We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay”
Review of Conrah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Conrah Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Our stay”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel was very friendly and lovely rooms, the view from our room was excellent, the food was very good with very good large portions. We stayed in a luxury room and it was well worth the extra money.

Room Tip: We stayed in a luxury room which was very good worth the extra money. The view from OAU room was exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    167
    66
    17
    12
See reviews for
86
249
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have lost count of the hotels that say they are "doggie friendly" then when you get there you are made to feel "awkward". The staff at this little haven, with fantastic grounds for walking and a view to the mountains beyond, couldn't have been more welcoming to us and our Airedale pet, Ella. We stayed in the cottage annex (very comfortable bed!) and Ella was given her own bowl, and to her her delight, a Bonio biscuit (and her very own sausage at breakfast!!) Understandably, she wasn't allowed in the restaurant but we were served our food in a very comfortable lounge with stunning views over the grounds - and Ella loved watching the sheep through the window! Being not too far from fantastic countryside walks and beaches, this is an ideal place to stop with your four-pawed friend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Booked last minute at this hotel and was given a deluxe room. When we arrived I asked how was a deluxe room different from a normal room. The response was..its the view. Well we arrived in the dark so that hardly sold it to us.

The hotel was very brightly lit and the room temperature in the dining room and the bar was ridiculously hot. The radiators were too hot to touch. When this was pointed out we were told by the serving staff that they like to be warm! It felt like an old folks home

The food was Ok.

The deluxe room in one of the annex cottages was actually very nice and comfortable. I would recommend it for a weekend or an overnight stay but a week would be too much.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage deluxe room. The difference is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

This is a very pleasant country hotel 6 minutes drive south of Aberystwyth. Many bedrooms have fine views over the surrounding countryside. There's ample parking. We had a warm welcome. Breakfast was very good. Staff were helpful and organised a taxi into town for us. Our room was comfortable and spacious although the en suite was a bit disappointing - dark and poor toiletries - bring your own soap! The dining area and bar were big and airy but the other public areas could do with a facelift. All in all we would recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank daugymro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I enjoyed my two visits, 4 nights each, to the Conrah. Although some of the decoration (carpets, wallpaper) on the second floor are rather tired, this apart it is smart, well presented, comfortable. It's location, set back from the road, gives great views and the impression of an almost private valley.

The two rooms I stayed in were a good size, well appointed. The staff were excellent - very friendly, welcoming and helpful. I ate in the restaurant most evenings, and the food was well cooked and presented, although after several nights it would have been nice to have seen a bit more variety on the menu. Overall, well recommended, and I would certainly choose it again if I am in that area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed at hotel at a weekend after reading some positive reviews. The main driveway is worn out with divots and holes, there are no lights in the car parking areas. Arrived to find wedding party in full swing and bride and other spilled out on the main entrance, despite that fact they had a separate function room booked with booming music until 1200 midnight. Allocated room in out building with poor lighting outside, would imagine in very wet weather or winter this would be very inconvenient. The young man explained that heating could be turned on from the corridor, one room complained of being too hot and another very cold. Brown carpets looked in need of a good clean, room was cramped with insufficient wardrobe space and old fashioned furnishings and chintzy décor, outdated and cluttered.
Bathroom adequate but not luxurious. Breakfast fried, one piece of bacon and other items carefully portioned, edible but not memorable. Toast tasted as it had been frozen. Nice views of gardens, but similar can be seen free all over the local area, not the easiest place to find in the pitch black, would try elsewhere when next in area.

Room Tip: try main building??
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JockLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Direct booking with the hotel is met with very competitive room rates - a late change to arrival day was accepted without any suggestion of a charge for this change. The breakfast is exceptional - freshly cooked with very hearty portions - the scrambled egg particularly rich and fresh. Dinner menu offers traditional choices freshly prepared from good ingredients. Bedroom had effective shower with plenty of hot water and lovely large fluffy white towels. TV was modern flat screen with plenty of channel choices. Having stayed at the Conrah during its last 3 ownerships during the last 21 years, there are some areas which need TLC and improvement might justify higher room and meal tariffs. There was no central heating as the season changed from hot summer to early autumn. The bannisters and the parquet flooring are stripped of polish. The bedroom had a small armchair and a dining table chair for the desk - neither were comfortable for TV watching. Owners/management is not particularly visible with front door locked at 22:00 and all landing lights switched off. Guests were refused dinner tables at 19:00 and offered the bar even though half the Restaurant had been placed out of use for dinner. Bath and mattress could do with renewal. It is easy to be critical after years of recession but this is a lovely place to stay in a wonderful setting -it deserves love and investment!

Room Tip: There are 3 "motel" style courtyard rooms at ground floor with good views; first floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
3.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
472 reviews
2.8 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
310 reviews
3.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Harry's Hotel
Harry's Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
313 reviews
3.4 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Aberystwyth
339 reviews
12.4 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrah Hotel

Property: Conrah Hotel
Address: Chancery, Aberystwyth SY23 4DF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Conrah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in picturesque Mid-Wales, the Conrah is perfect for both leisure and business. Relax with a drink in the new Valley View Bar or lounge, enjoy a delicious meal in the restaurant, then retire to your room for a restful and relaxing nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Conrah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrah Country Aberystwyth
Hotel Conrah Country
Conrah Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing