, and bathroom tap damaged (room 7). Although this may sound terrible to some people, it really didn't change our experience which was that it was lovely, but there are fussy people out there, so if the little things irritate you, or you are one of life's nit pickers, then don't say you weren't informed. Staff pleasant and breakfast was great. Overall my wife and I loved it and would happily book again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deano_F1_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Many thanks for the positive review, please be assured we are working tirelessly to renovate rooms with regards to decoration and modernisation. I can only apologise for the cobwebs and assure you that constant review of our practises and training will eliminate these problems. I would love to see you both again in the future to see the ongoing improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for a low cost way to spend our 10th wedding anniversary when we happened upon this little gem on living social. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we felt totally relaxed in this lovely hotel. Staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to make you feel welcome. We were also pleasantly surprised by our final bill after having a few drinks and a 2 course evening meal on the Saturday night. Would we visit again? Simply yes!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

jdlfc,

Many thanks for the beautiful review. I am so happy we had the chance to make such an occasion a good one. Maybe we might see you again next year (fingers crossed)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed for 2 nights 14/15 june,excellent value for £89 per couple.Hotel accommodation was more than adequate,large bedrooms/separate bathroom with v.good shower in bath. and above all a comfortable bed for a good night's sleep.Special mention to Nathan the manager who was more than helpful,even re-opening the bar when it had closed when we returned late from Aber.Tim was also a friendly.amiable barman and waiter where it was service with a smile.If you visit Aber try out The Gannet restaurant in James ST(round the corner from the Academy)home cooked superb food at reasonable prices.If you want a relaxing weekend with beautiful scenery then the Conrah is a must

Room Tip: room 16/17 18 outstanding views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank all-hel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Many thanks all-hel,

Just to let you know it was more than a pleasure opening the bar for you and I really enjoyed the chat. I hope to see you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed for two nights, as we had tickets to a show at The Arts Centre in Aberystwyth. We had stayed here once before, several years ago, when our son was at Aberystwyth University. The hotel still met, and in some cases, exceeded our expectations. The staff are very friendly and the service was exemplary. We had a lovely room - large and comfortable, with amazing views over the welsh countryside. House keeping was excellent; the restaurant provided food of outstanding quality - locally sourced produce and well presented. Breakfast was delicious. We also had sandwiches in the lounge on arrrival. Everything was of the highest standard. If we return to Aberystwyth, this will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisandmike5304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear chrisandmike5304,

It was a pleasure to read your kind words and I hope you find a reason to return to Aberystwyth many times over.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We spent two nights in the Conrah during a week-end reunion of friends. Our room (n° 1) and bathroom were comfortable, clean and well equipped. There was a slight noise, as of an electric pump, seemingly from heating pipes hidden in the wall but this ceased at bedtime and caused no disturbance. A meal in the restaurant on the first evening was excellent, similarly for the group dinner on the following evening. Bar service was prompt and the bar well stocked. What puts this hotel way in advance of many others (unfortunately) was the extreme friendliness and politeness of all the staff with whom we came in contact. Congratulations to the management on motivating the team.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear jffrenchepete,

Many thanks for your kind review. As management we are very grateful and proud of the team we have here at the Conrah. I have passed your comments on to them and they are very pleased. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The hotel is about two miles from Aberystwyth and stands back from the road along its own drive. We were in room 17 which is in the annex to the side of the hotel. Guests in hotel annexes can on occasion feel like second class citizens but this was not the case at the Conrah. Our room was large, clean and well-furnished. There were even umbrellas provided should they be necessary.The icing on the cake was a wonderful view across the gardens towards the hills.
The main building was elegant with pleasant lounge and bar, again with great views.
The garden had tables and comfortable chairs and was a very pleasant spot to relax in.
Meals were very good, plenty of choice and decent portions.
All members of staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaretmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Margaretmay,

I really enjoyed reading your review and your comments about the annex rooms were wonderful. Each one of our guests are our priority and I am glad you did not feel like a second class citizen.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This hotel ticks all the boxes for a relaxing country break. The rooms are full of character and tastefully appointed with up to date facilities. The main building is quite impressive, set as it is in an elevated position with glorious views of the surrounding countryside. My party booked two rooms, one family and one double - both were spacious.
We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and though we only sampled a bar snack we found it to be delicious and satisfying. The full welsh breakfast is exceptionally good and is complemented by a wide range of juices, cereals and pastries.
The hotel's proximity to the coastal resorts nearby make it a good base for exploring the lovely coastline.

Room Tip: Big family rooms are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NathanBiggs, General Manager at Conrah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Stephen W,

I would like to thank you for the very kind words, it was lovely to meet you and you are another example of the amazing customers that make our jobs so wonderful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
2.8 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
323 reviews
3.3 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
494 reviews
3.4 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
450 reviews
3.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
442 reviews
3.4 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrah Hotel

Address: Chancery, Aberystwyth SY23 4DF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range: £69 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Conrah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in picturesque Mid-Wales, the Conrah is perfect for both leisure and business. Relax with a drink in the new Valley View Bar or lounge, enjoy a delicious meal in the restaurant, then retire to your room for a restful and relaxing nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Conrah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrah Country Aberystwyth
Hotel Conrah Country
Conrah Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing