We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful night with friends”
Review of Conrah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Conrah Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Certificate of Excellence
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful night with friends”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

It was our club anniversary and we had a Dinner and Dance at the Conrah Hotel .Service was top class from front door,reception ,bar and dining room. Lynne, Roger and staff done us proud.with fine food and drink and first class service.THANK YOU FOR A WONDERFUL NIGHT.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCT421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    168
    66
    17
    12
See reviews for
86
251
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We booked our stay via Living Social which included two nights B&B and dinner on one evening. It was fantastic value. The room was spacious and comfortable and we had a lovely view of a field full of lambs. On the first evening we couldn't get the heating in the room to work which was promptly rectified by the staff who were all very friendly and efficient during our stay. The public areas were all well maintained and comfortable. The food was delicious and beautifully presented.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggiewray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I recently stayed here with my mother for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding at the hotel. We had a large room in the main building which had good views of the rolling countryside. The loud drone of a generator was present which did disturb us a bit. There were a large amount of dead bluebottle flies on the bathroom windowsill, cups in the bathroom were dirty and when I leant behind the TV to plug in my hairdrying there were a vast amount of cobwebs. These problems could be easily eliminated by housekeeping should they so wish to do so (I'm not sure why they don't!). We weren't overly impressed by the bar area which was dated and not in keeping with the main house. Service at the bar was incredibly slow. It may be because we are from London and used to a faster pace of life, but we found all service in the hotel to be slow. Bar prices were very dear. More expensive than in London!

The wedding venue itself was a souless, corporate style extension. I had my own wedding in a country hotel and our reception was held in the ballroom which you would expect. The reception room could really have been anywhere and no effort had been made to construct it in keeping with the main hotel building.

Good points were:
Breakfast was very tasty.
Ample parking.
Nice views.

The Conrah served it's purpose as a convenient bed for the night after a wedding, but we wouldn't stay here for a weekend away as, well, it just wasn't 'nice' enough.

All in all an average hotel with pleasant (albeit slow) staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here for a few nights in conjunction with a business trip and I was overjoyed. The welcome was warm and efficient. The cottage I stayed in was impeccably clean, well tended, comfortable bed, great amenities and cozy. The dinners were of exceptional quality, every morsel on each plate I received was delicious and flavoursome. I recommend the prawn salad, the pan fried chicken, the sirloin and the creme brûlée. I complemented the chef as obviously a lot of care and attention has gone into his menu choice. The breakfasts were top notch, generous and tasty and plenty to choose. The surroundings are fabulous and the decor appropriate and in keeping with the building. Thank you very much for a lovely quiet stay, I could relax well and recuperate from the stinking cold I had developed on the journey to Aber. Can't recommend highly enough!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our friends had stayed here recently whilst visiting their son at uni. They were so impressed and wanted to share it that they booked us all in for a one night special deal. We arrived in the best of weather, with brilliant blue sky. The hotel is in such a great setting, with superb views. The staff were great and the welcome warm - especially the inclusive tea and toasted tea cakes. The evening meal was excellent, good choice and perfectly presented. The hotel was lovely and quiet. We woke up to bird song and the distance tap of the local Woodpecker. Shame we were only there for one night. Brilliant stay - recommended for peace and quiet and excellent service.

Room Tip: The rooms in the hotel and the annex are equally very good. There is no lift, so if you can not cope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyclingDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have recently spent two nights at the Conrah. The hotel is in an excellent location, beautiful views, friendly staff and very comfortable.The breakfasts were varied and of a good quality. We had one evening meal as part of our deal and enjoyed this. Hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms seamed to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My colleague and I were lucky enough to stay at this beautiful hotel for four days during a business trip. We worked during the day and also had to work until the early hours every night. Each staff member of the hotel couldn’t do enough for us; they brought us tea and coffee to keep us going whilst we were working and nothing was too much trouble no matter what time it was. We enjoyed a lovely peaceful breakfast every day. The food was excellent whether we had a bar snack or dinner in the restaurant it was always delicious and well presented. The staff were very polite, courteous and really cared about us. Our rooms were lovely too and very clean. I would certainly recommend a stay at this hotel; we will definitely be returning should the chance arise. Well done to all the staff and management at the Conrah!

Room Tip: My colleague and I stayed in rooms 7 and 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberystwyth hotels
2.8 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
316 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
478 reviews
3.5 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
152 reviews
3.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#11 of 13 in Aberystwyth
331 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrah Hotel

Property: Conrah Hotel
Address: Chancery, Aberystwyth SY23 4DF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Aberystwyth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Aberystwyth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Conrah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in picturesque Mid-Wales, the Conrah is perfect for both leisure and business. Relax with a drink in the new Valley View Bar or lounge, enjoy a delicious meal in the restaurant, then retire to your room for a restful and relaxing nights sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Conrah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrah Country Aberystwyth
Hotel Conrah Country
Conrah Hotel Aberystwyth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing